Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wing out to launch bid for NSW No.7

mxlegend99 said:
Joel Clinton will be an improved player in 2008. With his natural aggression ontop of Wayne Bennet to improve his discipline, he should be one of the best front rowers for NSW. Plus being a Bronco will most likely help him for playing rep footy.

Lyon and Cooper are overrated. Jame Lyon moreso. Matt Cooper is still a good defensive centre. But he hasn't been effective in origin lately. He was responsible for blowing about 3 tries last Origin series. I honestly don't think he will get the boot from origin though. He gets a free pass thanks to Mark Gasnier.

IMO, Eric Grothe is an animal. He can have average form a club level. But he is aggressive and built for rep games. We need someone like him up against the likes of Israel Folau. Grothe and Hayne on the wings offer the size and aggression we need, without losing the pace.

As for Michael Jennings, he will continue to improve the youth and spark of our backline. We need to get over picking guys for experience, and continue creating the next batch of Origin stars. Brett Stewart and Jarryd Hayne completely changed the NSW backline in 2007.

jennings - too early, better options

clinton - i agree with what you say but atm i think omeeley is better

grothe - hes a top player but will he get picked after not turning up for the roos training session where he said music was more important
lyon is still a great centre, but manly waste him at 6

mxlegend99

dallymessenger said:
jennings - too early, better options
By Origin next year, he will be at the same point in his career as Jarryd Hayne was, and ahead of where Israel Folau was when playing for Australia.

dallymessenger said:
clinton - i agree with what you say but atm i think omeeley is better
O'Meley hasn't really done much the past year. Although neither did Clinton i guess. Still got a few months before we know where the players are at.

dallymessenger said:
grothe - hes a top player but will he get picked after not turning up for the roos training session where he said music was more important
lyon is still a great centre, but manly waste him at 6
I do fear that little training incident will work against him. But Jamie Lyon is not a great centre by any stretch of the imagination. He was easily the weakest link last year when he played Origin.

I'd happily give a promising Jersey Flegg player a run ahead of Jamie Lyon.

lyon played 10 mins of the GF last year and centre and got back his old form.

manly have wrecked him playing at 5/8th. in england he played centre and killed it.

i agree on the rest though

Monk

i reckon el masri should be picked for NSW, he killed in SOO 3 and he deserve his sopt i think

mxlegend99

dallymessenger said:
lyon played 10 mins of the GF last year and centre and got back his old form.

manly have wrecked him playing at 5/8th. in england he played centre and killed it.

i agree on the rest though
Hmm i dont recall him doing much in the Grand Final. But i will hand it to him, he wasn't the worst player there. The real dissapointment was the Manly forward pack IMO. Brent Kite is a nuffy when it comes to big games. He lacks mongrel. I'd love to see Joel Clinton, Ben Cross and Mark O'Meley all play at their best. That's 3 big boys with plenty of anger.

Monk said:
i reckon el masri should be picked for NSW, he killed in SOO 3 and he deserve his sopt i think
I can't see him being picked though. His form at the end of the season left a bit to be desired, and his goalkicking was far below his usual standard. Plus he is getting pretty old now.

Jennings's defense is too weak for origin. Hodge, Inglis etc would run all around him. Im all for picking Gaz and Coops because their defense is solid and proven at SOO level. They also can attack very well unlike Lyon

mxlegend99

Michael Jennings defence is actually pretty solid though. When he started in first grade it wasn't that great. But he had gone straight from Jersey Flegg to First Grade. During the year he improved quiet a bit, and over this off-season should improve even more. He put on some big hits during the year, one of which was absolutely flattening Jason Ryles.

The other guy i was thinking of backing for a winger spot was Chris Lawrence. But i'm not sure whether he is eligible for NSW. Anyone know his place of birth and nationality?

edit
A comparison of a few attack/defence stats from the last 5 rounds:

Michael Jennings
Round 25 (Warriors): 16 tackles/4 missed. 4 tackle breaks.
Round 24 (Roosters): 12 tackles/0 missed. 1 tackle break.
Round 23 (Knights): 10 tackles/4 missed. 6 tackles breaks/3 line breaks/3 tries
Round 22 (Cowboys): 20 tackles/3 missed. 6 tackle breaks/1 line break/2 tries
Round 21 (Souths): 12 tackles/1 missed. 6 tackle breaks/1 line break/2 tries

