Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'15 | Origin 1 | Wed 27 May | NSW 10-11 QLD | ANZ

Origin I: NSW v QLD

Hopefully bmoz and Gallen fit for game 2. Our left hand edge defense was bloody terrible. Sad because that is a club combination. Jennings fell off too many tackles and tupou coming off his wing when he should have stayed back. I think our forwards done a great job in particular woods and tamou. Klemmer was great off the bench as well. A lot of our problems started with almost every fkn kick down field going straight down the throat of slater. Qld started most sets on the 30-40m line after a big run off the kick return and got a roll on. It seemed like we had a really big 10m as well which wasn't the same for qld. The ruck was very poorly policed IMO. We threw the ball to Pearce too much on the last. It wasn't his worst game for us but we needed Hodko to take more kicks, he is better at finding the ground. And that last 10 mins was a debacle! 7 mins to go and pearce wasn't even standing back on the last for a field goal, so had to pass to Hodko 2 off the ruck when the defense was on him. Worst possible outcome was kicking it dead which jennings did. Hodko missing touch was unforgivable, but I thought he was very good in defense as well as our right edge, which I guess is expected with Morris these days. I don't know if you change the halves... I could go j.reynolds/Hodko or j.reynolds/pearce (we need a better running game as well to mix things up a bit, but if we keep the same halves I'm sure they will learn from game 1. Lewis to come back in as well plz, Cordner was useless. We need a bit of experience around the younger guys

Tupou had an ordinary game, no doubt about it. His form at club level has been scratchy to say the least this year. His only really good games were in the couple of weeks leading up to Origin selection.

Daley said at the post match press conference he plans to stick with a halves combination of Pearce and Hodgkinson. NSW won't go with one of Pearce and Reynolds as that would leave the team without a recognised goal kicker.

Cordner had an ordinary game. Thing is after all the talk of club combinations where did Daley play him? On the right hand edge. Cordner plays for the Roosters on the left hand edge inside of Maloney. Putting him on the right was not a wise move.

Whilst he did some great work defensively, I have question marks against Robbie Farah's playmaking decisions. For about the 3rd series in a row he looked like he kept running plays that neither of his halves knew were coming and played for himself in attack. I mean how many of his runs ended in Farah dying with the ball or throwing high pressure passes? Case in point the shocker of a pass he threw early in the second half at Pearce's toes. I often wonder if Daley needs to put a rocket up his butt ala Phil Gould with Benny Elias.

ouwet

Josh Morris is only in the NSW team because of his proven defence on Inglis over the years, he offers nothing in attack.

He's easily the best defensive centre in the game!
In attack of course he did nothing (Besides outpace Boyd for a try), NSW never went down that side in attack for some stupid reason.
Jennings and Daniel T were terrible in defence and attack! Bring in B Morris next game!

GongPanther

To be perfectly honest,it was what it was and it was an ordinary game,hardly the spectacle most people were expecting.

Qld were far the better side overall with N.S.W. finding themselves all at sea for certain periods of the game.

Some combinations for N.S.W. simply did nothing for the cause and in some cases,there are players representing this N.S.W. side that are in there as deal breakers with certain clubs,and now they are getting exposed for the frauds that they are.

They really need to sit down and select a side that is not picked by the vocal media,not on who they play for as a package incentive for signing up,and by other outside pressures.

Last nights performance was worse than the loss for a side supposedly so full of the best that our state can draw from.

At times this performance was bordering on embarrassing.Jennings is far to small a player for a centre to be playing SOO.Tupou,you can draw a line through that idiots name as well as Hopoate's.

And Farrah?...please bring back Ennis.

There are players that are simply not origin material.

God knows where super-coach Daley is going to get them from.

Canard

To be perfectly honest,it was what it was and it was an ordinary game,hardly the spectacle most people were expecting.

Qld were far the better side overall with N.S.W. finding themselves all at sea for certain periods of the game.

Some combinations for N.S.W. simply did nothing for the cause and in some cases,there are players representing this N.S.W. side that are in there as deal breakers with certain clubs,and now they are getting exposed for the frauds that they are.

They really need to sit down and select a side that is not picked by the vocal media,not on who they play for as a package incentive for signing up,and by other outside pressures.

Last nights performance was worse than the loss for a side supposedly so full of the best that our state can draw from.

