Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Crowd Watch

Great day at Shark Park. 12k is about the right number in there I reckon. Plenty of noise and the crowd was into it but no issues getting in or getting beers and food. Few tins before the game in the man cave, stroll down, in for kick off. Very hot in the sun.

Kids got a run on the field which they loved.

Head over to the leaguesie and the band was on, they did a competent version of al greens let's stay together which surprised me, all in all a great day so a big f**k YOU to anyone who wants to take this away from us.

Cumberland Throw

No one wants to take a great day away from sharks fans

You can have 8-9 of them a year

You just need to be able to have 2-3 games that can be played in Sydney with a crowd of 30k

Maybe that's how you will get sponsors unlike southern radiology who have a national presence who will pay you $2m a season

You are playing in the nrl not a provincial championship

beave

I did the same mate, headed into the sharks leagues for a few quiet ones after the game. The band were quite good.

your leagues club overall is great imo.

The Swans Gnats derby got less than 50,000 watching on FTA so you must be unlucky to have a couple of Swans fans working with you as interest in AFL just doesn't seem to be there in Sydney apart from expats & the yuppies who love the media death riding of rugby league in general. The redeveloped ANZ will bring a whole new culture of rugby league attending fans.

Ive met & spoken to so many who hate ANZ with a passion and would attend more if it were a suitable stadium. Currently its light years from that. For an AFL venue the SCG couldn't be any better for its fans.

I'd even go to say if the Roosters had to play at a redeveloped ANZ for a season or two they may never go back to a refurbished/new Allianz. Their support base out West is bigger than people realise, similar to what South's realised. Just too bad ANZ is not servicing them to what they want.

It takes more than a redeveloped stadium to change culture. There might be an initial spike with different fan bases keen to check out a new stadium but the novelty factor would quickly run out. High costs of living in Sydney and the luxury of watching from home are too big of a disincentive; these factors outweigh and override any potential for a new/redeveloped stadium to bring outlasting change

Great day at Shark Park. 12k is about the right number in there I reckon. Plenty of noise and the crowd was into it but no issues getting in or getting beers and food. Few tins before the game in the man cave, stroll down, in for kick off. Very hot in the sun.

Kids got a run on the field which they loved.

Head over to the leaguesie and the band was on, they did a competent version of al greens let's stay together which surprised me, all in all a great day so a big f**k YOU to anyone who wants to take this away from us.

Shame the club probably barely broke even on it.

Outstanding crowd at Newcastle given their form of recent times.

taipan

Outstanding crowd at Newcastle given their form of recent times.

Crowd better than expected at Shark Park.BTW I did not attend was crook.Most clubs don't always make a profit on "every" home game.
Your whining and btiching is worthy of an Oscar.

Think overall crowds so far this year are holding up.

No one wants to take a great day away from sharks fans

You can have 8-9 of them a year

You are playing in the nrl not a provincial championship

Eeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrr, considering we have 12 of these a year that's 3-4 great days you are suggesting taking away from us; so yeah, NO WAY.

On your point about playing in the NRL, 12 thousand odd is about par for a game v the Titans for most clubs so again, what the hell are you talking about.

So, so bitter. Again I will just point out what a great day it was for the people of the Sutherland Shire. Warm weather, decent crowd in and a good win. Many locals partied on in the adjacent leagues club. The facilities at game day for kids are just superb now with jumping castles, face painting, being able to run on the field and there were a whole generation of shire grommies and future members in the ground loving life.

While I am at it I will also point out that the break even is 9,000 so not only are you a dick, you are wrong.

Dogs Of War

Crowd better than expected at Shark Park.BTW I did not attend was crook.Most clubs don't always make a profit on "every" home game.
Your whining and btiching is worthy of an Oscar.

Think overall crowds so far this year are holding up.

Those playing at big stadiums do. ANZ and Allianz both pay to play. With bonus's if you get certain crowds.

Not that I'm saying Sharks should be taking heaps of games away from there local area. 2-3 a year is more than enough. As I said previously, ensure it's always a Thursday/Friday night game guaranteed so the after work crowd can go and you get prime time visibility. How can the NRL say no to that?

because its the NRL mate.

Id be happy to move 2 games if they were on nine (so either sunday, Thursday,friday) and perhaps another game if it was doubleheader.
ive been to a couple of those they are good.

as to the crowd, when you have a good day/arvo like that the leagues club does huge business.

Those playing at big stadiums do. ANZ and Allianz both pay to play. With bonus's if you get certain crowds.

Myself and 90% of other Shark members, sponsors and other stakeholders are not happy to take 2-3 games to a neutral venue per year.
We are the CRONULLA sharks. Our home ground is in CRONULLA. What's so hard to understand about this?

Frailty

There are a range of factors that people forget about with the Sharks. They own the ground, and thus all revenue is going directly to the club. You reduce games at the ground, not only do they lose the game day revenue - but it devalues the sponsorship money that comes with the ground which adds a lot of value to the club.

That goes without saying the business for the leagues club that game day brings in.

huh

so we go home after work - then collect our kids - and then turn around and drive or catch the loser cruiser all the way back into town or homebush?
...And then be stuck in more horrendous traffic trying to get out of there.

yeah nah
no chance.

It took me about an 3/4 of an hour ( closer to an hour )to get from Engadine to shark park yesterday .
I admit I did take the wrong option and copped every single red light on the way ...plus I stupidly took capt cook drive past the club. The cops were stopping all traffic to let people cross the road.