Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Y.N.W.A. Thread (Liverpool fans thread)

HowHigh

I managed to stay up and watch the game. It was nice to see us get a win, feels like it had been a while since I saw one.
Great to see Suarez score his first hatrick for us, hopefully the first of many.
We played well like usual, difference is we actually convertered some chances into goals.

Foz

They did play well but again wasted some chances.
That Shelvey miss from about two feet sort of summed up the year and yet another goal attempt hit the woodwork.
Good to see Stevie make a guest appearance too.
Suarez goals were all good but that last one was a ripper.
Want to guess what sort of side is rolled out against Fulham during the week with the Cup Final next weekend?

Did you hear weve had more shots at goal,more corners and hit the woodwork more than any other side?
Have to say it hasnt been our luckiest season so hopefully we get some next weekend.
Think we play Chelsea the game after the cup too.(at Anfield)

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasnt it you who said Arsenal spend what they earn(in other words net spending)?

Yep you're right i did say that. That was in response to why Wenger doesn't get blasted. I think most people understand that he doesn't have the budgets that other big clubs have so gets a bit of leeway.

Suarez has been playing up front since he got here.
Where do you think he's been playing?
He's got the nod to start over Carroll basically from when he got to Liverpool.
He scored straight off the bench about 24 hours after we signed him and Carroll never played for a while after we signed him as he was injured.

What are you talking about? I said your striker was Suarez. You said you didn't have any strikers so went and brought Carroll even though you already had Suarez.

Weve been short a striker all year because we arent all lucky enough to have Van Persie up front saving us.

EXACTLY. You've been short a striker all season. If you didn't panic and throw an obscene amount of money at Carroll you could've brought in a player like Cisse or Jelavic.

Yep RvP has been awesome, he's been injured for seasons and we've stuck by him so it's about time he contributed. Your problem isn't your strikers. Sure Suarez is inconsistent in front of goal and should have scored a lot more, but you look at players like Downing and Henderson who have done close to f**k all all season. For all the shit Walcott gets he's contributed 16 goals this season in the PL, 8 goals and 8 asts, do Henderson and Downing have even a quarter of that combined?

Great game by Suarez this morning btw.

Did you hear weve had more shots at goal,more corners and hit the woodwork more than any other side?

You're actually 4th in shots per game (17.4) and 6th in shots on target per game (5.5).

Source

I've heard the woodwork stat though and i'm pretty sure you had hit it 32 times before your game this morning.

WireMan

If you want to talk net spend you can start reducing the 100 million by half with the Torres transfer fee of 50 million.
Add some of the players moved on and a number out on loan and I think you'll find the Liverpool wage bill has been kept pretty much the same or reduced slightly.
Everyone knew that Carrolls 35 million was funded by Chelsea who agreed Torres transfer fee would be 15 million more than what Newcastle wanted for Carroll.

What do you think he was going to do with the transfer funds?
Put it in the bank?

Who are these big players you are talking about that have chosen 5 or 6 teams over Liverpool?
Fact is they'll all pick Man City if its a money issue.

Forget net spend. He had 100 million.

Chelsea agreed the transfer would be 15 million more than the fee for Carroll? Do you actually believe that?
You got 50 mil for Torres and Mike Ashley knew you were desperate and fleeced you for 35 million quid.

I've heard the woodwork stat though and i'm pretty sure you had hit it 32 times before your game this morning.

Hitting the woodwork is missing the goal. To do this less, spend 35 million on a decent player...

hybrid_tiger

The rails ride KK gets is unbelieveable.

Liverpool fans couldn't wait to see the back of Roy Hodgson yet his team was better than Kenny's current Liverpool side.

Foz

I arent denying Kenny hasnt performed.
Its the players he's bought with the money that is the problem not the amount he's spent because I have no doubt he needs to spend more.
Net spend is the way to measure it not outlay.
Its a business not just some guys playing championship manager.

Suarez signed about a week before Carroll.(he hadnt played a game for us)
We had Ngog running around on one leg as our only striker when Torres said he wanted out.(the same as Nasri and Fabergas wanted out no matter how much you want to believe they didnt).

Chelsea bought 2 of our players Torres and Merieles for 60 million with a squad that was worth much more than ours was worth.
We are behind Manure,City Chelsea etc and it stands to reason if you want to compete with them you have to spend at least what they do if your squad is inferior.

I hope they give Kenny(or whoever is in charge)a 100 million this year.
If I was an Arsenal supporter Id want the same because I cant remember them winning anything for a while.Youd know more than me because I dont follow them but if youre happy with how they are going thats good.

I arent happy with Liverpool running 4th or 8th or 12th in the League.
Champions League qualification is good but again if you dont win it who cares.
I'm sure the 2 Manchester clubs arent happy with how they performed in that this year.

Foz

Forget net spend. He had 100 million.

Chelsea agreed the transfer would be 15 million more than the fee for Carroll? Do you actually believe that?
You got 50 mil for Torres and Mike Ashley knew you were desperate and fleeced you for 35 million quid.