At times this performance was bordering on embarrassing.Jennings is far to small a player for a centre to be playing SOO.Tupou,you can draw a line through that idiots name as well as Hopoate's.

And Farrah?...please bring back Ennis.

There are players that are simply not origin material.

God knows where super-coach Daley is going to get them from.

The biggest thing I took from this post was that you took the time to type the periods in N.S.W.

That is some serious dedication.

Jason Maher

You were going well until you mentioned Ennis. Tossing a young bloke like Lichaa in the fire would be a better option than returning to the fraud that is Michael Ennis.

GongPanther

The biggest thing I took from this post was that you took the time to type the periods in N.S.W.

That is some serious dedication.

Why thank-you Canard...that made my day.

Now I'm going to run through the woods and pick some flowers and give them a big sniff and think of you and your kind thoughts.:lol:

Lambretta

How well did Gerard Sutton play for Queensland?
MOM by a flamin' mile

While I'm on the subject of blaming other people for our own failures.... f**k you Adam Reynolds for being injured you selfish wanker. You're the best half NSW has by a country mile and you couldn't even bother being fit.

Oh and f**k you Jarryd Hayne for having a stupidly spelt name and deserting NSW when we needed you. You're never going to make it in the NFL, so stop wasting your time and get your arse back here for game 2.

Lambretta

Why thank-you Canard...that made my day.

Now I'm going to run through the woods and pick some flowers and give them a big sniff and think of you and your kind thoughts.:lol:

For suggesting Ennis, I reckon you picked a bunch of mushrooms last time you did that.

Ron's_Mate

I like how the players shook hands after the game and put the niggle behind them, while half a dozen mongos on this forum are still bickering with each other. Get a life.

Canard

I like how the players shook hands after the game and put the niggle behind them, while half a dozen mongos on this forum are still bickering with each other. Get a life.

The only people that would us that term are Union trolls.

With due respect, piss off you Rah Rah toff.

Canard

How well did Gerard Sutton play for Queensland?
MOM by a flamin' mile

While I'm on the subject of blaming other people for our own failures.... f**k you Adam Reynolds for being injured you selfish wanker. You're the best half NSW has by a country mile and you couldn't even bother being fit.

Oh and f**k you Jarryd Hayne for having a stupidly spelt name and deserting NSW when we needed you. You're never going to make it in the NFL, so stop wasting your time and get your arse back here for game 2.

Best post of the thread so far.

Kiwi

Hopefully bmoz and Gallen fit for game 2. Our left hand edge defense was bloody terrible. Sad because that is a club combination. Jennings fell off too many tackles and tupou coming off his wing when he should have stayed back. I think our forwards done a great job in particular woods and tamou. Klemmer was great off the bench as well. A lot of our problems started with almost every fkn kick down field going straight down the throat of slater. Qld started most sets on the 30-40m line after a big run off the kick return and got a roll on. It seemed like we had a really big 10m as well which wasn't the same for qld. The ruck was very poorly policed IMO. We threw the ball to Pearce too much on the last. It wasn't his worst game for us but we needed Hodko to take more kicks, he is better at finding the ground. And that last 10 mins was a debacle! 7 mins to go and pearce wasn't even standing back on the last for a field goal, so had to pass to Hodko 2 off the ruck when the defense was on him. Worst possible outcome was kicking it dead which jennings did. Hodko missing touch was unforgivable, but I thought he was very good in defense as well as our right edge, which I guess is expected with Morris these days. I don't know if you change the halves... I could go j.reynolds/Hodko or j.reynolds/pearce (we need a better running game as well to mix things up a bit, but if we keep the same halves I'm sure they will learn from game 1. Lewis to come back in as well plz, Cordner was useless. We need a bit of experience around the younger guys

Both teams were policed fairly last night when it came to the 10m. Neither side were getting back the 10, when QLD were on the attack NSW were either lightening fast or offside because a lot of the time they were on the first receiver as he caught the ball when QLD were inside the blues 20.

No mention of the Slater fair try being disallowed, the Blues player had his arms out deliberately trying to hold Slater back, Slater barely touches him with his hands and he dives for the penalty. The Fafita dropping to the ground for a penalty without a hand on him was a personal favourite, so was Woods getting legally smashed for the penalty, was just waiting for Hodges to get pinged for smashing Farrah. Yeah the refs were against NSW :roll: