Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who should be in the Kangaroos Four Nations Squad

no name

This is a rather dishonest way of phrasing millers. So typical of you

Meninga supported his brothers parole application. I would be fine with fifita doing the same thing as a private citizen for loveridge when the time comes.

What i hold issue with is him wearing messages of support in uniform. Essentially forcing the nrl into broadcasting that message. If the nrl wishes to punish him for it that is fair enough

If a guy at woolies walked around at work while in uniform with a sign showing support for kieran loveridge would you be up in arms if woolies sacked him ?
They should have done it by now.
A month is far too long.
They were hoping for the season to play out and then punish him in a way to appease the media.
The fact that he had an awesome finals series and was the stand out player in the GF threw a spanner into the works.
Greenberg was particularly defensive by mentioning that he hadn't committed a crime, but it was in bad taste, and then brought up the previously resolved Penrith ref thing.

Noddy Kimmorley also made a good point re Radradra in the fact that he played against PNG just two weeks ago.

The ARL is a shambles with the way they handle these incidents.

He played with a fairly discreet, private acronym that had no meaning for anyone except him and KL, until the media went digging.
Fifita and the Kelly family are being punished because the media decided to make a private matter public, and because the cops think they should go telling citizens who they can and cant be old friends with.

Pete Cash

He played with a fairly discreet, private acronym that had no meaning for anyone except him and KL, until the media went digging.
Fifita and the Kelly family are being punished because the media decided to make a private matter public, and because the cops think they should go telling citizens who they can and cant be old friends with.

Yes the media will report on stories if they figure them out. What can I say ? It wasn't a private message for one thing. It was an extremely public message that was broadcast using the nrls media reach

I agree that it should not be illegal for fifita to associate with loveridge. You won't get an argument from me there

But I don't *get* why folks are playing dumb about the position he put the nrl in. He was not Andrew fifita private citizen sending a message to a mate in private. He was wearing his sharks uniform, he was broadcasting the message over the nrls media. He puts everyone associated with the sharks and nrl (sponsors say) into a shitty situation.

I've worked a few jobs with a uniform policy in my day and I've seen folks fired for doing things in uniform that a private citizen can legally do.

Pete Cash

They should have done it by now.
A month is far too long.
They were hoping for the season to play out and then punish him in a way to appease the media.
The fact that he had an awesome finals series and was the stand out player in the GF threw a spanner into the works.
Greenberg was particularly defensive by mentioning that he hadn't committed a crime, but it was in bad taste, and then brought up the previously resolved Penrith ref thing.

They probably didn't want to derail the sharks season just before the finals because fifita is a brainless moron.

That would be a rather big punishment. This just punishes Andrew and not the entire sharks team and their fans.

Yes the media will report on stories if they figure them out. What can I say ? It wasn't a private message for one thing. It was an extremely public message that was broadcast using the nrls media reach

I agree that it should not be illegal for fifita to associate with loveridge. You won't get an argument from me there

But I don't *get* why folks are playing dumb about the position he put the nrl in. He was not Andrew fifita private citizen sending a message to a mate in private. He was wearing his sharks uniform, he was broadcasting the message over the nrls media. He puts everyone associated with the sharks and nrl (sponsors say) into a shitty situation.

I've worked a few jobs with a uniform policy in my day and I've seen folks fired for doing things in uniform that a private citizen can legally do.

That's all fair enough. If not entirely private it was fairly discreet - evidence: he wore it for months unnoticed by any of the moral crusaders.

When it comes down to it, *some* people are acting like he personally killed Thomas Kelly then laughed in his family's face, when in reality what he's done is make an error of judgement in how he stands by a friend.

If the NRL wants to punish him (and I think their grounds are fairly dubious) they should do it clearly and quickly rather than this vague rubbish. If the Australian selectors (who Greenberg should have NOTHING to do with, what a conflict of interest) don't want to pick him, they should explain it to him, not have the CEO of the NRL justify it publicly when there are so so many holes and inconsistencies. Each can be explained, but it's a bad look and most people aren't looking that far.

After all that, for what it's worth they're well within their rights not to pick him and they are doing a good thing to set certain standards for Kangaroo representation. This might be a strike too far, after abusing a junior ref a year ago and 3 years ago trashing a hotel room on tour. Hopefully he has a good clean couple of years because he's in Australia's top 2 props. In the meantime I hope Tonga pick him.

Just to be clear, the ARL Commission is actively involved in the Kangaroos selection process but has no direct influence at SOO level.
WTF?????????????????????????

They have taken a stand on player behaviour, Ok.
How long until bad behaviour is forgiven or good behaviour redeems it?
Apparently it's somewhere less than 3 years (Ferguson, Dugan).
Will Fifita be considered next year?

