Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Wb1234

yeah but the difference is the Broncos established themselves as a successful power club many years ago, they have 6 premierships. Then you have the Cowboys who have 1. The Titans are the team who will be most worried about the Dolphins coming in.

The Warriors have been an ongoing disappointment since 1995 and are showing just because they have access to a lot or raw talent doesn't mean its guaranteed success. It's definitely concerning for any future expansion teams in NZ,
I thought the dolphins were the team to do it, how many teams does it need to fight one afl club in brisbane? Lol

ngl this made me laugh

I thought the dolphins were the team to do it, how many teams does it need to fight one afl club in brisbane? Lol
Brisbane Lions are based in Woolloongabba, Brisbane.

Dolphins are based in Redcliffe, Moreton Bay.

Easts Tigers are based in Coorparoo, Brisbane.

The distance between The Gabba (Lions) and Langlands Park (Tigers) is about 2.5 km. The distance between The Gabba and Dolphin Oval is 41 km.

Lions have a social club in Springwood, Logan full of pokies.

Easts Tigers have three junior clubs in Logan (Springwood, Rochedale South and Flagstone), with a fourth planned for Yarrabilba. Tigers also have a litany of junior clubs within a 20km radius of the Lions' HQ.

Broncos and Dolphins service completely different regions. Easts Tigers, as the Firehawks, have the potential to bleed the Brisbane Lions dry.

Wb1234

The distance between The Gabba (Lions) and Langlands Park (Tigers) is about 2.5 km. The distance between The Gabba and Dolphin Oval is 41 km.

Easts Tigers have three junior clubs in Logan (Springwood, Rochedale South and Flagstone), with a fourth planned for Yarrabilba. Tigers also have a litany or junior clubs within a 20km radius of the Lions' HQ.

Broncos and Dolphins service completely different regions. Easts Tigers, as the Firehawks, have the potential to bleed the Brisbane Lions dry.
The Brisbane lions really must be a basket case if they have a leagues club to support them, and on top of that get 25 million from the afl grant which is ten million more than average, and even with these they lost money for a decade

and they are far stronger than the suns

afl is so weak on Queensland

I’m hoping the dolphins can push them over the edge

Easts Tigers have three junior clubs in Logan (Springwood, Rochedale South and Flagstone), with a fourth planned for Yarrabilba. Tigers also have a litany or junior clubs within a 20km radius of the Lions' HQ.

Rubbish. Pokie addicts don’t care who owns the machines. Sponsors choose a club and code for a variety of reasons and having another nrl club won’t make much difference to the lions corporates. fans, if 2 nrl clubs in brisbane can’t stop them following afl then three sure as hell won’t And final,y the afl will keep funding them the $25mill plus.
If you really wanted to hurt afl youd surpass their investment in community participation, schools programs etc.

The Brisbane lions really must be a basket case if they have a leagues club to support them, and on top of that get 25 million from the afl grant which is ten million more than average, and even with these they lost money for a decade

and they are far stronger than the suns

afl is so weak on Queensland

I’m hoping the dolphins can push them over the edge
The Lions rake in $5m from the Lions@Springwood Social Club that is spent on the Lions and Springwood Pumas fumbleball club. If the Firehawks enter the NRL and put a Leagues Club across the road from Lions@Springwood then it would bleed them dry. I live just behind the Lions@Springwood Social Club and have been here for over 20 years. It's a dyed in the wool RL area with two junior Easts Tigers clubs within a few KMs. It wouldn't take much for a Firehawks Leagues Club on Springwood Rd or Rochedale Rd to kill off Lions@Springwood.

Rubbish. Pokie addicts don’t care who owns the machines. Sponsors choose a club and code for a variety of reasons and having another nrl club won’t make much difference to the lions corporates. fans, if 2 nrl clubs in brisbane can’t stop them following afl then three sure as hell won’t And final,y the afl will keep funding them the $25mill plus.
If you really wanted to hurt afl youd surpass their investment in community participation, schools programs etc.
Mate, I live a few hundred metres from Lions@Springwood Social Club. I've been here for over 20 years. Logan is a dyed in the wool RL city that hates fumbleball. Everywhere I go in Logan I see people walking around in RL jerseys.

The only reason the Lions put their social club here is because Logan has more gamblers than anywhere else in Queensland. It is so desperate for members that it provides life membership for just $1. Massive Leagues Clubs like Easts at Coorparoo and Seagulls at Manly West charge $1 for one year's worth of membership and still have way more members. RL would be crazy to not follow suit and put an NRL club's Leagues Club here and run Lions@Springwood into the ground.

Who do you think would do better business on the weekend?

a) the Lions@Springwood Social Club screening AwFuL or

b) a Firehawks Leagues Club in Springwood screening live NRL matches on a big TV?

