Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Billy Slater on field bullying. A low act

RugbyHighlights

Yes i have seen and known people that use depression as an excuse to feel sorry for themselves and in the end they know its not worth all the worry cause its a mental thing not a medical thing.
And it is being selfish if you want to kill yourself and not even think what it would do to your family.
Excuse excuse excuse to escape from reality is all depression is.Those do gooders these days are just too soft to tell it how it is

That's nice, but I severely doubt you've seen the effects of clinical depression yourself.

You show your stupidity when you make a distinction between mental issues and 'medical thing', as you put it.

And nobody is debating that killing yourself is selfish. But that really isn't relevant.

The ad-hominem attacks from those in support of Slater show how empty their arguments are.

simostorm

Well you see, It's a long process for some, however short for me. I eliminate by constantly bagging, irritating and being a simple "Pest".

I have eliminated Big Mich (Penrith Forum) , murraymob (Penrith Forum) , Tonearmterrowrist (Numerous Forums) , NK Arsenal (numerous Forums). Once I am in the process of fighting with these members. After a reply is not proving within a week. I have defeated them as they are unable to think of anything else.

Other honourable mentions. In 2009 I succesfully had myself banned from every forum (excluding penrith) on this site. I am very proud. My Infractions consists of a large number and heavy loss of points. And also my ability to be banned from The Dragons, Roosters and Broncos forum in 1 night after my memorable "PB Rant" which occured a late Friday night of 2009.

"I am the greatest poster on this forum. Bow down to me and kiss my feet" - mt albert lions

One of very few on this forum (but is now banned) to have a clue.

PB Out.

I dont see how elimanting ppl from forums is a good thing?

That probally just means your a 100 times bigger grub then you beleive Slater is.. lol..

RugbyHighlights

Guess what you deluded simpleton? I ate your mums cookie last night. Now get lost before I begin yet another rant that will leave you with weekly therapy sessions and nightmares.

Lol you really rate your little internet-persona don't you. You're just a little boy. A noob.

Give me your email big man; I'll have the some real internet hombres face-f**k your life. What you say?

You think anything you do or say could do more than humour me? :lol:

RugbyHighlights

Guess what you deluded simpleton? I ate your mums cookie last night. Now get lost before I begin yet another rant that will leave you with weekly therapy sessions and nightmares.

Lol you really rate your little internet-persona don't you. You're just a little boy. A noob.

Give me your email big man; I'll have the some real internet hombres face-f**k your life. What you say?

You think anything you do or say could do more than humour me? :lol:

aqua_duck

Good to see so many classy people having a good laugh about a serious health issue. BTW Dazraider, I see you've gone ahead and disproved years of scientific research by some of the most brilliant minds in the scientific field based on your own 'findings'. What's next for you, denying that Schizophrenia actually exists?

BTW I don't have a problem with Billy Slater, maybe said the wrong thing but at the end of the day I don't think he's a grub. I'm more disappointed with some of the ill-informed, simple minded bogans on here

The media has really wasted our time on this.

Deadset, that's such a generic insult, I thought Slater said something far far worse to upset Paterson.

More rubbish...the media has wasted our time? Why is there a 15-page thread on it then? Seems like everyone's done a fine job wasting their own time in that case. It's obviously deemed important enough to gather such reaction to it.

That's the thing I find hilarious - everyone blames the media as this scumbag existence (which sometimes it is) yet you'll always find similar views, if not worse, in here.

Evenflow

Finally, sanity prevails and the whole incident is put into a bit of perspective from Joey Johns. I'm of the opinion that Slater shouldn't have said it but FFS the way some of you are carrying on in here is nothing short of ridiculous and way over the top. Read the last few sentences because it really sums it up perfectly, people really need to just get the f**k over it because carrying on about it still 3 or 4 days after the fact is just making you look really stupid now. You've made your point. Now move on.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...way-over-the-top/story-e6frexnr-1225844496665

Cory Paterson and Billy Slater sledge row reaction way over the top

FOUR days after the event, I can't believe we are still talking about the sledging incident involving Cory Paterson and Billy Slater.
I'm sorry if this column offends some people, but I think the whole thing is just another example of political correctness gone mad. Of people jumping on a band-wagon and blowing an incident totally out of proportion to the point where I've been shaking my head in disbelief at the reaction.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not sticking up for Billy Slater here. He was guilty of crossing the line on Saturday night in having a crack at Paterson after the Knights forward went public about his battle with depression. It was a heat-of-the-moment sledge that, no matter how innocuous the comment may seem, should not have been said because the implication was there. "Pato" reacted in the heat of battle as well and clearly made his feelings known to Billy on the field. But the two players shook hands after the game and that's where the whole thing should have ended.

Instead, we've had this massive over-reaction with the do-gooders coming out of the woodwork to have their say and condemn the Melbourne fullback. That's resulted in the ridiculous situation where Slater has felt the need to have to apologise three days in a row just to end the firestorm.

Now before anyone jumps down my throat, calling me insensitive and out of touch, I reckon I'm in a better position than most to comment. I have a pretty good understanding of what "Pato" has been through in relation to depression because I've been through it myself. It's a nasty illness. The battle to control it is a constant one and while there may have been a stigma associated with it in the past, the message about depression and its debilitating effects is out there and getting through to a lot of people. It is now understood a whole lot more than it used to be, which is a good thing.

