Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

when did penfolds drop the penfolds name off rawsons retreat?

i know its one of their bottom end wines, but i always thought at least it added a bit of class to the bottom end..

It's been a long while now. Pretty sure you can even get Rawsons Retreat in a 2L cask for that classy finish.

2015 Eden Road Canberra Riesling.

Pure, clean, without the acid of a Clare. Great body, ever so slightly off dry....lime, more kaffir leaf or finger lime than traditional limes though. A ripper wine again, they are superstars imo

Canberra is the best region in Aus for shiraz for mine, and it wont be long before the riesling knocks off the SA stuff....

2014 Gibson Discovery Road Mataro Grenache.

Do you know much about this thing Drew? Seems to be a Woolies dealy

EDIT. In the absence of Drew we opened this first. Decent wine, with a lovely nose of rose and plum, but surprisingly underripe for the vintage I thought. Once it opened up it had nice purple berries, and a whack of herbs. Plenty of tannins, as expected from a mataro dominated wine, but all in all I thought it was a little green and a litle too acidic and I'm not sure it would improve with age

Second botle of the night was meant to be a local syrah or a french syrah... uninspired range of french syrah at Dans, got a Ravensworth Syrah instead.....then i scratched that in favour of a real mataro after the slight disappointment of the first bottle. One of my last two Teusner Dog Strangler 2010s.

Wow. So much complexity. Jerky, gamey savoury characters, black fruit, graphite, tobacco, chocolate, pepper....a classic ludicrous Teusner wine drinking perfectly now

I meandered my way through a 2010 Cornelius Syrah on Friday afternoon.

Licorice, berry, plum with a touch of fennel & pepper, black cherry & oaked to perfection. Tannins balanced to a tee, very, very smooth & great finish. I have one bottle left from my trip through NSW & VIC last year. Will look forward to cracking that one.

I've only had the one Teusner Baz (Riebke shiraz) , will have to make a more concerted effort to get their stuff, only hear good things.

2014 Ravensworth Shiraz Viognier. Really top value, Bryan has obviously learned a lot from making wines at Clonakilla. Stylistically its in the same vein, chewy and gamey, very perfumed, light vibrant berries, minerally, tight tannin. A big winner

Mong

Chateau Tanunda - 2013 Shiraz Grenache Mourvèdre Carignan Cinsault

All I have to say is - Yum :)

Have a few more of them around so am keen to give a couple a bit of age and see what happens. Patience isn't my strong point though.

2008 Wallaroo Sparkling Riesling. I had a case of this stuff, just kept one bottle to see how it went over time.

It went better than I ever expected. Phenolic nose, as you'd expect from an aged riesling in general. A little bit of glycerol in the mouth, but I enjoy that. But once that aged touch gets out of the way, there's jasmine and sherbert and green apple jelly, a bit of that classic riesling minerality is still there too. Wicked twist on the classic Aussie sparkling

Speaking of PN SGLC.

Went out to dinner on Thur night, had a 2014 Josef Chromy (Tassie) Pinot Noir. Never heard of this wine make before, twas a very, very enjoyable drop.

Drew-Sta

Had some good stuff in Orange. Orange Mountain Viognier and Shiraz Viognier were superb. They did an ice Viognier which was phenommenal. Printhies MCC Chard and Pinot were great. Peter Mortimers wines were passable. Well overpriced too. Peter Shaw's were average too but his rose and numbered Pinot were great. De Salis were really nice too; high altitude and beautiful Pinot.

2010 Little Bridge Shiraz Sangiovese. This wine was actually a mistake, they told contract pickers to pick rows A, C, E and so forth....they picked and crushed the lot, which wound up being interspersed shiraz and sangiovese. Then they liked the result so much they just bottled it. Really nice, Canberra does both varieties well and this is a genuine ripper. You get spicy, peppery, plummy shiraz, and all the savoury sangiovese edge. Plus some rose and cherry cola. Will be hard to stop at a glass or two

Picked up a bottle of Eden Road P3 for tonight's festivities. Equal parts Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier, and Pinot Gris. Barrel fermented and whole bunch pressed. Im keen as anything to crack it tbh

Xavier Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2009. Picked it up last year when 1st Choice was giving away everything. Actually opened this last night, but it was quite tight and astringent. 24 hours later though, and it is a far improved wine. Dark chocolate and cigar, with a note of plum. Tasty.

That was a handy wine at the clearance price....

This P3 is insanely different, really interesting

Agricole Vallone Vereto Vendemmia 2010. Red wine made with 100% Negroamaro grapes. Highly perfumed nose. Very easy drinking wine, rather brambly with a quick finish. Good everyday table red.

2015 Earthworks Tempranillo. Seems like Sam Smith want this label to be an ongoing thing, as the Cabernet and Shiraz are Coles exclusive brands but this isn't. Cracking young tempranillo, lots of cherry cola, good depth, a chewy stalky finish, some proper dusty earthiness. Reminds me a whole lot of the Running With Bulls Barossa tempranillo...probably because they have the same winemaker

Knocked off a 2014 Yalumba Eden Valley Viognier tonight. Very floral, big apricot, herbs, a little hint of barrel ferment. Really nice