Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why little mention of the CQ NRL bid?

Should the NRL introduce two new teams

It was recently announced that Parra is the 4th biggest CBD in Australia when they annouced the reason for resurrecting the Epping rail link. I have no idea how they measure these things - but it wouldn't involve google earth. I recall a similar claim about North Sydney a few years earlier. .

there not even close, take a walk around both and come back when you've seen them! in 2004 Perth CBD had 25% more m2 office space than either NSydney or Parra and Perth CBD has absolutely boomed with the mining boom since then with at least 10 new skyscrapers up or going up.
http://www.northsydney.nsw.gov.au/resources/documents/NorthSydney_DemandStudy.pdf

Wow. So a team in Perth would make a sh*tload of differentce to Port Headland? Rubbish.
Actually we have a league comp up in the North of the state as well and a new team in the WARL representing the SW of WA. With our own team the whole profie of RL will raise once again and this will have knock on effects throught the state not just in the city, hence why we are called WA REDS!

How do you get 2.2 million people benefitting when Perth has only 1.6 million ffs????
WA Reds see above

Anyway - your plan only satisfies a notion ffs - Notions do not buy tickets mate. People do. And if you have an area that can average 15-17k why worry about the postcode?
no reason what so ever why a succesfully run Adelaide NRL team couldn't be drawing 15-17k a game, they did in the past. Difference is with a large untapped population there is also a good chance that they will add more to the TV audience than yet another NSW team.

docbrown

Just regarding the Airfares.. first budget airline Virgin Blue wasnt introduced until 2000.

Reds had to pay for all visiting teams airfares also. Which is a joke.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WA_Reds

Yep the agreement was a joke and the prices back then were much more expensive than today's. If they didn't have the pay the airline fees, they wouldn't have been in debt at all, they actually made money on the games at WACA.

Schiltzenberger

Where do I start with this rubbish.

Firstly, why try and convince me that Tassi would be a great spot for an AFL side when AFL don't even think so ffs?
I'm not trying to convince you of anything, you asked for an AFL heartland with 400k+ population.
I gave an answer, how is that trying to convince you of anything? It'd be hard to convince you of anything as you seem to have trouble understanding a simple answer to your own question.

Secondly, what's with this assumption that all Sydney clubs are struggling because Cronulla is, and than all non Sydney teams are thriving because Brisbane is? Do you actually believe that?
Again I never said all Sydney clubs were struggling, you like to make crap up for your own agenda. Likewise with the Brisbane comment, I have said that Newcastle have struggled for years financially, to show that having CC in a RL heartland doesn't mean success. So yet again you are making crap up to suit your argument.

And if Adelaide was League potential then Cronulla's games would not have struggled to get 8k in perfect conditions, when Perth got 13 in abysmal conditions?????
Adelaide averaged 15k in their 1st year, more than Perth did. They averaged 8k in the year that everyone knew they were going to get cut.
8k is only a few k off what they'd get at home in one of your heartlands.

FFS - put at tam in Iceland - that's growing the game - potential - whatever other buzzword you can throw at it. Trouble is, money comes from reality. The reality is that the Bears bid will work because the market is there. Adelaide is pure fantasy.
Again, the market is there for Newcastle and Cronulla, and it was there for Wollongong. Having the market doesn't equate to success, especially when there isn't enough money to go around because the market is already flooded.

And whoever said we have to ge "Australia" right - no mate, we have to get RUGBY LEAGUE right - and Wellington may be a big part in that.
Yeah forget about fixing Australia's clubs that are struggling, forget trying to get a foothold in any of the AFL cities because it's too hard. Lets just throw in another team from NZ, it doesn't matter that it's a RU heartland which would be just as hard or harder to crack than an AFL city. So much for your putting clubs in a RL market argument, hypocrite.

Too many of you lot think like AFL - "The code will die unless we have a team in each capital so we can say we are national" Well, we can say we are all the tooth fairy too. I'd rather be international, as our comp is. F*ck ticking a box on a marketers checklist. Better to be profitable - something you morons obviously forgot.
I don't think RL will die.
The bolded part shows how stupid you are.
If you want to be more profitable you need to add Perth and Adelaide so we get a bigger TV deal. To increase TV revenue you need to add new territories and not just keep throwing teams into areas already covered, either with teams or TV exposure. CC and another Qld team will not get us more money in a TV deal.

