Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Hello, I'm The Doctor

You must missed the part that i wanted to cover the hill at the suburban grounds. Since to the TV cameras always point towards them and the crowd have to put up with elements why not cover the hill.
See link. This sort of coverage is not expensive .
https://au.pinterest.com/pin/552676185501071429
Plus you could terrace the hill to create personal bays. Landscaped (to create flat/standing areas) with artificial grass with seating and leaning-on rails, Couldn't Be Better. You could individualise the seating via numbering. So you sold a ticket to a specific area.

F*ckery, thats actually not a bad idea...

Maintanance costs would still be huge, it still does nothing for transport and there still wouldnt be much more rain protection but it it would definitely be an improvement.

And probably than regular grandstands...

colly

Maintanance costs would still be huge, it still does nothing for transport and there still wouldnt be much more rain protection but it it would definitely be an improvement.

Good to have you onboard.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...rl-a-crowded-marketplace-20170824-gy3qcg.html
The last part of the article above......By Knox
"The good news for rugby league is that while crowds are down this year, they are still bubbling along near their historic highs that have been achieved in the past 15 years. Throughout their history, every rugby league club with the exception of the Broncos – a monopoly in a rugby league city of 2 million – has sustained average crowds of 10,000-15,000. That's a healthy number and it is probably the sport's natural level. Yet again, league risks undervaluing the strengths of what it already has, because, well, it's not as big as the AFL, the EPL or the NFL. A league crowd of 15,000, by every measure, has always been a good size, capable in the right venue of producing the tribal passion that makes this game special. It's only when you put those 15,000 into that wind-blasted Homebush cavern that they start to look sparse and feel helpless." Knox SMH
Thats why good looking and weather protecting roof over 'the hill' which is landscaped/bays and rails and some seating will make the expeince great for the crowd and pleasing to the TV viewer.
If i had to choose watch league sitting down OR standing in a bay/terrace with a leaning rail...........
I KNOW WHAT I CHOOSE.

What maintenance costs does fake grass have?

I reckon it sounds like s good idea
Standing section with terraced under cover

Stallion

If and when rugby league gains universal presence in all public and private schools compared to AFL then the scenario of large attendances is not beyond rugby leagues potential. Its this fundamental barrier that isolates rugby league to a limited demographic. Until this is sorted it(RL) will struggle for universal acceptance despite being a great sport of true grit and skill.

Diesel

9346 @ Ctown

Does Campbelltown not support a merged team, or is NQ playing a team out of contention of the finals the problem

BuffaloRules

Meh..Tedesco's final game at his home ground at Cambo got the crowd he deserved... Backed up by his effort tonight...

Cumberland Throw

I just read online that ANZ stadium is considering Unreserved sideline seating (first in gets the best seats) on the side the cameras are facing.

Children in for free and Adults tickets capped at $25.

Sydney v Sydney clubs in daytime slots.

Good news indeed if this comes true.They might actually be listening to us fans after all.

What why I reckon it's an awesome look on tv to have Heaps of vacant seats and most of fans sitting on the corners of the try line markers

CC_Roosters

Great that crowd discussion is suddenly a hot topic in the media, they need to keep the conversation going to drive the Nrl to make the necessary changes.

In the likes of campbelltown, any presence the tigers have is probably watered down by the large volume of people who have moved into the area who have other teams/sports. And definitely not helped by only being a part time team in the region.

Raiderdave

9346 @ Ctown

Does Campbelltown not support a merged team, or is NQ playing a team out of contention of the finals the problem

NQ are also the problem in Sydney , as good as they are to watch , no one wants to.
when the Tigers are doing well , their support is reasonable at both Leichardt & Campbelltown.

thorson1987

Great that crowd discussion is suddenly a hot topic in the media, they need to keep the conversation going to drive the Nrl to make the necessary changes.

In the likes of campbelltown, any presence the tigers have is probably watered down by the large volume of people who have moved into the area who have other teams/sports. And definitely not helped by only being a part time team in the region.

ding ding ding.

Whilst the tigers may well be the most single supported team out here (or close to it with Bulldogs, Dragons and Souths having plenty of fans), They are severely outnumbered by fans of every other team.

They can get good crowds as seen against Brisbane in 2015 when just under 20k showed up on a Saturday night.

Good to have you onboard.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...rl-a-crowded-marketplace-20170824-gy3qcg.html
The last part of the article above......By Knox
"The good news for rugby league is that while crowds are down this year, they are still bubbling along near their historic highs that have been achieved in the past 15 years. Throughout their history, every rugby league club with the exception of the Broncos – a monopoly in a rugby league city of 2 million – has sustained average crowds of 10,000-15,000. That's a healthy number and it is probably the sport's natural level. Yet again, league risks undervaluing the strengths of what it already has, because, well, it's not as big as the AFL, the EPL or the NFL. A league crowd of 15,000, by every measure, has always been a good size, capable in the right venue of producing the tribal passion that makes this game special. It's only when you put those 15,000 into that wind-blasted Homebush cavern that they start to look sparse and feel helpless." Knox SMH
Thats why good looking and weather protecting roof over 'the hill' which is landscaped/bays and rails and some seating will make the expeince great for the crowd and pleasing to the TV viewer.
If i had to choose watch league sitting down OR standing in a bay/terrace with a leaning rail...........
I KNOW WHAT I CHOOSE.

That' article just about sums up why rugby league will forever be a shadow of what it could be. Great game with no ambition and sht management.

Greenstar5

This round I would have the Warriors v Eagles game at 12noon AEST, Raiders v Knights 2pm then Panthers v Dragons 4pm.

Gives a Sunday triple header with 3 day games in 3 different cities for fans to get along to.

Saint Doc

Roy and HG had an excellent idea today. Pay people $10 to go to the footy. They are "extras" on a tv show and should be paid for making the tv show better.

Whilst a piss take...some of it rings true. The crowd makes me enjoy watching the show on tv!

Cumberland Throw

Roy and HG had an excellent idea today. Pay people $10 to go to the footy. They are "extras" on a tv show and should be paid for making the tv show better.

Whilst a piss take...some of it rings true. The crowd makes me enjoy watching the show on tv!

In true NRL tradition, you would pay 40,000 x $10 each spend $400k, and 32,000 uni students will leave after 2 minutes ... go to pub with their $10 note..

Raiderdave

10887 @ Robina
unsure @ SCGS ... while it looks ok
its probs only 15K ... which is utterly unacceptable

I don't know under what other circumstances the joint could fill to its capacity
They won't make the top 4 if they lose tonight & there goes their title defence for mine
another top 4 Sydney opponent
& thousands of sharks fans stay at home & watch it on telle

wow