Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Irish-bulldog

The chooks have always had terrible crowds lol, no surprise really. I had this conversation with my mates who are all diehard nrl fans and have families, the questions were....first one was what would improve nrl crowds? , do the nrl care about crowds ?, does having crowds at the games improve the product?.

1 they all said they need to lower the costs for tickets , food and drinks, it's too expensive for families, also most said it needs to be more of an event ! Not just a league game, put some entertainment on, fireworks, music , make it more then just a game to get people off the couch.

2 no the nrl doesn't care about crowds because the money comes from the tv rights.

3, yes having a good live crowd builds atmosphere, improves the product on the field and on tv !.

DC_fan

Mothers Day has knocked about 5k off the total.

We asked a few people to go this game and they all said no Mother's Day functions on. So only 2 of us went.

Why wouldn't mums want to spend Mothers Day at the footy.

beave

Pickout one Scenario, nice one mate :thumbsup::cowboy:, this guy, must work for the Nrl lol,

What do you think would improve crowds mate ? Or don't you think it's important ?.

Nah I was just taking the piss mate.

Unfortunatley, you can't lower the ticket prices and put on thousands of dollars of entertainment at the same time. Clubs would go broke.

To be fair, from my clubs point of view, tickets/membership are very affordable. Food and beverage, yep, disgraceful, so I'm with you all the way with that one.

I love music, in perticular the heavy stuff. Last year I spent 8 weeks an hour north of LA for work. My collegues and I went to an Anaheim ducks home game at the Honda centre (i was a teen during the early 90's so I remember the movie and when the team started so it was pretty nostalgic for me) and we got hooked big time, we went to about 6 more games it was that good. The one thing I noticed was the volume and style of music they played inbetween play on the PA. Loud and heavy (well mainstream heavy) it really hyped the crowd up, and everyone was into it. The crowd demographics was all over the shop as well- male, female, old young. I thought to myself 'if they did something like this in Oz, heaps of people would whinge and carry on.' We even went to a ducks kings game at the Staples centre and it was the same hi volume, up tempo tunes so it wasn't just an Anaheim thing. Also, with fights being allowed in the NHL and not in the NRL, there is that as loss of excitement as well......

Unfortunately, we can be a country of whingers when it comes to sporting events.

I think the Raiders are really showing the way with the
Viking clap and the horn blowing thing, both used by various other sporting organizations, but honestly, who gives a shit. I hope the cowboys have something to add a little flair to the game day experience at the new stadium about to get built. A big bulls head that has light up red eyes and smoke coming out of it's nostrils, I dunno. Or even a big six shooter that goes off everytime they score. They did have a canon back in the SL days and they would fire it when we scored (which meant it got used FA.........) but it only lasted a year because the residents in Kirwan around the stadium whinged like old moles about it.

Irish-bulldog

Nah I was just taking the piss mate.

Unfortunatley, you can't lower the ticket prices and put on thousands of dollars of entertainment at the same time. Clubs would go broke.

To be fair, from my clubs point of view, tickets/membership are very affordable. Food and beverage, yep, disgraceful, so I'm with you all the way with that one.

I love music, in perticular the heavy stuff. Last year I spent 8 weeks an hour north of LA for work. My collegues and I went to an Anaheim ducks home game at the Honda centre (i was a teen during the early 90's so I remember the movie and when the team started so it was pretty nostalgic for me) and we got hooked big time. The one thing I noticed was the volume and style of music they played inbetween play on the PA. Loud and heavy (well mainstream heavy) it really hyped the crowd up, and everyone was into it. The crowd demographics was all over the shop as well- male, female, old young. I thought to myself 'if they did something like this in Oz, heaps of people would whinge and carry on.' We even went to a ducks kings game at the Staples centre and it was the same hi volume, up tempo tunes so it wasn't just an Anaheim thing. Also, with fights being allowed in the NHL and not in the NRL, there is that as loss of excitement as well......

Unfortunately, we can be a country of whingers when it comes to sporting events.

I think the Raiders are really showing the way with the
Viking clap and the horn blowing thing, both used by various other sporting organizations, but honestly, who gives a shit. I hope the cowboys have something to add a little flair to the game day experience at the new stadium about to get built. A big bulls head that has light up red eyes and smoke coming out of it's nostrils, I dunno. Or even a big six shooter that goes off everytime they score. They did have a canon back in the SL days and they would fire it when we scored (which meant it got used FA.........) but it only lasted a year because the residents in Kirwan around the stadium whinged like old moles about it.

That's a great example the raiders, to further my point. The raiders are creating a unique experience when you attend a game, I mean shit I'm a dogs fan but would love to attend a raiders game lol. The clubs just lack effort ! They really smack of not giving a shit , and you know what bums on seats speak volumes of the fact. You get out what you put in right ?.

I've been to NFL games, NHL games, NBA, ALeague, even the bloody nbl for f**ks sake, all of which I'd rather go to and see a live game, but rugbg league is my favourite sport ? Go figure.

38k turned up to watch no one play?

38,900 turned up to watch the only prof sport game in Perth this weekend, isn't that what you were asking, or are you under a delusion that the nrl is actually national and has a Perth team?

Maybe the nrl just needs to do like the SL magic weekend and every team play at Suncorp every week, looks like only way we are going to see decent crowds.

Teddyboy

Is an low crowd turn out/near empty stadium for an NRL game not bad for the stadium advertisers and broadcasters ?.

Cumberland Throw

That's a great example the raiders, to further my point. The raiders are creating a unique experience when you attend a game, I mean shit I'm a dogs fan but would love to attend a raiders game lol. The clubs just lack effort ! They really smack of not giving a shit , and you know what bums on seats speak volumes of the fact. You get out what you put in right ?.

I've been to NFL games, NHL games, NBA, ALeague, even the bloody nbl for f**ks sake, all of which I'd rather go to and see a live game, but rugbg league is my favourite sport ? Go figure.

Guaranteed cash at ANZ has made teams very lazy .. re game day stuff

Get 300k anyway so who cares if 12k or 22k comes