Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1st Test: South Africa v Australia at Cape Town Nov 9-13, 2011

beads6

I wouldn't be surprised if that is the mindset of the selectors too, with only forced changes to be made.

Johnson for mine appears to be a protected species at the moment. He'll have to probably endure a Mark Taylor in 1997 type slump before even considerations are made to drop him, and then won't happen.

Only other change could be Cummins in for Johnson and maybe Copeland in for Siddle. Can't see them making 3 changes but maybe 2.

I think we will get a whole new squad for the first test at the gabba,

roofromoz

I think we will get a whole new squad for the first test at the gabba,

No disrespect to the Black Caps, but that series could be used as an opportunity to undergo a complete re-construction of the test team. Of course you must ensure that the baggy green isn't cheapened by blooding kids that aren't ready, and 2 matches is a short turn around before the India series, but it may mean the difference between a 4-0 drubbing and perhaps a more respectable (if there is such a thing) 2-1 loss.

roofromoz

Humiliation now complete. 24 hours ago, we had South Africa on the verge of having to follow on... and we have lost by 8 wickets.

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Head on down to Bunnings and see if you can pick yourself up a clue I hear they sell everything. MUPPET

The only muppets are the deluded f**kwits who think Clarke's captaincy, our batsmen and bowlers performed better than shit.

A 188 first innings lead, losing by 8 wickets. Yeah great work there by all aussie players.

Muppet

franklin2323

terrible batting. It was the type of pitch that you had to get in & you were fine. Other then Smith in the 1st Inn SA just got good balls. A few were only picked up with the new review system so on another day they aren't able to be picked up & they get 200.

The 47 was poor shots. Nothing more

Big Pete

A combination of both franklin.

While there were definitely some dud shots (and on replay, dud decisions) some of their bowling was good.

Disappointing but it's only just one game. Considering the phase we're going through, I'd expect much worse.

AlwaysGreen

If we were fair dinkum after being rolled for 47 the following players would have to go: Hughes, Ponting, Haddin and that black haired tattooed wannabe left arm fast bowler who I refuse to dignify with a name. But no one will be canned. Instead they'll be given yet another chance.

AlwaysGreen

@GraemeSmith49 has scored 23 test centuries. SA have won 16 of those matches, and drawn the other 7. No loss. #cricket #savaus
TweetDeck • 11/11/11 20:47
retweeted by @ESPNcricinfo

I begrudgingly admire the fat bastard.

aussies1st

We have been rolled under 100 three times in our past 12 test matches, Bangladesh haven't been rolled out for under a 100 in over 4 years. High time some big calls are made as quite clearly the problem was just North or Smith at 6.

Hallatia

Can someone check on Hala , she has been quiet of late, well the last 8 overs anyway :D

Poor hallatia................

since the itenary came out. I miss her not creaming her pants over every south african player.

Come back Hala please :(

What a year, first Parra and then the Saffa's :(

We'll send her some chocolates and flowers to cheer her up how does that sound????

Hallatia has run a warm bath by this point

Come on hallatia you can come back now :)
:crazy:Thanks for all the concern guys, I just had to log off LU last night to do my essay, but I never took my eyes off the cricket (which might explain why my essay ended up so shit). I couldn't be happier with our second innings performance. Shit happens in cricket and it's how you recover from it which is the real test. Very proud, that was an amazing test, so glad that test like this an still happen.
The whole of the last session last night I was going to have a heart attack, I was just waiting for the session to be over, counting down the overs, but it ended sooner than minimum overs which was even better. I said (on facebook) that if we could finish the night 2 or less down we would make the rest of the runs easily day 3 and we did just that. The run chase this morning was incredible, both Amla and Smith were in sublime touch, what more could I ask for?

I want to watch the test again, even though I am sure reliving it would do similar damage to my heart as watching it the first time did.

Hallatia

and here's a present for you guys
138974.jpg

I just wish I had a picture of it before the last wicket stand

Hallatia

One last thing, I couldn't believe all the public sooking from Michael Clarke about the Australian performance. It's great that you want to take responsibility for your poor performance, but didn't you believe that you could still recover, you didn't hear any SAfricans whinge like that and we were in a shit position first.

What I couldn't believe most from class is what he said about his 150 post match. he called it "a useless waste of time" just because Australia didn't win, how much more embarrassing would it have been if he hadn't put in that "useless waste of time" performance. I know he was angry, but he needs to think before he opens his mouth sometimes.

Also as if the pitch didn't play a role last night, just because Australians played poor shots too, doesn't mean the pitch did nothing, the guy needs to pull his head in.

African Monkey

:crazy:Thanks for all the concern guys, I just had to log off LU last night to do my essay, but I never took my eyes off the cricket (which might explain why my essay ended up so shit). I couldn't be happier with our second innings performance. Shit happens in cricket and it's how you recover from it which is the real test. Very proud, that was an amazing test, so glad that test like this an still happen.
The whole of the last session last night I was going to have a heart attack, I was just waiting for the session to be over, counting down the overs, but it ended sooner than minimum overs which was even better. I said (on facebook) that if we could finish the night 2 or less down we would make the rest of the runs easily day 3 and we did just that. The run chase this morning was incredible, both Amla and Smith were in sublime touch, what more could I ask for?

I want to watch the test again, even though I am sure reliving it would do similar damage to my heart as watching it the first time did.
Well I am just so relieved that you managed to survive such a traumatic ordeal and that you can continue posting about your beloved adopted team. It would be an absolute tragedy if you were to leave this earth after watching such a game of test match cricket. Thank the good lord you're ok.

aqua_duck

Siddle and Shitchell 2/152 between them this test.....
Philander and Steyn 15/156 between them.....