Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why didn't the Storm players cooperate with the investigators???

Because they took some really really dumb advice, and overestimated the importance of "standing united".

Now instead of the innocent ones taking the chance to clear their names and distance themselves from this cheating organisation, they will (justifiably) all be tarred with the same brush - Storm cheats 2006-2010.

HAHAHA. Youre a legend Loudstrat. I was just thinking what knob jockeys those guys are. You nailed it Bro! :lol:
Ps. Love your avatar. RIP RJD.

Cheers Electric Eel. I reckon Ronnie would have thrown a few devils horns at the Storm f*ckwits. And penned a few lyrics.

Stargazer for example

The Last In Line (Finch looking for his third contract of the day)

And to paraphrase:
Bring me your speedboat - you'll burn.......

And then a big black salary cap auditor looked up at me........

Like a salary cap that's been torn in half, my contract just became Invisible - dissappeared before your eyes...........

Oh they say, that it's over
No more speed boats for free
Greg can't find the NSW coast
Poor lost Dickhead Of The Sea

Look out - Deloiette's in town
Look out - my swiss bank account is spinning round and round and round
Look out - the salary cap is going black - black
Look out - I'm off to Souths and I'm never, ever, ever coming back - LOOK OUT!

Hartigan said they were exonerated. Not me.

Big difference.

No he didn't. This is what he said
"No evidence was found that these players or their managers and agents knew that these third party payments and benefits could contribute to a breach of the salary cap," he said.

"Regrettably not one of the players agreed to cooperate with the investigation ... in my view it's totally unacceptable."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27405452-5018866,00.html

Ronnie - what a voice!!!!!!!!!

The players are very quiet - media all over this and not one player defending their lack of action.....

Well it was revealed that the players themselves weren't doing anything illegal.

Besides, if there are going to be charges laid, the full extent of the crime will need to be revealed, thus the ATO and the Police and Forensics etc will all be involved and the players won't have any say at all about what they received etc.

They'll have to comply or be charged themselves.

It's not the players jobs to police or even care about the salary cap. If they are offered more money and they think it a bit suss, so what? They are there to play footy and earn as much as they can.

I am pretty sure it doesn't say on their JDF, must not accept money that might not be declared to the NRL.

It's not the players jobs to police or even care about the salary cap. If they are offered more money and they think it a bit suss, so what? They are there to play footy and earn as much as they can.

Welcome to the world of the Mafia. So when does your character get screened in Underbelly?

Mate if I was offered $ that I thought was suss I'd steer very clear of it!

No it wasn't.

If a player signs a contract with the intent to defraud - that is VERY illegal!
and this is the crux of the matter and is essentially almost impossible to prove.

when the case goes to court, the players will have to appear and give evidence. If there is a consistent theme with their responses, about how the contracts were explained etc and that the players were lied to about their legality, then it will clear the players.

eelandia

Maybe because they don't trust their employer, News Ltd? It appears News Ltd are trying to distance themselves from this mess (from day 1) and history tells us they'll go to any lengths to promote their own agenda. As a player, I too would be wary of an investigation that is paid for by News Ltd if there was a chance I may be implicated.

Welcome to the world of the Mafia. So when does your character get screened in Underbelly?

Mate if I was offered $ that I thought was suss I'd steer very clear of it!

there's a big difference between being suss and being illegal. As long as they paid income tax on it and it wasn't from illegal proceeds then there is nothing illegal in what they have done. They haven't defrauded anybody, it's doubtful if they have even broken any NRL rules (is there any NRL rules re the way players accept payments relating specifically to the employer rather than the employee?).

Not above board, not ethical even but imo as an employer if its not illegal and they are not breaking their employement terms and conditions than they have nothing to answer.

the players are guilty in my book until they prove otherwise, if they wanted to clear their names and had nothing to hide then they should have fronted the inquirary, the fact didn't just makes them look guilty and thier names will be tantied forever.

they didnt have to appear and there was no way deloittes could force them to but if at some point in the future a storm player is found guilty dont expect any sympathy from me they had a chance to come clean and instead decided to say nothing

ElectricEel

The players are very quiet - media all over this and not one player defending their lack of action.....