Funds from a Firehawks Leagues Club in Springwood could be invested into the Rochedale Tigers, Springwood Tigers, Flagstone Tigers and Yarrabilba Tigers.

Wb1234

The Lions rake in $5m from the Lions@Springwood Social Club that is spent on the Lions and Springwood Pumas fumbleball club. If the Firehawks enter the NRL and put a Leagues Club across the road from Lions@Springwood then it would bleed them dry. I live just behind the Lions@Springwood Social Club and have been here for over 20 years. It's a dyed in the wool RL area with two junior Easts Tigers clubs within a few KMs. It wouldn't take much for a Firehawks Leagues Club on Springwood Rd or Rochedale Rd to kill off Lions@Springwood.
The fumblers have another leagues club on the Gold Coast too I heard

I was hoping easts got in actually instead of the dolphins. As the tigers. And demerge the wests tigers in Sydney

their finances aren’t that far behind the dolphins and I see the distance from Redcliffe to Suncorp being an issue

the nrl needed another cbd side in Brisbane not a regional side

the dolphins are trying to represent too many places but it is what it is

Wb1234

Auskick figures don’t mean anything. Afl has spent probably a hundred million to produce high Auskick numbers

the cost of getting an afl player out of nsw or qld must be absolutely horrendous

but if they want to waste their strong financial position on vanity projects it’s better for league

The fumblers have another leagues club on the Gold Coast too I heard

I was hoping easts got in actually instead of the dolphins. As the tigers. And demerge the wests tigers in Sydney

their finances aren’t that far behind the dolphins and I see the distance from Redcliffe to Suncorp being an issue

the nrl needed another cbd side in Brisbane not a regional side

the dolphins are trying to represent too many places but it is what it is
Brisbane Tigers would be a great brand and draw bigger crowds than Dolphins ever will. Dolphins would have been a good third team in 15 years time, based solely in Moreton Bay.

Wb1234

Brisbane Tigers would be a great brand and draw bigger crowds than Dolphins ever will. Dolphins would have been a good third team in 15 years time, based solely in Moreton Bay.
And the rivalry with the broncos would’ve been bigger for the city

if they go Ipswich in 2030 it won’t be terrible though having all of Brisbane covered like that

I know we’ve mentioned it before but the dolphins need to be playing a lot of their games in Redcliffe and a brand new 30k stadium with the games against the other qld clubs at Suncorp. Plus a few games on the Sunshine Coast

then they will truly represent that northern growth coridoor

And the rivalry with the broncos would’ve been bigger for the city

if they go Ipswich in 2030 it won’t be terrible though having all of Brisbane covered like that

I know we’ve mentioned it before but the dolphins need to be playing a lot of their games in Redcliffe and a brand new 30k stadium with the games against the other qld clubs at Suncorp. Plus a few games on the Sunshine Coast

then they will truly represent that northern growth coridoor
The NRL definitely butchered expansion. A north vs south rivalry would have been huge and may well have been large enough to not need a third team. Once again News Ltd has f**ked the game over for their benefit and helped our main competitor.

Wb1234

The NRL definitely butchered expansion. A north vs south rivalry would have been huge and may well have been large enough to not need a third team. Once again News Ltd has f**ked the game over for their benefit and helped our main competitor.
Yep.

beisbane have never wanted to share that market killing off the crushers. Then they supported the titans and dolphins as it cuts less into their area than a city team

So? What’s the point?

I could put a side in Ballarat and call it expansion but that wouldn’t make it a good decision would it? It would be a bad decision because simply there is not enough people with enough money to support a side. In the case of the Ballarat example there’s not enough people in the area; in the case of PNG there are a lot of people but the vast majority are very poor. It’s the same result.

If they are going to expand it should be based on the following:

1. Is the area sound economically?
2. Does it have the right infrastructure?
3. Are there enough potential supporters and moreover can they go and watch a game, but memberships etc.
4. Does it have commercial value - are people/companies in the area going to invest in it? Will TV increase funding to subsidise the new side? Is there advertising potential?
5. Is it going to detract from other clubs supporter bases?

Realistically at this point in time, the only tick in PNG’s favour is number five. Again if they transform their society and economy, then they are a realistic option but until then they are not.

If I picked Perth, Adelaide, NZ 2 even possibly Brisbane 3/NZ 3 (in ten years or so), it’s possible/probable that they can tick all of those objectives. At least three of those options are also genuine expansion options.
PNG will be applying and are a better option than a second NZ team.

The Warriors are not setting the world on fire and Rugby is the main football code in NZ- In the Majority of their Schools Rugby rules.

They bang on about Tonga/ Samoa and Fiji but Rugby is number 1 in these countries as well.