Matt Cooper:
Round 25 (Manly): 16 tackles/5 missed. 3 tackle breaks/1 line break/1 try
Round 24 (Eels): 18 tackles/3 missed. 1 tackle break
Round 23 (Cowboys): 15 tackles/4 missed. 7 tackle breaks/3 linebreaks/2 tries
Round 22 (Souths): 18 tackles/3 missed. 2 tackle breaks
Round 21 (Knights): 18 tackles/0 missed. 8 tackle breaks/1 linebreak

Michael Jennings Total: 70 tackles/12 missed (~83% success rate). 23 tackle breaks/5 linebreaks/7 tries.
Matt Cooper Total: 85 tackles/15 missed (~84% success rate). 21 tackle breaks/5 linebreaks/3 tries

I'll admit Michael Jennings defence isn't perfect. It's worse then what i thought it would be actually. His attack is pretty solid though, not sure why he couldn't get points in the last 2 rounds though.
Matt Cooper i expected a lot more from. He is meant to be one of, if not THE best defending centre. I'm actually curious how he compares to other centres now.

Could someone list a few other players who are eligible for NSW? The main reason i've been backing Michael Jennings, is I'm not sure which blokes coming through are actually eligible for NSW. They all seem to be either Kiwi or QLD based.

JB

Wing to me has always been more of an oppertunist type player than a traditional organising type half. He's always had an eye for the gap, but more importantly the speed to back it up. Imo hooker has always been his best position as he can pick and choose his time to have a go, take advantage of a tiring defence etc.
Just dont know if he has the nous at first or 2nd receiver, with a set defence, to organize an attack or create space for others. If he's in the halves i'd rather see him at 5/8, given a roving commision to inject himself in the game where he see's fit.

mepelthwack

Not sure it's been mentioned but there must be some kind of possibility of Matty Head playing injury free, realising his potential and getting the number 7.

Fingers crossed.

NthKnight

mxlegend99 said:
The other guy i was thinking of backing for a winger spot was Chris Lawrence. But i'm not sure whether he is eligible for NSW. Anyone know his place of birth and nationality?.

Lawrence is a Campbelltown junior so he is well and truely eligable to play for NSW. His defence has been hit and miss although his attack is well up to origin standard.

mepelthwack said:
Not sure it's been mentioned but there must be some kind of possibility of Matty Head playing injury free, realising his potential and getting the number 7.

Fingers crossed.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Put the bottle down mate, I think youve had enough

Johns Magic

NthKnight said:

Before all his injuries Head was absolutely an Origin prospect.

Hopefully he can get back to his old form, because he's got a good all-round game when on song.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Have a look at your predictions mate, your the one that was clearly drinking when you wrote them. Great Britan are NOT in the World Cup.

- Aust v GB RLWC final

I still say Jarryd Hayne will make the center spot for the Blues. Selectors love him, remember last year when he made the City v Country match when Nathan Merrit clearly deserved a spot and Jarryd was out of form. Jarryd played average in City vs Country and then gets selected for NSW. He will be there I rekon.

NthKnight

1 Eyed TEZZA said:
Have a look at your predictions mate, your the one that was clearly drinking when you wrote them. Great Britan are NOT in the World Cup.

I still say Jarryd Hayne will make the center spot for the Blues. Selectors love him, remember last year when he made the City v Country match when Nathan Merrit clearly deserved a spot and Jarryd was out of form. Jarryd played average in City vs Country and then gets selected for NSW. He will be there I rekon.

So I wrote GB instead of England (Whom will be the entire GB side anyway). Its a pretty easy mistake to make. Saying Head is a chance for Origin selection though is another story

Hayne will be there not at centre but likely on the wing and deservedly so as he is a gun and a proven performer.

head will not be in origin contention

funny thing is how people keep pusing unlikely options from their own clubs

bloody one eyed fans

The Engineers Room

dallymessenger said:
head will not be in origin contention

funny thing is how people keep pusing unlikely options from their own clubs

bloody one eyed fans

Waits for the Newcastle fan to mention Luke Walsh.

mxlegend99

Matty Head is a chance. But i'd say that he is behind Matt Orford, Brett Kimmorley, Todd Carney, Jarrod Mullen and possible Peter Wallace. Craig Wing is probably no chance at the #7, but a solid chance as the utility.