But let's not get carried away either. Who hasn't been in a heated argument with someone and let slip with something they've later regretted? I know I'm guilty.I said some pretty ordinary things to rival players out on the field at times during my career when I was worked up during a game. The odd touchy copped a decent spray as well.I've also had some pretty ordinary things said back to me. It can happen, but as long as it's not racial or too personally offensive, should we be making a big song and dance about it?I don't think so. Particularly not when the players themselves aren't.

To his credit, Paterson was quizzed about the incident after the game and didn't want a big deal made of it because he felt it was all over and done with.

Pity others didn't take his lead.

macavity

And Paterson still had a cry over it.

Being so certain of yourself, you will have no problem pointing to where he had a sook. Pato had a problem with what Slater said, he told him in game, he accepted an apology after the game, and he moved on.

Seems it is only morons like you that are having a cry.

Fibroman

I though league was a tough man's game. It's quicly getting turned into a girl's game with a bunch of pretty boys and cry baby's. Makes me physically sick. Get me a bucket FFS.

Garts

Joey is on the money. Whilst what Billy said was low but sh!t happens in the heat of the moment. Patterson should have put one on his chin when he said it, shook hands at the end of the game and left it there.

Johns Magic

Joey is on the money. Whilst what Billy said was low but sh!t happens in the heat of the moment. Patterson should have put one on his chin when he said it, shook hands at the end of the game and left it there.

But instead he got held back and then shook hands at the end of the game and left it there.

Amazing that others can't see this.

Evenflow

More rubbish...the media has wasted our time? Why is there a 15-page thread on it then?

Because it's full of people like you continually bitching and moaning like little girls with their holier than thou, know it all attitudes who can't and/or won't just get the f**k over it?

That's my theory to your question anyway.....

drake

FMD there is a bunch of keyboard heroes on here.

What does Depression feel like? Ever had something really bad happen; a bad breakup, lost a great job, a friend betray you or a death in the family?

That's how you feel every morning when you wake up with clinical depression. It's not feeling down in the dumps or a bit blue. That's vanilla life, your baseline.

You can be having a good time with mates, laughing at sh*t, but it's still there. Eating away at you. And if you have been having a good time, the crash after the laughs go away is comparable to a comedown from coke.

Until I got off my arse and went to see a doctor, I just thought I was a sub standard human; I thought I wasn't worthy of any friendship, affection or basic human rights. I didn't realise something was f**ked up in my brain physically and chemically. People telling me to harden up or get over it, any of the offhand bullsh*t people say when they don't have a clue, made me want to either kill them, kill myself, or both.

The only thing that kept me getting up everyday was my children; if I wasn't a father with responsibilities, I'm not sure where I'd be today.

Sticks and Stones and all that? Depends who you are talking to. What Slater said wouldn't affect me personally, but I'd belt the turd (even if he'd kick my arse) for being a total wanker.

This is just my personal experience, and I fully expect morons to pay me out; good luck motherf**kers, I've taken back control of my life and the black dog is whimpering in the corner of my mind. I've learned to control a potentially fatal mental disease, through two divorces, the death of my best friend and only seeing my kids once a fortnight.

Could be worse though, I could be making excuses for an ex-jockey coward that stomps on a prone man's face and then hides behind his mates, or belts a guy being held by several other players.

petetheileet

I dont know if im more sick of hearing about this, or more sick of hearing about how great Hayne is.

FFS!!!

The Dodger

What does Depression feel like? Ever had something really bad happen; a bad breakup, lost a great job, a friend betray you or a death in the family?

That's how you feel every morning when you wake up with clinical depression. It's not feeling down in the dumps or a bit blue. That's vanilla life, your baseline.

You can be having a good time with mates, laughing at sh*t, but it's still there. Eating away at you. And if you have been having a good time, the crash after the laughs go away is comparable to a comedown from coke.

Until I got off my arse and went to see a doctor, I just thought I was a sub standard human; I thought I wasn't worthy of any friendship, affection or basic human rights. I didn't realise something was f**ked up in my brain physically and chemically. People telling me to harden up or get over it, any of the offhand bullsh*t people say when they don't have a clue, made me want to either kill them, kill myself, or both.

The only thing that kept me getting up everyday was my children; if I wasn't a father with responsibilities, I'm not sure where I'd be today.

Sticks and Stones and all that? Depends who you are talking to. What Slater said wouldn't affect me personally, but I'd belt the turd (even if he'd kick my arse) for being a total wanker.

This is just my personal experience, and I fully expect morons to pay me out; good luck motherf**kers, I've taken back control of my life and the black dog is whimpering in the corner of my mind. I've learned to control a potentially fatal mental disease, through two divorces, the death of my best friend and only seeing my kids once a fortnight.

Could be worse though, I could be making excuses for an ex-jockey coward that stomps on a prone man's face and then hides behind his mates, or belts a guy being held by several other players.

well said drake.

some things i just never knew...

and don't get me started on joey johns.

making it out like he can comment because he has suffered from depression too.

that farkwit wouldn't have confessed to nothing if he didn't get caught with pills in his pocket.

and then he tries to use the depression card.

lolz

macavity

:thumn

top post.

Shorty

Reading what Billy said, it's been blown completely out of proportion.

But yes there are some morons with ignorant, ignorant opinions on depression, thank you Drake for speaking about it.