Also, thinking like the AFL wouldn't be too bad, they bring in a lot more money than the NRL. That's too hard to understand for some people though.

A state? Not a single population you twit.
You asked for 400k+ AFL heartland, Tassie is AFL heartland.
By your reckoning the AFL would've been better putting team there, in a market already owned, rather than Brisbane and Sydney, RL markets.

Rubbish. Parramatta and North Sydney CBD's are bigger than Perth and Adelaide.
Well Parramatta already has a team and North Sydney had one too but the Bears wanted to move from there, so those markets aren't competing with either Perth or Adelaide.

Moreso if the CC was admitted in an 18 team comp.
So you think adding CC would give more TV revenue than adding Adelaide.:lol:

How good was the corporate support in Adelaide during SL? When Rupert pulled the plug, the club lasted exactly 2 minutes - that's how long it took for the vote to wind the club up.
Melbourne are still being propped up too. However having a Melbourne team means a higher TV deal than if they weren't there, the same would apply for Adelaide.

People get obsessed with what "national" means. Corporates know people buy stuff - not points on a map. No corporate used a footy jumper to break into a new market - that's what TV and Radio is for.
Really?
If it weren't for Adelaide teams in national leagues like AFL, NBL, A-League etc. I for one would have no idea about Pura Milk or Clipsal. Those 2 companies did exactly the opposite of what you said, they threw money at and sponsored nearly all SA teams.
Sure their products are in other states now but they used sports teams/competitions to get their brands recognised before they became common place in other states stores.

Even discussion Parra relocating is f*cking rediculous - it not under threat at all.
Again you show how poor you are at reading and comprehension, I never said they were under threat. I made a simple statement that I'd rather them merge or relocate instead of being cut, if that ever was going to happen.

That's not national. That's dots on a map. That's AFL's mental attitude. That ignores regional Australia - which is where League has a massive market advantage. But you can pull your dick as much as AFL does.

I'd rather League thriving by having clubs in heartland area than by worrying about masturbating like AFL plonkers. Adelaide is even behind Rocky as a viable location.
Those dots on the map make AFL more money than the NRL makes by having a cluster of dots in RL heartland. Making more money is 'mental' though.
Regional Victoria, regional SA, regional WA, regional NT and regional Tasmania all seem to be very interested in AFL despite not having teams.

Smiley

Full steam ahead for partnership

QR NATIONAL and the CQ NRL Bid team’s new partnership is a marriage made in heaven, say Lance Hockridge and Geoff Murphy.

The pair yesterday announced QR National was lined up to become the principal sponsor of any future CQ NRL team.

While negotiations for the sponsorship will start after the float of QR National later this year, it is understood the arrangement will deliver a seven-figure-plus deal for the bid team once it gets its NRL licence.

QR National will become a top-50 company on Australia's stock exchange after the float and members of the bid team are delighted to have such a powerful partner on board.

Part of the deal will incorporate shirt sponsorship.

QR limited has wound up its long partnership with the Queensland Reds rugby union club.

Mr Hockridge, QR National's CEO and managing director, said with many QR National workers living in Central Queensland the bid provided a great opportunity for the company to support a team workers could call their own.

“More than 4000 of our 9000 employees nationwide work in this catchment in our coal, freight and network service businesses,” Mr Hockridge said.

“The team will potentially represent one of the biggest geographic areas in any sporting competition in Australia, stretching from Bundaberg in the south, north to Mackay and west to the border.

“This area is rugby league heartland and it is also QR National heartland.”
QR National approached the bid team about four months ago to discuss a partnership.

Mr Murphy, chairman of the CQ push, said the deal took the bid to the next level.

He described yesterday's announcement as one of the region's most exciting days.

With NRL boss David Gallop expected to come for a tour of CQ in November, the announcement couldn't be better timed.

Chief executive Denis Keeffe said it was “a massive” step in the right direction.

“I don't know of any other NRL team with a sponsor that can say they have a company like QR National behind them,” Mr Keeffe said.

Earlier this year the Brisbane Broncos announced a multi-million dollar three-year deal with NRMA.

Big bid

April, 2009: Bid leader Geoff Murphy launches the CQ NRL Bid in Rockhampton.

