Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne walking out on Titans.

Vee

It's already the norm huh? Tell me where. I'd like to know where clubs have paid out a player where the player (and not the club) requested a release to join another club.

As I said, you set a bad precedent by paying him anything in these circumstances. Hayne wants out for his own selfish reasons. As such if he requests a release, the Titans would be under zero obligation to pay him out. Doing so would be bad business in the long term. Do you seriously think teams like the Broncos, Bulldogs or Roosters would pay a player out if they were in the Titans position? Of course they wouldn't as their management would know it makes bad business sense long term as it sets a bad precedent.

Also where are the Titans going to find the 1-2 first grade players for 2018 at this stage of the year? There aren't exactly that many who are unsigned this late in the year who are going to be in the mid-tier price range.
The precedent's already set, it's been done heaps of times, think Farrah and clubs who have moved on non-performers while paying part of their wage.

And, after the delays in reaching agreement btw the NRL and the RLPA, there's been endless stories about players whose careers are in limbo, I'd imagine there'd be some handy buys among them for the Titans looking to strengthen key positions.

The precedent's already set, it's been done heaps of times, think Farrah and clubs who have moved on non-performers while paying part of their wage.

And, after the delays in reaching agreement btw the NRL and the RLPA, there's been endless stories about players whose careers are in limbo, I'd imagine there'd be some handy buys among them for the Titans looking to strengthen key positions.

Sorry, but Robbie Farah is not a similar at all viz-a-viz Jarryd Hayne. Farah wanted to stay at the Tigers, but the Tigers wanted him gone. The only reason around all the hoo ha in 2016 was due to the money Farah had deferred from earlier in his contract, he was supposed to be getting somewhere around $800k-$900K for the last two years of his contract which the Tigers, due to their parlous finances could not afford to fully pay him out. The whole "he'll play reserve grade" statement from Jason Taylor during the 2015 off season was part of the Tigers Management putting pressure on Farah to agreeing to take far less in a payout than he was entitled to under his contract for them cutting him with 2 years left to run. After the 2016 season, Farah was worn down enough to accept it so he could get on with things.

Jarryd Hayne's situation is completely different. The Titans want to keep him for 2018. They've made that very public. It is Hayne who wants out and not the Titans wanting him out. I know of no other situation where when a player, under contract, who has wanted out of that contract to go to another club, where the club wants to keep them, that the club they are leaving has paid the departing player out any money.

I'm not saying whether they should or shouldn't keep him, merley it makes bad business sense to offer a payout in the circumstances in which he wants to depart but the club want him to stay.

Also you said "there's been endless stories about players whose careers are in limbo..", ok, yes there are still players off contract. But if you analyse this article from Fox Sports News (even though it is a few weeks old) there is not much talent left at that mid-tier talent range I was talking about. The players who are unsigned are either journeymen, bench players, or have since the article was published, retired.

WaznTheGreat

Jarryd Hayne is a hero,Gold Coast is a joke,should never haven been a team put there in the first place,the sooner the Titans fold the better.

Ron's_Mate

is Fifita (Tigs --> Sharks) an example of a player wanting out, and the club paying a lot of his wages
Not really. He was disillusioned with the Tigers, and prepared to leave, but it was Tigers management who wanted him gone so they could have money to sign Adam Blair, LOL.

Do not be suprised if the Gold Coast and Sharks do a deal.
Ricky Leutele wants to go home (Logan Boy) to be with his family more often, basically is a FIFO dad.
Not good for him or his family.
If Jarryd really wants to come to Sydney (denies it) there is room for a deal.

typicalfan

If anything it’s the Titans that should be compensated and looking for some value. Over 1 million free on the books for a player playing about 400k is a good opportunity. Parra will have someone as an odd one out. Ask for French or Norman as compensation even since the spine will be full.

Pedge1971

The difference is the Titans arent moving on Hayne here. It has all been initiated by the arrogant wanker.

Titans can release him from the contract and he is free to negotiate. Otherwise make him see it out.

Vee

The difference is the Titans arent moving on Hayne here. It has all been initiated by the arrogant wanker.