So the candidates would be I assume

PNG
Perth
5th QLD Team
North Sydney Bears
NZ2

My ranking of the candidates would be

1. Perth
2. PNG
3. NZ2
4. 5TH QLD Team
5. North Sydney Bears

The Great Dane

Sorry

But you would see one of the biggest steps forward in player develop by clearly defining professional and part-time pathways
'Sorry' but that is utter f**king nonsense. The most successful clubs in the NRL era (Storm and Roosters) have done it with affiliate clubs, not reserve grades.

Besides developing the best quality talent for a handful of NRL clubs isn't, nor should it be, the sole goal of grassroots and junior footy. Nor should that goal ever come at the expense of what is in the best interests of the health and growth of the sport as a whole.

These sorts of "the NRL is all that matters" attitudes is why RL is dying on it's arse everywhere south of roughly Goulburn, and that creeping death is spreading yearly.
To have NRL players in other club jerseys to satisfy some old 1970s notion of the BRL and those 100 local supporters who walk to their old games on park football grounds
Strawman, and a really lame one at that considering that pseudo reserve grade teams get about that to their games before the NRL anyway.
There is a place for both
No their isn't and you damn well know it.

The lower the standard of the talent the harder it is to sell the product, just look at spring leagues in America. Take the best talent outside of the NRL and drop it into a reserve grade and you've just killed the Qld cup, Bears, Jets, etc, and killed any hope for more clubs like them in the future, and you've done it all for absolutely nothing.

You've also killed your best hope of promoting bush footy, which desperately needs it.
I have direct experiance that kids associate with their up and commer players when in U21s but hatted it and refused to go to any feeder arrangement games because it felt like watching a former player playing for Manly to them
I don't care about your anecdotes, and could give you just as many of kids who hated having to leave their teams, clubs, towns, etc, to go and play for an NRL side because it was their only shot.

Anecdotes are meaningless.
As I said before take the 3-4 NRL players out of Qld Cup and you wouldn't even notice the difference
You'd absolutely notice it if you took the top 3-4 best players out of any team, and to pretend otherwise is a joke.
Then NSW Cup needs to be transformed into a proper state rather than trying to be a Sydney Shield type of comp. But you do it on a 1 mil budget today with part-time players, those who work and want to play
Do that, and with the exception of a handful of clubs with rich and willing leagues clubs, the only teams left in the comp would be Sydney based within a decade. In other words the exact opposite of your stated goal.

It's almost as if your stated goal isn't actually your goal and you're just another in a long line Sydney-centric cancers who's ignorance and myopia have f**ked this game for generations...

The Great Dane

PNG will be applying and are a better option than a second NZ team.

The Warriors are not setting the world on fire and Rugby is the main football code in NZ- In the Majority of their Schools Rugby rules.

They bang on about Tonga/ Samoa and Fiji but Rugby is number 1 in these countries as well.

So the candidates would be I assume

PNG
Perth
5th QLD Team
North Sydney Bears
NZ2

My ranking of the candidates would be

1. Perth
2. PNG
3. NZ2
4. 5TH QLD Team
5. North Sydney Bears
"We shouldn't expand to X city/region because X sport is more popular" is the best way to make sure that X sport remains more popular in said city/region and that RL always has stunted growth there. In the modern landscape you need pro-clubs to push interest in your sport, it just is what it is.

Also the idea that PNG is a better option of any of those 5 is laughable. At least the others would have a chance, not matter how small, of being sustainable.

The Great Dane

The Dolphins aren't anywhere near where the AFL is pushing their growth in Brisbane. Which is why the whole 'we're putting another team in Brisbane to combat the AFL's growth' line was always a furphy. Just a good headline for the media, nothing more.

If it was a serious consideration then Ipswich probably would have got the license.

MugaB

The Dolphins aren't anywhere near where the AFL is pushing their growth in Brisbane. Which is why the whole 'we're putting another team in Brisbane to combat the AFL's growth' line was always a furphy. Just a good headline for the media, nothing more.

If it was a serious consideration then Ipswich probably would have got the license.
Im sure that any brisbane bid getting the nod, was going to keep seq RL fans happy as they'll be a weekly game, regardless where its played, more localised derbys and games in general in or around seq will mean more interest in RL over one struggling alf club, but i get what you mean about targeting ipswich, unfortunately i think the bronx want that area under their banner

flippikat

I’m not buying this, build it and they’ll jump ship. How many first grade union players have moved to the warriors in the last 5 years from nz clubs?
Bugger all, and when they did (John Kirwan, Marc Ellis, umm.. I think there was an Auckland forward they signed too), they didn't exactly set the world on fire.

They MIGHT snare some junior players, but the idea that an NZ 2 team will convince Super Rugby or All Blacks players to switch is frankly daft.

Maybe the odd NPC player (Provincial Championship, 3rd tier below All Blacks & Super Rugby).. but once you've made it in those top 2 tiers with reasonable money on offer, why chance going to another code?

[Edit] Mark Carter.. yeah that was the other RU player I forgot the name of.. very forgettable Warriors career that he had.