March, 2010: Queensland Premier Anna Bligh says the NRL would be mad to grant a licence anywhere other than CQ.

April, 2010: Then Prime Minister Kevin Rudd declares himself number one petitioner and promises to attend CQ’s first home game should it be granted a licence.

April, 2010: Denis Keeffe and Geoff Murphy meet with David Gallop in Sydney. Gallop commits to a tour of CQ.

June, 2010: Anna Bligh promises her government would build a 25,000 seat stadium in Rockhampton if the CQ NRL Bid gets the okay from the NRL.

link

Goddo

Its a really well put together bid. But it will fail simply because there aren't enough people there (Rocky 61k...). CQ Bid should come back in 20 years time when Rocky is bigger.

I mean, say they build a 27k stadium there (the NRL standard these days for newer clubs), it will take almost half the population of Rocky to fill it.

Sure there will be travelling fans like the Cowboys, but not enough. And it will canabilise the support of the Cowboys in Mackay where there will be overlap between the two sides.

I wish this bids set up and sponsorships could be transplanted to Ipswich. That would be an unbeatable bid.

Smiley

Talking about Mackay, finally their stadium is under construction. The government has also invested more money into installing NRL standard lighting so it could easily host a premiership game for the cowboys in the future.

Paullyboy

I was just reading this article about how Queensland Rail have decided against renewing their sponsorship with the Queensland Reds in the Super Rugby. And came across a surprising great bit of news from with it:

A "FOR sale" sign has been slapped on the Reds, with Super Rugby's biggest improvers hunting a new naming rights backer to fill a multimillion-dollar sponsorship void.

The five-year $6.6 million major sponsorship from Queensland Rail has not been extended, which pitches the Queensland Rugby Union into a tight three-month search to nail down a new one.

The news has been anticipated for months so the cash-strapped QRU is as prepared as it can be to go to the market this month to hook a new major sponsor.

"Ours has been a successful partnership, but we recognise that the landscape has changed with the restructuring of QR's business," QRU chief executive Jim Carmichael said.

The recent split of QR into the government-owned Queensland Rail and rail freight company QR National, which will be floated to the public later this year, has changed priorities.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/#sidebar-start

"The QR-Reds agreement was right for its time but as a new national freight transport company, QR National has decided to investigate the opportunity of sponsoring a Central Queensland-based team in the National Rugby League competition," a QR national spokesman said yesterday.

More than 4000 of QR National's 7000 Queensland employees live and work in the catchment area of the proposed Rockhampton-based NRL team.
QR National chief executive Lance Hockridge's comment last week that Central Queensland is "rugby league heartland and QR National heartland" is a clear pointer that Suncorp Stadium no longer is.

The supreme irony is that QR came on board in 2005 to drive a "new team, new beginning" creed for the full-time move to Suncorp Stadium, yet it has taken until 2010 for it to actually happen.

Now, the sponsor is jumping off a moving train, so to speak, because the Reds finally clicked with the razzle-dazzle of 43 tries and their best finish (fifth) since 2002.

"The performance of the Reds in 2010 combined with new opportunities for the game in 2011 has attracted significant interest," Carmichael said.
"Absolutely, I expect we will have a new major sponsor signed by the end of the year.

"This is a watershed time to secure rugby's future in Queensland, and I believe we have the strong brand to do it."

St George Bank, with its red-and-white livery a perfect fit, came on board with the Reds in 2010 as a backer and are one candidate to upgrade to major sponsor.

The QR deal of 2005 was always considered a State Government-orchestrated sweetener to get the Reds from Ballymore to Suncorp.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...rail-not-renewed/story-e6frepm6-1225924221048

This is a massive company, and they have essentially funded the Reds for 5 years. This could be huge, they wouldn't have pulled out of the Reds if they weren't given some sort of news that a team in Central QLD is a done deal I reckon.

macavity

The QR deal of 2005 was always considered a State Government-orchestrated sweetener to get the Reds from Ballymore to Suncorp.

It isn't common knowledge, but the Knights actually had QR over the line as major sponsor in 2005 (when we were sponsorless, betweek Qantaslink and C&A) - and the QLD Govt. interfered at the 11th hour and made them sponsor the Reds instead.

