Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wk2 Finals: Parra v Souths GAME DAY thread (10/10/20)

Gazzamatta

Im so confident that our Board, CEO and HoF will recognise our very obvious deficiencies and take the appropriate actions that I have renewed my Ticketed Membership for 2021. Who's with me?

Gotta give you some credit mate, normally you’re just taking the piss all the time. But you do know your footy!
I like your serious posts haha

Just how I'd build my team.

N.Brown and Jnr in middle starting with RCG,Niakuore,Lane,Kafusi our middle rotation. That is a great go forward.
Matto to lock for 80mis and look for two new 2nd rowers. We need to free up cash and that may mean moving on Sivo and Fergo if we can and using two lesser wingers.
GJ went well. Some of his catches where brilliant. Dunster was raw but solid debut. The thing is we could save 600k there. Taka and Evans gone means another 500k. Its 1.1mill. Youd pick up 2 very handy 2nd rowers with that.

Just way I like a side built. I like 2nd rowers who bust the line. It create space for centres. Lane is to slow. Matto is strong but doesn't run hard enough.

Plus we need to look at the 4 or 5 guys I named to build with. They are not old. We do not need to build to win it next season. Set it up or 2022-2025. Let the younger halves develop slowly.

Noise

FFS he is a 20 year old half, where his first two years in grade have been stop and start from two injuries!
All his mistakes tonight were once we were chasing points!
He isn’t the half that is supposed to steer the ship around, he is suppose to be the runner (which everyone is saying he is good at) and strong edge defender (again what he is good at)
Both attributes most young halves coming into grade are extremely vulnerable in!
He also over chased on Cook which left that huge hole for a Souths try

Joshuatheeel

Mahoney has had good moments and is young. But next season will be time to put it all together and go up a level. He isn't anywhere near your Korisau,Cooks or C.Smiths.....Irony is those 3 are in last 4.

f**k me ah ok..,,cook didn’t even debut until he was as 23 and took him until he was 27 to hit 50 games....

While AP didn’t debut until his was 22 and took him until his was 25 to hit 50 games....

both played a lot of NSW cup....

additionally they weren’t playing close to 80 mins after only 10 NRL games....

AND they weren’t regular NRL players at 23 (which is what reed is next year!!)

Mahoney is only 22 (and 50 or so games) and was thrown in the “deep in” with limited NSW cup games or time to develop.

he is great defensively and passing . His attack game this year has developed nicely (along with 2 decent injuries).

FFS he aren’t going anywhere and there aren’t any pressure on him!!

BTW Smith is a freak.,,

If he was at Melbourne / roosters he wouId still be in NSW cup, when was the last time those clubs had a rookie 20 year old as a regular half starter ??

BTW Drown has 32 game (20 years old) Mahoney 55 games (22 years old) ...,,they are going ok

And you want us to sign a rookie in Burton to replace Moses ..,.,,FFS you don’t even give our rookie spine players a chance to develop.....

Burton could be very special.
Moses at best will always be hot and cold.

Noise

f**k me ah ok..,,cook didn’t even debut until he was as 23 and took him until he was 27 to hit 50 games....

While AP didn’t debut until his was 22 and took him until his was 25 to hit 50 games....

Mahoney is only 22 (and 50 or so games) and was thrown in the “deep in” with limited NSW cup games or time to develop.

he is great defensively and passing . His attack game this year has developed nicely (along with 2 decent injuries).

BTW Smith is a freak.,,
Which is why it was absolute stupidity to not have a second hooker in the squad.

Happy MEel

Goodness me, his kick was half a meter (probably less) off being perfect... name me a half that doesn’t have the odd bad kick in him? The souths halves put a kick out on the full tonight!

No how he is starting is how all young halves need to play when they come into grade... listen to the best in the game, the Fittlers, Johns brothers, Cronk...
They all say the same thing, a young half needs to think run before pass, then hold his own in D
That’s fair, but a half needs to show some playmaking ability as well. In 17 games this year he has 5 try assists and 3 lba’s. That’s pretty ordinary.

Joshuatheeel

Which is why it was absolute stupidity to not have a second hooker in the squad.

agree, but as I have mentioned before I reckon there was a plan in place but no nsw cup stuffed anything. We were interested in luke ....

BTW Smith is a freak.,,

Yes. Mahoney is great. But with 2 and half seasons under belt I would like to see him go up another level. Sometimes guys do not improve. He may be at his peak. And if he is then we have a very solid hooker. No shame in that.
But at 22 he could go up gear and become one of the best in comp.

I give Penrith credit. They had 2 very high rated hookers in Egan and Katoa. When they had a chance at Korisau they knifed the pair and went for him.
The rest is history.

