Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Wb1234

Yep, Bellamy is an amzazing coach but just one of the many cogs of an extremely well oiled machine
Let’s see how Jason ryles fits in that machine

if it was Billy slater then sure he’s a gun

lots of clubs in the past have had long runs of success then fallen in a heap

storm have the most successful nrl coach ever that’s a big part of it

Pneuma

They`re a club that is run really, really well and it`s hard to see them ever not being a top 8 side for more than a couple of years at any one time. That strength should be enough to see them through a couple of lean years if that occurs.
Also their strength in the board room is only going to be reinforced now as well by what appears to be the take-off of the game in Victoria participation wise.
Wasting your time mate. I blocked this bloke because of his endless anti storm rubbish and I’m a bloody sharks supporter

The Great Dane

The more I think about it, the more I'm convinced that if we *have* to bring back the Bears, Adelaide is the answer.

Perth has it's own bid identity with the Pirates brand, NZ 2 has ample options for a fresh & exciting home grown brand, Brisbane & Queensland have the likes of Tigers & Jets (maybe even more) that want to be promoted and they'll never accept a Sydney brand.. but Adelaide might just be the best fit.
Okay, but nothing says that we have to bring the Bears back…

Adelaide doesn’t need the Bears anymore than Perth does, and is in a better position to support a club today than Melbourne was before it got the Storm. If anything adding the Bears into the mix would just complicate things, especially considering the attitudes of the Bears current administration.

The NRL could announce an Adelaide side was kicking off next season and they’d be fine so long as good people are involved.

A well run Adelaide side would easily grow to be one of the bigger sides in the league within 10-20 years with it’s population, corporate base, and being a one town team.

flippikat

Okay, but nothing says that we have to bring the Bears back…

Adelaide doesn’t need the Bears anymore than Perth does, and is in a better position to support a club today than Melbourne was before it got the Storm. If anything adding the Bears into the mix would just complicate things, especially considering the attitudes of the Bears current administration.

The NRL could announce an Adelaide side was kicking off next season and they’d be fine so long as good people are involved.

A well run Adelaide side would easily grow to be one of the bigger sides in the league within 10-20 years with it’s population, corporate base, and being a one town team.
As I qualified my original comment, if we *have* to bring the Bears back.

I remain unconvinced that's necessarily the case - and in fact, I've grown increasingly inclined to believe it's NOT required - and in fact would cause more headaches than problems it'd (supposedly) solve.

The ideal for Adelaide would be
1. Decide you care about growing the game in SA
2. Properly fund NRLSA
3. Get regular 2-3 NRL games there over the next 5 years
4. Get the game on main channel FTA in SA
5. Announce a plan to admit an NRL club in 3 years time from point of announcement
6. Call for tenders

If Bears want to tender alongside against any interested SA consortiums/owners thats up to them.

ground zero

I swear that when the Dragons an Steelers became a j/v there were clauses put in place that no new teams were allowed. An thats why they became 1 team. North Sydney thinks they should be a stand alone team. Huh.

this still doesn't even consistently happen in Victoria lol

nein dont give 3 flying shits about NRL expansion and growth
Itd be nice to think in the next tv deal NRL insists on main channel covg nationally from whoever wins the rights! Its a major issue holding the games growth back imo.

With the NRL looking to expand to 20 teams by 2032, a 2nd Victorian team ticks a lot of boxes compared to other major cities i.e. travel costs, distance, logistics etc. What the AFL has done right when it comes interstate teams is build cross-city derbies with 2 teams in every state. West Coast v Freo. Port v Adelaide. GWS v Swans. If you award the 18th license to a 2nd Victorian franchise, not only do you create that Melbourne derby but you also allow up to 8-9 years for cities like Perth, Wellington etc to continue to build their foundations at grassroots and commerical levels for their respective NRL franchises.

Comparing Western Melbourne to Wellington for example, the market size is a major contrast with Western Melbourne holding 1.1-1.5 million in population (if you include Geelong and Ballarat) where as Wellington is a city of 212,000. You also add into account travel distance, financial backing, etc and you can see why the NRL is considering Victoria as an option. Then take into consideration the new multimillion dollar sporting, business and entertainment precinct being built in Melbourne's West (Tarneit) with a 15,000-capacity stadium.