Titans can release him from the contract and he is free to negotiate. Otherwise make him see it out.
I understand what you're saying, but my understanding of the salary cap is that the difference btw what he's on at the GC and what, say, Parra are prepared to give him stays on the GC cap. Hence my example above.

Happy to be corrected if that's not right. Otherwise, clubs could just promise the world on backended contracts, think Gasnier, and then they retire on shady payouts.

Pedge1971

I understand what you're saying, but my understanding of the salary cap is that the difference btw what he's on at the GC and what, say, Parra are prepared to give him stays on the GC cap. Hence my example above.

Happy to be corrected if that's not right. Otherwise, clubs could just promise the world on backended contracts, think Gasnier, and then they retire on shady payouts.

Gotcha. I was not aware of that but there are precedents like Folau and Parra where the nrl has put a cap value above a sign on.

Basically Raffertys rules with this mob. Right club and you are fine, wrong club they are happy to f**k you...

AJB1102

If Titans are happy to have Hayne in their squad and pay him the agreed amount for 2018, but Hayne doesn't want to do that and asks to leave, then surely they don't have to subsidise his wage to play elsewhere.

If Hayne wanted to stay but Titans wanted him gone then yeah, they gotta make up the difference.

Vee

Also you said "there's been endless stories about players whose careers are in limbo..", ok, yes there are still players off contract. But if you analyse this article from Fox Sports News (even though it is a few weeks old) there is not much talent left at that mid-tier talent range I was talking about. The players who are unsigned are either journeymen, bench players, or have since the article was published, retired.
Without remembering exactly who's on the list, the way I've seen it reported is that there's plenty of solid FGers off-contract and others who might have to be shed to meet the finalised cap. On the lists I've seen reported, I noted plenty of players I thought were worthwhile to certain clubs in certain positions.

Vee

If Titans are happy to have Hayne in their squad and pay him the agreed amount for 2018, but Hayne doesn't want to do that and asks to leave, then surely they don't have to subsidise his wage to play elsewhere.

If Hayne wanted to stay but Titans wanted him gone then yeah, they gotta make up the difference.
The decision then is, as a business, would the GC rather pay the dreamer $1.2M for what he's served up since he's been there with the associated disruptions and drama or pay him half that and spend the rest on a couple of players who are going to have a go and may provide better value btw them than what The Ego was producing.

Not saying they should go either way, just highlighting the restrictions on their choice.

AJB1102

The decision then is, as a business, would the GC rather pay the dreamer $1.2M for what he's served up since he's been there with the associated disruptions and drama or pay him half that and spend the rest on a couple of players who are going to have a go and may provide better value btw them than what The Ego was producing.

Not saying they should go either way, just highlighting the restrictions on their choice.

I get your point. We're both obviously not too convinced in either party's official statements that they're happy and not looking to get out haha.

They'll play each other for a bit until the deal becomes good enough for one or both to move. My gut tells me Titans will f**k it up.

Reactions: Vee
The Roosters still have room in their cap if Mitchell Pearce leaves, using Pearce's 800k a year.

The Roosters can either buy the French prop Julien Bousquet and the PNG lock Wellington Albert and his PNG prop brother Stanton Albert, and the PNG centre/winger Justin Olam (currently contracted to Storm) -- that is four players -- or they can buy just Jarryd Hayne.

What would you do?

AlwaysGreen

The Roosters still have room in their cap if Mitchell Pearce leaves, using Pearce's 800k a year.

The Roosters can either buy the French prop Julien Bousquet and the PNG lock Wellington Albert and his PNG prop brother Stanton Albert, and the PNG centre/winger Justin Olam (currently contracted to Storm) -- that is four players -- or they can buy just Jarryd Hayne.

What would you do?
You'r trying too hard Adam.

The_Shield

What would you do?
How can you buy Olam if he’s already contracted to the Storm? I very much doubt the Storm would release him to join the Roosters

RazorRam0n

If anything it’s the Titans that should be compensated and looking for some value. Over 1 million free on the books for a player playing about 400k is a good opportunity. Parra will have someone as an odd one out. Ask for French or Norman as compensation even since the spine will be full.

They can have Hoffman back