Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

Passion is a good wine. My personal fave is the Naked on Rollerskates.

In terms of a mid range gris/grigio, Coles imports one called Portone that is very good for about 10-12. Innocent Bystander do a ripper for 18 or so
You may not advertise your company wines on here. Only I may advertise my company wines on here... ;-)

sensesmaybenumbed

Did laugh though. We were discussing new products and labells, someone said something and I blurted out LOL as a remark.

We are now looking at launching a range of wines called LOL...

Catchy. Every 10th bottle should have absolute slops put in it - really nasty shiraz, with a printing on the inside of the label: Trollolololol.

BDR

I just picture a cream coloured label with LOL printed in fancy roman lettering and a wax seal graphic on the label.

Classy as fuark

Efresh

I'm off to the USA this week, can anyone recommend a decent Seppo label to bring back? Ideally something not found over here.

I'm cheating a bit...Longshadows The Sequel Syrah, from Oregon

I'm cheating because it's actually made by John Duval, an Australian :p

Efresh

Cheers...I'll have room for a couple of bottles of wine with some good Tennessee whiskey so want to make sure they are worth it. That is if the wife doesn't put in a request for duty free Veuve or something.

At Canberra Cellars Braddon today, and the guy there highly recommended Lerida Estate Merlot Cabernet Franc. Should be interesting since I an avid opponent of Merlot outside of the best examples from Bordeaux.

The positive for this wine is that it isn't a typical Merlot blend as this has middle palate and isn't sweet. Downside is that the primary flavour is eucalypt which after one glass gets a bit much. Also wouldn't spend $30 for this. Probably give it a miss people.

BDR

Tonight I polished off a bottle of Evans and Tate Classic Semillon Sav Blanc. Very solid drop at a reasonable price.

Also had a glass of the Cloudy Bay Te Koko Sav Blanc. Fantastic, although a little out of my regular price range. Really terrific drop though.

d'Arenberg Ferel Fox Pinot Noir. Unlike the remainder of the d'Arenberg portfolio, this is from Adelaide Hills. A pretty serious Pinot, classic Burgundy colour with forest floor and red stone fruit notes. Quite a fast finish however.

I'm missing my Friday wine....not drinking before footy! Well, will have a quiet stubby after dinner...

That Feral Fox is nice but. I was surprised to find some handy pinots in the Hunter during the week actually...