Hitting the woodwork is missing the goal. To do this less, spend 35 million on a decent player...

We hadnt had any money approved at the time from the new owners and a court case was brewing so yes i do believe it.
There were articles about it at the time.I may have even linked some of them so if you want to search them feel free.

By the way those stats about most shots and corners were made by the commentators of the Norwich V Liverpool game.
I dont know where they got their stats from so complain to Fox sports if its an issue.

You people forget we had bugger all money to spend during our previous ownership and were in debt.

(the same as Nasri and Fabergas wanted out no matter how much you want to believe they didnt).

I don't care about the other stuff because we've argued enough about it (Carrol/Suarez etc.), but idk where you got the idea that I, or anyone else, thought they wanted to stay. Fabregas paid to leave and Nasri begged to. The only person that thought they would stay is Arsene, and if it wasn't for his stubborness we would've have signed Mata before Chelsea snapped him up. It's no secret we were close to signing him and if we had the Nasri's transfer fee and squad spot we would have.

I'd be surprised if you got 100mill this summer to spend. It remains to be seen whether or not GST (or whatever they're called) will trust Dalglish with 100 mill again considering the shit he brought with it the first time round. And i can't see anyone dumb enough to buy another underperforming striker for 50 million.

I don't think you'll find many Arsenal fans happy with where we are atm. After all the success we had at the start of the century and the way the invincibles were dismantled within two seasons we have a lot to be disappointed about. We understand that we don't have enough to/won't compete with Chelsea, City and United financially but as long as we keep close enough until either Usmanov takes over or we get our ridiculously shit commercial deal sorted we are doing ok.

Who knows, we might even have a relatively injury free season for a change and have most of our good players on the field for the majority of next season. Our first team is good enough to compete with the likes of City/United but our depth is shit, which funnily enough, is down to financial resources.

We hadnt had any money approved at the time from the new owners and a court case was brewing so yes i do believe it.
There were articles about it at the time.I may have even linked some of them so if you want to search them feel free.

By the way those stats about most shots and corners were made by the commentators of the Norwich V Liverpool game.
I dont know where they got their stats from so complain to Fox sports if its an issue.

You people forget we had bugger all money to spend during our previous ownership and were in debt.

You had a lineup with Torres, Gerrard, Mascherano and Xabi Alonso. It's no one elses fault but your own that you started going after Garry Barry to replace Alonso. That's where your downfall started and you've been in decline ever since.

Every team is in debt and you're not the only one had limited resources.

No ones complaining about the stats, we were just pointing them out to be both wrong and meaningless.

WireMan

There were articles about it at the time.I may have even linked some of them so if you want to search them feel free..

But you think Chelsea agreed to 15 mil more than Newcastle wanted? No way would they do that.

They overpaid horribly for Torres. But then they can as they have a very wealthy owner. Kenny took that money and blew it on Carroll for 35 mil. He then took the rest and spent it on the likes of Adam, Henderson and Downing.

That is Kennys net. One quality player out, 4 average ones in.

You had bugger all money? Thats a good reason for Hodgson to be given some slack. Kenny has had a bucket load of cash.

United are in debt and are not doing so badly, Arsenal are sitting third without a rich owner, Spurs are doing alright. Everton really have no money and they are above you in the league.

On the champs league, to not want to qualify for the biggest cup comp in football because you may not win it is an interesting attitude.

hybrid_tiger

Its the players he's bought with the money that is the problem

I hope they give Kenny(or whoever is in charge)a 100 million this year.

:crazy:

You are mad. How could you possibly want Dalglish in charge of another 100 million? What makes you think he wouldn't do the same as he has and buy absolute rubbish at ridiculous prices?

So far his transfers have been a massive failure and you want to give him more money to throw away!?

Foz

:crazy:

You are mad. How could you possibly want Dalglish in charge of another 100 million? What makes you think he wouldn't do the same as he has and ,absolute rubbish at ridiculous prices?

So far his transfers have been a massive failure and you want to give him more money to throw away!?

Give him 200 million then he may fluke a few good players.lol.
If you think we can compete with the top sides without the cash we have no hope and it wouldnt matter who is managing us.

What my complaint is we have Aqualani and Cole out on loan and we run around with Shelvey,Spearing,Kuyt etc.
Am I missing something here?

Id sell half the team if I was in charge but then you dont know whats influencing these purchases.

There was belief that the new owners wanted young players(Fenway Sports I thinks there name).
Charlie Adam and Downing werent in line with that thinking though.(Adams out for the year and hasnt played since the league cup while I think of it).

They sacked the man in charge of transfers 2 weeks ago.
Youd think that would be Kennys department as the boss but sometimes I wonder if thats the deal.

On Hodgson I dont know the whole story there.
Sure he was sacked but was it part of the new regime wanting to start afresh?
I cant answer that.

Foz

You had a lineup with Torres, Gerrard, Mascherano and Xabi Alonso. It's no one elses fault but your own that you started going after Garry Barry to replace Alonso. That's where your downfall started and you've been in decline ever since.

Every team is in debt and you're not the only one had limited resources.

