Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Stallion

The Gf should be moved , every year the Nrl give thousands of tickets away regardless of who plays. Yet in the Afl people are willing to pay thousands for a ticket...
Syd people just don't rate live footy and I can't understand why ?

Its to do with a variety of things. Poor development targeting for many decades has occurred. Along with price gouging. The demographic of your hardcore_fan rugby league fan is mostly still working class, the elderly and the vulnerable in society. When u make it difficult price wise it has a negative effect. If rugby league were gutsy enough to engage other demographics as well as become user friendly for its current market it would improve things. Having little or no presence in private schools is problematic for the game to gain universal demographic acceptance. You will find that public and private schooling in Victoria allow AFL. This is not the case for rugby league. I suggest this is a fundamental part of rugby league's issues.

The Gf should be moved , every year the Nrl give thousands of tickets away regardless of who plays. Yet in the Afl people are willing to pay thousands for a ticket...

Where to?
Melb ? The day after the AFL GF?

Yesh right.

beave

See I disagree with this whole ‘League is a working class game’ mind set and AFL has some sort of socio economic superiority over league.

Has anyone been to Melbourne to watch an AFL game? There fans are no more low brow than our own, infact some of their teams have fans that are completely more ‘bogan’ than any of our teams could possibly try. (Collingwood, Footscray).

Union in Oz is very much private school/tweed jacket brigade but the 2 main football codes are rife with working class fans.

Stormfan22

Its to do with a variety of things. Poor development targeting for many decades has occurred. Along with price gouging. The demographic of your hardcore_fan rugby league fan is mostly still working class, the elderly and the vulnerable in society. When u make it difficult price wise it has a negative effect. If rugby league were gutsy enough to engage other demographics as well as become user friendly for its current market it would improve things. Having little or no presence in private schools is problematic for the game to gain universal demographic acceptance. You will find that public and private schooling in Victoria allow AFL. This is not the case for rugby league. I suggest this is a fundamental part of rugby league's issues.

That's a fair call mate. The majority of great players came through the elite private schools. I guess with Union being so close to league doesn't help either. The Nrl really need to change what there doing.

Vee

Cheers for the tip mate. Every year there seems to be something on at Randwick when I come down for GF’s (this is my 6th in the last 12 years) that gives you free entry with your GF ticket, so the promo has been around for a while. I have my 20 year high school reunion on tonight down here so best I avoid Randwick at all costs as I dont think I could handle races, reunion and a GF all in 2 days....
You're getting old Beave.

Vee

See I disagree with this whole ‘League is a working class game’ mind set and AFL has some sort of socio economic superiority over league.

Has anyone been to Melbourne to watch an AFL game? There fans are no more low brow than our own, infact some of their teams have fans that are completely more ‘bogan’ than any of our teams could possibly try. (Collingwood, Footscray).

Union in Oz is very much private school/tweed jacket brigade but the 2 main football codes are rife with working class fans.
The difference is that the fumblers have a stack from the big end of town as well, they woo them so much better than we do.

Stallion

That's a fair call mate. The majority of great players came through the elite private schools. I guess with Union being so close to league doesn't help either. The Nrl really need to change what there doing.

More importantly I question the fact that elite private schools don't play rugby league. That's the defining issue for the game to be embraced by all demographics. Understand that some people in 'high' society follow rugby league but definitely not most. And this is a dilemna for the game. It should be played in all schools.

Stallion

The difference is that the fumblers have a stack from the big end of town as well, they woo them so much better than we do.

They woo them better than rugby league because they are 'mates' for want of a better word. They have a click as the big end of town are full of private school educated people. If they dont see or know about rugby league then its that much more difficult for the 'favours' to come rugby league's way.

Stallion

Like I stated working class support. However the higher socio economic support is not so much for rugby league as it is for AFL and union. Noticeably rugby league is the code not embraced/allowed in the elite private schools. Its a major factor when u look at the big picture.

SLRBRONCOS

This this and this.

I attended a Collingwood v Richmond game once, Richmond fans were nice and not too bad, but holy moly that Collingwood mob.

One smiled, I had never seen so many shades of brown.

Enjoy tomorrow mate!

Canard

nice-trolling-attempt-not-thumb.jpg

beave

This this and this.

I attended a Collingwood v Richmond game once, Richmond fans were nice and not too bad, but holy moly that Collingwood mob.

One smiled, I had never seen so many shades of brown.

Enjoy tomorrow mate!

Cheers mate.

Total rubbish they give away thousands regardless of who is playing.

Gronk.