Pandora's box opened.

millersnose

This is a rather dishonest way of phrasing millers. So typical of you

Meninga supported his brothers parole application.

Yes he indeed used his persona as a rugby league personality to free a rapist murderer publicaly

Fifita didn't

lockyno1

Discreet is not doing it in public in your work uniform. Playing for the Sharks is Fafita's 'job', he shouldn't be displaying symbols/images/letters that are not to do with work, period.

That is not even considering why he is associating himself with low life blokes that go around destroying families. The victim doesn't get a 2nd chance, yet this low life does. It is a woeful look for the game to have an association with people that commit serious offences.

Fafita can learn from this and there is a very easy solution- don't associate yourself with the low life and you will be picked.

Gaining a test spot is a luxury, it isn't a right, there are plenty of others that will take your spot.

Shorty

Just to be clear, the ARL Commission is actively involved in the Kangaroos selection process but has no direct influence at SOO level.
WTF?????????????????????????

They have taken a stand on player behaviour, Ok.
How long until bad behaviour is forgiven or good behaviour redeems it?
Apparently it's somewhere less than 3 years (Ferguson, Dugan).
Will Fifita be considered next year?

Pandora's box opened.
Yeah it's a good point to when, the NRL should have punished or spoke to him before this.
But anytime something like this directly involves the game a player should be punished.

Do you understand that by Fifita wearing such initials it is then an NRL problem because they either condone it (by not addressing it) or condemn it (by addressing it).
There can be no in between, you can't go....oh he's just supporting a friend...because he wore those initials during a live telecast football game, then in clarifying it he has forced the NRL's hand.

My dad played footy with a guy who was coward punched, watching the grand final I actually got quite nervous because I knew how well Fifita played and thought if he said something stupid if he was awarded the CC my family would turn off NRL for good.

millersnose

Yeah it's a good point to when, the NRL should have punished or spoke to him before this.
But anytime something like this directly involves the game a player should be punished.

Do you understand that by Fifita wearing such initials it is then an NRL problem because they either condone it (by not addressing it) or condemn it (by addressing it).
There can be no in between, you can't go....oh he's just supporting a friend...because he wore those initials during a live telecast football game, then in clarifying it he has forced the NRL's hand.

My dad played footy with a guy who was coward punched, watching the grand final I actually got quite nervous because I knew how well Fifita played and thought if he said something stupid if he was awarded the CC my family would turn off NRL for good.
And if meninga says anything publicaly in support of his rapist murdering brother would they also abandoned rugby league?
Or is the faux outrage reserved for media causes of the month?

Shorty

And if meninga says anything publicaly in support of his rapist murdering brother would they also abandoned rugby league?
Or is the faux outrage reserved for media causes of the month?
Did Meninga wear some sort of writing during his football playing days?

millersnose

No

He interrupted a state of origin campaign to hold a press conference in support of a murdering rapist

Shorty

No

He interrupted a state of origin campaign to hold a press conference in support of a murdering rapist
So we are playing outrage olympics now?

I read both statements, what did you exactly expect Meninga to say?
I don't understand how it relates to Fifita, he has worn writing during a game which pulls this NRL into it to act one way or another.
It would be the same if someone had written something political, same punishment.

It's why I stated writing on strapping should be banned for this reason.

millersnose

So we are playing outrage olympics now?

I read both statements, what did you exactly expect Meninga to say?
I don't understand how it relates to Fifita, he has worn writing during a game which pulls this NRL into it to act one way or another.
It would be the same if someone had written something political, same punishment.

It's why I stated writing on strapping should be banned for this reason.
Yes you are playing outrage olympics
I wouldn't expect meninga to say anything else just as I wouldn't expect more than a " don't do it again" reprimand for Fifita
Merely pointing out the double standards led by the media on the issue

Shorty

" don't do it again" reprimand for Fifita
Merely pointing out the double standards led by the media on the issue
Isn't that what's happening here with the Kangaroos, would you have preferred him sit out of your grand final?

millersnose

No that is not what is happening here

What is happening here is trial by the daily telegraph reacted to by the nrl
A reprimand is verbal and may even be public
Denying someone of income to satisfy the triggered target of the latest pc crusade of the month is not a reprimand it is a financial punitive penalty

Clifferd

The Dally M fullback of the year got 10 points. Barba and Moylan each got 17. Darius Boyd got 15. Tom Trevojevic got 13 and Cameron Munster got 11. That's 5 fullbacks who finished ahead of the Dally M fullback of the year in the Dally M points tally. Honestly, I'd have been ashamed to accept it.

Obviously the bloke who picks the Dally M fullback of the year isn't the same bloke that picks the Kangaroos.
That just further proves what a Rort the Dally m is then lol. I can think of atleast 5 games where Teddy was man of the match so that equals 15 points straight up, then you'd think he'd be good enough for a couple points here and there?