Loudy, you obviously have awesome taste in music. Quoting Sabbath, Dio etc. Sabbath and Ozzy made me the person I am today.

Anyways, Cam Smith did come out today and speak for the players. Only problem is he sounded more like he was relieved Delloittes found no evidence. If I was innocent, I would be saying something like: "We knew they wouldnt find anything". I just got a bad feeling about them.

Ps. Ozzy is God!

ElectricEel

I am pretty sure it doesn't say on their JDF, must not accept money that might not be declared to the NRL.

It probably doesnt say not to betray the faith of your fans. But if they knew about the breach, thats what they did.

Its more than just taking more money, mate. Much more.

Mark Rudd

there's a big difference between being suss and being illegal. As long as they paid income tax on it and it wasn't from illegal proceeds then there is nothing illegal in what they have done. They haven't defrauded anybody, it's doubtful if they have even broken any NRL rules (is there any NRL rules re the way players accept payments relating specifically to the employer rather than the employee?).

Not above board, not ethical even but imo as an employer if its not illegal and they are not breaking their employement terms and conditions than they have nothing to answer.

They are contractors, not employees.

It is illegal to sign one contract, and then sign another while still presenting the original one as the binding one. The reason is that the newer contract in fact cancels out the previous one if it is between the same two parties on the same matter. And if, for some reason, that isn't the case, then it is illegal to enter into contracts that conflict on matters in the contract.

Yes I'm a bush lawyer. It was illegal.

andrew057

Team hits back at uncooperative tag

BRAD WALTER, CHRIS BARRETT AND STATHI PAXINOS

July 17, 2010

MELBOURNE STORM players have hit back at criticism from News Ltd boss John Hartigan over their unwillingness to cooperate with the Deloitte investigation into the club's salary cap scandal. The Rugby League Players' Association, speaking on behalf of Storm players, insisted the only reason they did not agree to interviews was because the auditors could not guarantee the players' personal details would not be leaked by the media empire.

The players yesterday contacted the RLPA in response to Hartigan's comments and said they had spoken with the Deloitte team and received assurances any information disclosed would be kept confidential between the player and Deloitte.

However, the players said they had also been advised News might release details to its newspapers, including personal information they gained during the investigation.

''It is for this reason and for this reason alone, that the players reasonably chose to protect their privacy,'' RLPA chairman Paul Moreton said.

A leading player agent, who has several clients at the Storm, also scoffed at Hartigan's claims that the players had been guaranteed confidentiality over any personal details they revealed to the News Ltd-commissioned audit.

''This investigation was commissioned by News Ltd, the biggest media organisation in the world and who have demonstrated they are happy to leak information to their reporters whenever it suits them,'' the agent told the Herald.

''The very day that Deloitte began talking about a confidentiality agreement for the players, there was a back-page story detailing how Cameron Smith had apparently signed three different contracts. Clearly, information was flowing into their papers.''
Several players told the RLPA they were given less than 24 hours' notice of scheduled interviews and could not arrange legal or other representation in time, while Smith said some were also away on Origin duty.

''We were given advice at the time of those investigations that it was probably best that we didn't go in and have those interviews,'' Smith said. ''At the time there was plenty going on, the rep season had just started and eventually the investigation was sorted out by itself.

''That was the advice we were given and that's what we stood by. We like to think that we're given fairly good advice by the people we trust and at the time we did what was right for us.''

Moreton noted that Hartigan said there ''was no evidence to prove players were aware third-party payments were in breach of the cap''.

''The players have been under extreme duress since April, however, at no time have they shied away from their responsibilities both on and off the field,'' Moreton said.
''During this very difficult time, the players have shown loyalty to one another, their fans, their club and the game. The players have given their very best in every game and will continue to do so for the remainder of the season and look forward to rebuilding the Storm in 2011.''

Meanwhile, QRL general manager Ross Livermore also responded to Hartigan's criticism that the Queenslanders were stubbornly blockading the inception of an independent commission to govern all facets of the game in Australia. Hartigan took aim at the QRL while releasing News's report on the audit into the Storm salary cap breaches.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...back-at-uncooperative-tag-20100716-10e4u.html