Wally21

My take for what it’s worth after having the drive home from the game to calm down...
- our bench was our biggest issue. They could bring on Knight and Nichols, we bring on Evans and Davey. I’d pick their bench every time
- Cook should have been sin binned
- Moses attacking kicking game was non-existant. And he is a massive flog
- Blake was better in defence tonight but he is such a dumb player. He had the chance to tackle Johnston in goal to force a restart when we were still 4 in front and he just ran past him.
- Dunster was way better than I expected
- junior Paulo is an absolute superstar
- Gutho has the heart of a lion to Moses pea heart.

Angry_eel

Well that's done. To be honest, I was happy that we competed but at the end of the day, we just didn't think we had the quality of Souths.

Moving on, Im not particularly optimistic about our chances. I can't see us seeing a premiership any time soon.

In the 00s we always lacked in 1 key position or another. Now, we're fairly good in most positions and have a good captain but I cant see us winning anything even next year.

Plus I went to only 2 games this year. First bankwest home game and now this one. Hoping to start taking my daughter from next year :)

Joshuatheeel

Yes. Mahoney is great. But with 2 and half seasons under belt I would like to see him go up another level. Sometimes guys do not improve. He may be at his peak. And if he is then we have a very solid hooker. No shame in that.
But at 22 he could go up gear and become one of the best in comp.

I give Penrith credit. They had 2 very high rated hookers in Egan and Katoa. When they had a chance at Korisau they knifed the pair and went for him.
The rest is history.

Ah ok so cook / AP get to their mid 20’s to even become regular NRL players..,,,,,,but Mahoney needs to show more by the time he is 23 .......

JokerEel

My take for what it’s worth after having the drive home from the game to calm down...
- our bench was our biggest issue. They could bring on Knight and Nichols, we bring on Evans and Davey. I’d pick their bench every time
- Cook should have been sin binned
- Moses attacking kicking game was non-existant. And he is a massive flog
- Blake was better in defence tonight but he is such a dumb player. He had the chance to tackle Johnston in goal to force a restart when we were still 4 in front and he just ran past him.
- Dunster was way better than I expected
- junior Paulo is an absolute superstar
- Gutho has the heart of a lion to Moses pea heart.

On Moses - When DBrown took the ball we looked great in attack. Moses should go to 5/8

JokerEel

On next Weeks game. Penrith Missing Kikua will lose them the game as he would usually destroy Reynolds.

If he was at Melbourne / roosters he wouId still be in NSW cup, when was the last time those clubs had a rookie 20 year old as a regular half starter ??

BTW Drown has 32 game (20 years old) Mahoney 55 games (22 years old) ...,,they are going ok

And you want us to sign a rookie in Burton to replace Moses ..,.,,FFS you don’t even give our rookie spine players a chance to develop.....
lol he wouldn’t be playing ahead of Flanagan???? Hughes is a fullback you really think if they had Brown in their system he wouldn’t be ready to play first grade and offer more than those two??

he’s already a better defender than both of them.

They have quality systems with quality coaching where junior players thrive and are ready to play when they are picked. Instead we have Bea Arthur, David Derpwell and Spoons Murphy.

Talk about Comparing Rolled gold chocolate to boiled lollies.

Well considering the injuries, suspensions and then today with the drama with M Jennings it was always going to be difficult, however they had a dig for a bit.

Down 8-0 then to get to 18-8 I thought we were superb, offloading the ball, good running, blokes backing up.

I thought one little play though where we tried to push the ball and it went to the sideline didnt helped. My initial reaction was, "oh no surely not", referring to what happened to Newcastle whey they were up and pushed the pass too much, then Souths went bang from there.

However I was confident at 18-8 and they managed to hold them out just before the break, but I knew we had to score first and at least hold Souths out for the first 10 minutes

Unfortunately conceding that first try early didn't help, to me that turned the game, Souths were on a roll and didnt look under pressure. I know we had a change to level it up, but you can tell with the body language who looked more confident. They were more committed and backed each other up, and were quick to get to a lose ball, especially with Moses' missed kick, I mean where were half of our team with that missed kick??

As for Moses' missing that goal, well it thats crazy when you think there's a chance to get back into it and it just goes completely the other way in a matter of seconds. It could only happen to Parramatta.

I will say, I'm proud of their season and getting to week 2 of the finals, but I think Parramatta needs to learn to put more pressure on teams and have a proper game management when it comes to finals football.

I dont want to be too critical on Arthur but I thought he perhaps shouldve picked Kaufusi or Alvaro off the bench. Not that it wouldve made too much difference, but losing Niukore to suspension they needed a player who get the metres with Paulo and RCG off and unfortunately I dont think the bench did much. Davey tried, Stone and Evans meh!!.

On the positives, well done to Dunster on his debut, bit scrappy at the start but handled himself well, did a good job. And I thought G Jennings stepped up and put in a solid effort, considering he has hardly played all year. Thank goodness for that stint at the Warriors.

So once again like every year on the forums, there's always next year :rolleyes: