Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

Garts

I noticed a Pinot at the bottle shop for $4.50. I never buy a Pinot or wine generally under $15 normally. However, I was curious and thought I would try it. For $4.50 I thought I would be having one mouthful then pouring it out as it would taste like battery acid. I am surprised, it is not as bad as I thought, I am onto glass no 2. Although I wont be going back for more.

Handy price on the Croser, I love that stuff. Even the NV is awesome value IMO. The Late Disgorged is a big winner too.

Tonight, for me, is a bottle of St Cosme Gigondas. I will be honest and say that this is one my mob import...but really, why have I never tried this wine before? Love at first smell, let alone taste! Big, plum and cherry flavours, some marzipan, licorice, dark spices, awesome oak handling and that Gigondas mineral stoney character. Fantastic I think...Well worth the $40 or so shelf price

To go with the prosciutto and rocket pizza, decided on a local Italian style. Eden Road Barbera/Cabernet. 90% barbera, 10% cabernet, and really excellent. Perfect match

Rep slung me a bottle of the newest Tyrrell's Brokenback (mountain :sarcasm:) Shiraz...a cracker for the price

Having a Cork Cutters "Benign Neglect" Pinot Noir at the moment.

Words cannot describe this wine, so I will leave a picture to describe my feelings.

RandyMarshJizz.jpg

Bodegas Palacio Rioja is an awesome wine, pricey though. In terms of the ones I sell at 1st Choice (I know them very well, as you can imagine), Damana is excellent. The Damana 5 is about $17 and very nice, the standard Damana Crianza is about $35 and outstanding. Glorioso Crianza is also a really nice little sub $20 Rioja, with lots of fruit character. The Reserva and Gran Reserva are a bit too dusty for my tastes. Cosme Placio is also a very nice number, also sub $20, and the top range Tabula label is a stunning wine, but also pricey (over $50). We also have a great little entry level one called Aradon, which is like $9 and quite soft (being 50% grenache) but is an excellent quaffing wine.

In terms of the ones I have tried from Dans, the Bodegas Roda Reserva is a cracker but also about $70. Marques de Caceras do a very nice one for $25-30, and the El Coto Crianza is a quite elegant Rioja at about $20.

I dunno what the boutique wine scene is like up there, but the best place for imports like Rioja is usually a good boutique seller...we can get some excellent value wines both at my place and Dans, but they are often the bigger producers and don't reflect the differences you can get in a region like Rioja. Boutique sellers can be more expensive but may also have access to a better range of boutique producers.

I've been looking to get into wines from Priorat, but I just can't find enough of them :fist:

Had a bottle of 2005 Mayer Big Betty Shiraz, Yarra Valley last night.

A bit disappointed, very smokey & a touch bitter on the finish. Not a bad wine, just not my kind of shiraz.

Nothing ventured nothing gained.

had a bottle of Earthworks Cab Sav from First Choice, really nice for the price

really enjoying the wide range they have

I think Tweed is a pretty small store too Twizz! That Earthworks is excellent value, both the shiraz and the cabernet. They are made by Langmeil in the Barossa

Grosset Springvale Riesling 2011 with my red curry chicken tonight...such a good riesling. Really long, predictably high quality. All lime and orange blossom and mineral and some quince...just awesome

I think Tweed is a pretty small store too Twizz! That Earthworks is excellent value, both the shiraz and the cabernet. They are made by Langmeil in the Barossa

Grosset Springvale Riesling 2011 with my red curry chicken tonight...such a good riesling. Really long, predictably high quality. All lime and orange blossom and mineral and some quince...just awesome

1st Choice Tweed only just opened a few months ago (went in there and could still smell the paint drying), though it is much bigger than "Dan Murphy's" at Tweed. South Tweed Tavern is a Dan Murphy's, but doesn't have the decal on it since it's too small at the moment.

I can't help comparing it to my shop :p I have 8 double sided premium wine racks with 96 individual slots on either side. In terms of "premium" shiraz, for eg, I have over 190!!!

Meanwhile, a mate brought over a bottle of 2008 Jacobs Creek St Hugo Shiraz. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!! What a wine! Big, beefy shiraz with huge red fruit, masses of chocolate oak, and a texture like spun velvet. I will have to pick up a dozen, regardless of price.

it maybe small in comparison to other stores but its by far the biggest in this area

wine selection shits on Liquorland

My fav for purchasing wine on the coast are;

Kirra Hotel, excellent range.

Dan Murphy's @ Varsity Lakes.

Between the 2 I can pretty much get what I want.

Edit

Another good one for some other wines you won't find in the regular bottle shops is Emmanuel's down at Kingy.

http://www.emmanuels-wineshop.com.au/Assets/winelist/redwine.pdf

http://www.emmanuels-wineshop.com.au/Assets/winelist/whitewine.pdf

http://www.emmanuels-wineshop.com.au/Assets/winelist/champagne.pdf

http://www.emmanuels-wineshop.com.au/Assets/winelist/sparkling.pdf

http://www.emmanuels-wineshop.com.au/Assets/winelist/rosewine.pdf

Used my bonus to stock up on some Chrissy bargains today

2x Perrier Jouet @ $58
2x Lagavulin 16yo @ $79
1x Tanqueray Ten @ $60
6x Moss Wood Chardy 09 @ $35 (!!!!!)
3x Petaluma Chardy 09 @ $28

Also, is there some sort of wine troll out there steaming labels off wine? I have had four unlabelled bottles this week. Fine by me, I can't sell them by law so they go in my cellar!