No ones complaining about the stats, we were just pointing them out to be both wrong and meaningless.

Alonso and Mascherano werent Kennys doing.
Masch was Roys and Alonso Benitez.
I dont think there was a Liverpool fan on the planet that wanted Alonso to go.
We still cant replace him.
Lucas started to show some form earlier in the year and then he's been ruled out for the year.
Norwich Liverpool is on Fox tomorrow at 4.30pm if you want to hear what was said.
I wasnt making it up but they said Liverpool had the most shots at goal and most corners and had hit the woodwork the most.
No figures were mentioned just that statement.

Foz

Interesting selections for the game this morning.

Those who didnt play

Reina

Johnson Agger/Carra Enrique(2nd half only)

Bellamy Gerrard Hederson(played 1st half) TBA

Suarez TBA

Now that would mean Skrtel would miss out for the cup final though he may be selected for Carra.
Carroll was good today and has been the last few games.We may go with 2 strikers but if not the 2TBA's will come from Downing,Kuyt,Spearing Shelvey,Maxi and Kelly.Doni's done nothing wrong in goal and Id go as far as to say he looks better than Reina lately but Reina will get picked.
I reckon Kenny will pick Spearing and Henderson/Downing/Carroll will fight for 2 places.(maybe its me but I am hoping Bellamy starts).
Young Sterling and Aurelio I dont think have a chance to get a run.
My daughter(who's 6)got out of bed early this morning and watched the end of todays game with me.
She asked how come the little boy was playing with the men.lol
That Sterling may be 17 but he looks 15.
Have I missed anyone?

Alonso and Mascherano werent Kennys doing.
Masch was Roys and Alonso Benitez.
I dont think there was a Liverpool fan on the planet that wanted Alonso to go.
We still cant replace him.
Lucas started to show some form earlier in the year and then he's been ruled out for the year.
Norwich Liverpool is on Fox tomorrow at 4.30pm if you want to hear what was said.
I wasnt making it up but they said Liverpool had the most shots at goal and most corners and had hit the woodwork the most.
No figures were mentioned just that statement.

I'm not saying Dalglish was at fault for Alonso and Mascherano leaving. Obviously it wasn't because of him. You don't have to point that out to me haha. I was just saying that you were talking about how you had no money, and then with the money you did have you tried to spend it on an average Villa player and effectively destroyed your team. No one would blame Dalglish for that, they'd blame him for spending 100 mill on Suarez, Carroll, Adam, Henderson and Downing and ending up with 4 midtable players and an exceptionally inconsistent, diving, racist striker.

Yep Lucas was looking good before he went down, was a monster vs City if i remember correctly. Injuries are injuries though, everyone gets them. Hopefully he can come back just as good. Although your problems this year hasn't been defending, you guys have a pretty decent defensive record, or at least you did when Kenny was playing 5 defenders, haven't look at the table in a while.

Nah mate, i believe you that they said that. But the stats Sky Sports over there uses are bogus. They show half time stats and they have passing completions for players like Yaya and Arteta that are like half of what they actually would have. I stopped trusting those geniuss whenever they were talking about stats a while ago.

Interesting selections for the game this morning.

Those who didnt play

Reina

Johnson Agger/Carra Enrique(2nd half only)

Bellamy Gerrard Hederson(played 1st half) TBA

Suarez TBA

Now that would mean Skrtel would miss out for the cup final though he may be selected for Carra.
Carroll was good today and has been the last few games.We may go with 2 strikers but if not the 2TBA's will come from Downing,Kuyt,Spearing Shelvey,Maxi and Kelly.Doni's done nothing wrong in goal and Id go as far as to say he looks better than Reina lately but Reina will get picked.
I reckon Kenny will pick Spearing and Henderson/Downing/Carroll will fight for 2 places.(maybe its me but I am hoping Bellamy starts).
Young Sterling and Aurelio I dont think have a chance to get a run.
My daughter(who's 6)got out of bed early this morning and watched the end of todays game with me.
She asked how come the little boy was playing with the men.lol
That Sterling may be 17 but he looks 15.
Have I missed anyone?

You might as well get what you can out of Bellamy before the season ends. He's probably your most consistent finisher just his legs are fckd. Is he contracted to you guys next season too?

Spearing shouldn't be anywhere near the team. That guy is fckn useless. Agger and Skrtyl are good enough to play without a CDM. I'd go with:

Reina
Kelly Agger Skrtyl Enrique
Johnson Gerrard Henderson Maxi
Suarez Carroll

Foz

Theres rumours Bellamy is retiring at the end of this year.
We got him on a free and dont know how long he signed for.

I agree on Spearing I dont think he's up to it.
The word is he is a superstar on the training paddock but to me he's not good enough.

I'll be shocked if Kenny picks Maxi.
Believe it or not he's scored 11 goals in his last 12 or so games but he scores and gets dropped.The reason is suppose to be he doesnt defend.
Theres a few guys running around every week that have that problem and they dont score either.(not just with Liverpool).
They get picked.
Odds on to be shipped out with Kuyt I reckon.