Paullyboy

QR and the Knights seems like a very strange connection, I can't understand how that was ever on the cards (not saying I don't believe you, just surprised)

meltiger

^ yeah I was thinking the same thing

Mac, what would QR have gained out of sponsoring Newcastle?

gUt

QR wants to position itself as the premier mover of coal in this country. Newcastle is carved from gigantic blocks of coal, the people there eat it etc. Perfect fit.

Alex28

There are QR trains running around rural NSW all the time. Don't be fooled that they are just a QLD company.

But I think using the Central QLD bid as a reason to get out of sponsoring the Reds is a very cheap way of cost cutting. They look like the good guys getting behind something that is always doomed to fail. Costs them very little to be involved, no ongoing costs, no more Union sponsorship.

Easy!

Alex28

The ships go straight to the mines? They are going to have quite the battle getting the ships out to Mudgee...

Highway1

Bring them in as Logan Scorpions? remember them? Pretty cool name.

You could bring in the logan scorpians but then its a god chance they'll get swallowed like in 2002 by souths magpies

Absolutely +1.

The team must be named "Brisbane" or "South QLD" only.

To call the team Ipswich or Redcliffe alienates anyone else in the greater Brisbane area from supporting them.

Dude calling the team brisbane is just as worse in regards to alienating people from non-brisbane cities like Redcliffe and Ipswich

What's wrong with the Sunshine Coast getting a team? SC Dolphins anyone?

The infrastructure is not there, plus its not high in the wish list right now.

Jets, Dolphins or Giants would be worth a shout.

Or Packers to make use of the green aand yellow colours of Ipswich

For the second brisbane team I'd go with the name Brisbane Jets. I wouldn't call them Ipswich because it somewhat limits the appeal for someone not living in Ipswich. Either "Brisbane" or "South Queensland" for the name. Have them play in traditional Jets colours (Dark Green) and play all games out of Suncorp.

I don't using a name of a previous premiership team is the way to go, the "jets" will always be tied with newtown. Need a nickname that is synonymous with Ipswich not both Ipswich and newtown.

Highway1

Great. Now Queenslanders are copying seppos ffs!

The Jets were blue, not green. Canberra is Green. Randwick are green. Newtown was definitely blue.

If you didn't realise, green and yellow are the colours of City of Ipswich council just like blue and gold is for the gold coast, no copying there just unfortunate similarities.

I would be trying to make a significant distinction between a new QLD Club and the Broncos

Name: South Queensland Dolphins (but administratively and largely training wise based out of Springfield) Try to Get a wider geographic base together. Get Ipswich Jets/Logan City and Redcliffe to back it. (you could also go for something pretty Australian like "Diggers" but would have to work out something with RSL etc)

Ground: 8 Marquee games (titans/Broncos/Cowboys etc which could all going close to selling out) out of suncorp with some key 'minor games' at smaller venues (so long as capacity is brought up over 15 000) eg. Dolphin Oval, Stockland Park (quad park), Toowoomba (CB Park) etc.

I think this would guarantee big crowds at the 'marquee games', capacity at smaller venues whilst connecting with a wider supporter base. They could truly become a South Queensland team. In playing at a wider variety of venues they could also seek specific support from local councils/businesses that otherwise would like not connect with them.

Membership I would also suggest a hybrid community/corporate ownership model of local sporting teams/general people and corporate interest.

Such would also contrast with the sole corporate ownership model of the Broncos.

"SQ Diggers" the peoples team :)

I don't understand the name and ground logic of yours; saying redcliffe dolphins team based in ipswich territory and playing in Suncorp; is like saying a Brisbane team being based in Melbourne and playing in Sydney and sometimes Canberra. How can you gain local support form that?

keep it simple simon, there's no need to have multiple homes when there is an underutilised stadium in Brisbane.

Adelaide is obsessed with AFL now almost like Victoria.. you talk to the ppl there and they dont even know what Rugby League is..

We'll give Adelaide a nrl rugby league match and tell them that RL is the real proper Rugby!

The match would probably be between a Sydney home team and the Melbourne Storm as away team to satisfy SA's appetite to give hell to Victorians)

Highway1

QR and the Knights seems like a very strange connection, I can't understand how that was ever on the cards (not saying I don't believe you, just surprised)

QR has an arm called QR national which known for carrying coal and Newcastle is known for its huge coal deposits. Make sense?

In saying QR no longer owns QR national

Better relations with coal and freight businesses based in Newcastle.