By 2032, I think Perth & a 2nd Victorian team would be locks for NRL expansion with the 3rd potential licence to be decided.

greenBV4

Then take into consideration the new multimillion dollar sporting, business and entertainment precinct being built in Melbourne's West (Tarneit) with a 15,000-capacity stadium.
I haven't heard much about this in a while, is it still going ahead? it was going to be built and owned by western united wasn't it?

agree re: west Melbourne if Melb 2 was the go however think we should expand nationally, go in groups of 2 with 1 expansion and 1 consolidation/derby

ie. rnd 1 Dolphins & Perth, then rnd 2 Christchurch & Melb 2 or Bris 3

Pneuma

With the NRL looking to expand to 20 teams by 2032, a 2nd Victorian team ticks a lot of boxes compared to other major cities i.e. travel costs, distance, logistics etc. What the AFL has done right when it comes interstate teams is build cross-city derbies with 2 teams in every state. West Coast v Freo. Port v Adelaide. GWS v Swans. If you award the 18th license to a 2nd Victorian franchise, not only do you create that Melbourne derby but you also allow up to 8-9 years for cities like Perth, Wellington etc to continue to build their foundations at grassroots and commerical levels for their respective NRL franchises.

Comparing Western Melbourne to Wellington for example, the market size is a major contrast with Western Melbourne holding 1.1-1.5 million in population (if you include Geelong and Ballarat) where as Wellington is a city of 212,000. You also add into account travel distance, financial backing, etc and you can see why the NRL is considering Victoria as an option. Then take into consideration the new multimillion dollar sporting, business and entertainment precinct being built in Melbourne's West (Tarneit) with a 15,000-capacity stadium.

By 2032, I think Perth & a 2nd Victorian team would be locks for NRL expansion with the 3rd potential licence to be decided.
If nothing else this discussion is going to cause a heap of angst for a few here who deserve it. On another note, a second team could see an even bigger increase in participation in Victoria with players migrating from union to league. This announcement by V’landys potentially turns the landscape for expansion on its head. What a man!

I haven't heard much about this in a while, is it still going ahead? it was going to be built and owned by western united wasn't it?
Its scheduled for completion in 2026. The 5,000-capacity regional training field is going to be opened later this year with Western United hosting fixtures there, while the main stadium and the "world class sport, entertainment, business and residential precinct" is built with the new train station.

According to the Wyndham City website, Wyndham City Council has partnered with Western Melbourne Group to deliver the project, which will feature:
  • A 15,000-capacity multisport stadium which will be the future home to the Western United Football Club and will host men and women’s A-League matches as well as other events.
That being said, I think it'd definitely be possible and ultimately ideal for all parties to consider hosting a potential NRL team.

If nothing else this discussion is going to cause a heap of angst for a few here who deserve it. On another note, a second team could see an even bigger increase in participation in Victoria with players migrating from union to league. This announcement by V’landys potentially turns the landscape for expansion on its head. What a man!
Considering the likes of Rob Leota and Jordan Uelese - Wallabies rep players from Victoria - as well as other Vic rugby players, it's definitely something to think about!

Pneuma

Considering the likes of Rob Leota and Jordan Uelese - Wallabies rep players from Victoria - as well as other Vic rugby players, it's definitely something to to think about!
Yes it is. This is all very funny. Maybe they could raid Tassie as well. We’ve got a tin pot union comp down here which deserves a good bollocking hahaha!

docbrown

AFL made a point of getting it's footprint into all the major metro cities FIRST before adding derby teams:
I’d argue that’s because they had nowhere else to go. There are no major regional centres except for Geelong in WA, SA and VIC. Whereas the NRL had Canberra, Illawarra, Newcastle, Gold Coast and North Queensland. If a meteor hit Melbourne that’s most of the AFL universe wiped out in an instant.

The Great Dane

Its scheduled for completion in 2026. The 5,000-capacity regional training field is going to be opened later this year with Western United hosting fixtures there, while the main stadium and the "world class sport, entertainment, business and residential precinct" is built with the new train station.

According to the Wyndham City website, Wyndham City Council has partnered with Western Melbourne Group to deliver the project, which will feature:
  • A 15,000-capacity multisport stadium which will be the future home to the Western United Football Club and will host men and women’s A-League matches as well as other events.
That being said, I think it'd definitely be possible and ultimately ideal for all parties to consider hosting a potential NRL team.
I'll eat my hat if that stadium is completed in 2026 given all the nonsense and broken promises that have gone on around Western United. Hell I'll be surprised if what's in the plans is ever actually built.

WA still has more registered players than Victoria despite your bigger population, successful nrl club and recent growth.

Adelaide and dockers are akin to admitting dolphins ie heartland cities. Melbourne2 would be akin to admitting gws. People on here have for years mocked gws. Now it’s a good idea apparently according to Vlandys lol

I'll eat my hat if that stadium is completed in 2026 given all the nonsense and broken promises that have gone on around Western United. Hell I'll be surprised if what's in the plans is ever actually built.
A good sign is the regional field is nearing its completion. I reckon it'd be in the best interests of both Western Melbourne Group and Wyndham City Council to at least consider the prospect of working together with the NRL to open up revenue and financial growth of the main stadium.