Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

Eden Park Trust aren't particularly keen on League being played there. Particularly after the 2017 Auckland 9s pulled 25,000. I can't remember ever seeing Mt Smart at capacity, bit of a stretch to think that even this Warriors side could pull All Blacks numbers.
25k per day = 50k. Don't let the facts get in the way...

OldPanther

Why not gain back fans and have the Bears playing out of the Central Coast. Any other way will only piss off existing established fan bases. These established fanbases have already been "terrorised" by mergers and relocation talk. Surely putting the code through more embarrassment and pain is not the way to go? !

It's probably not a good idea to add another team so close geographically with the Sydney teams and Newcastle.

Lambretta

dumb comparison ?
no yours is a dumb statement , you have 5.5 million people within a 50km square radius

fact is atm
as many of our fans are watching our team lose then your team win
a , lesson in passion there id say buddy : )

Sydney is 12,368 square kilometres in size
There are nowhere near 5.5 million people living within 50 square metres of Kogarah or Wollongong

Now what was that about dumb statements?

:p

Sydney is 12,368 square kilometres in size
There are nowhere near 5.5 million people living within 50 square metres of Kogarah or Wollongong

Now what was that about dumb statements?

:p
To be exact

The inner city measures 25 square kilometres (10 square miles), the Greater Sydney region covers 12,367 square kilometres (4,775 square miles), and the city's urban area is 1,687 square kilometres (651 square miles) in size.

Kogarah and WIN can't push capacity.

I know this because I just got off the phone the RED V member office and I'm sitting here absolutely f**king fuming.

There are several hundred members on 3 and 5 game flexi-passes. Most are on GA but many, like myself, are on Bronze. When I signed up I was asked if I could call before games to confirm attendance or non-attendance.
I tried to do that this morning and they flatly didn't care and just said "come if you want" and that there is a block of unreserved seats held for flexi-pass members. So seats held for me and my 4 memberships won't be occupied on Friday.
Similarly, I sat in a sparsely populated section of an otherwise very full stand in the game vs Newcastle.
Given safety issues in GA they presumably have to act as if all flexi-pass holders will come.

Saint Doc

I know this because I just got off the phone the RED V member office and I'm sitting here absolutely f**king fuming.

There are several hundred members on 3 and 5 game flexi-passes. Most are on GA but many, like myself, are on Bronze. When I signed up I was asked if I could call before games to confirm attendance or non-attendance.
I tried to do that this morning and they flatly didn't care and just said "come if you want" and that there is a block of unreserved seats held for flexi-pass members. So seats held for me and my 4 memberships won't be occupied on Friday.
Similarly, I sat in a sparsely populated section of an otherwise very full stand in the game vs Newcastle.
Given safety issues in GA they presumably have to act as if all flexi-pass holders will come.

That is ridiculous

Can you nominate games when buying Flexi passes?

It would make sense but I think the appeal of the flexi-pass is that it's flexible. I, for instance, have an erratic work schedule that includes weekends and evenings and don't get my rota until a fortnight prior.

Even if we could nominate games until a few days before and confirm non-attendance or receive a text saying asking for a response would be fine.

I'm just gobsmacked by the amateur hour-ness of the whole thing.

T-Boon

From an economics perspective I think the reason crowds have not increased over the last 10 years (when the game has started getting a lot of money) is that the clubs are totally focused on sliding up and down the existing "win/crowd curve" while what somebody needs to be trying to get through their thick heads is we need to shift the whole curve. The game needs to sit down with the meat heads at club land and explain it.
If all the money that was wasted on centres of excellence in the last 10 years was spent on promotion, game entertainment, lowering ticket prices what would the average crowds be?

It would make sense but I think the appeal of the flexi-pass is that it's flexible. I, for instance, have an erratic work schedule that includes weekends and evenings and don't get my rota until a fortnight prior.

Even if we could nominate games until a few days before and confirm non-attendance or receive a text saying asking for a response would be fine.

I'm just gobsmacked by the amateur hour-ness of the whole thing.

Mate I don’t to want to sound like a sharks fan bagging out the Dragons
But
A few years ago I had to deal with the Dragons sales dept.
It was for an old couple
Life long st George fans
It was for the old fellas birthday which I mentioned to them when organising it.
I bought them tix that included dinner and speeches from the coach prior to the game etc etc
It was not cheap either.
They asked me to give them some info about the old fella so they can give a shoutout to him during the speeches.

Anyway On the Monday morning after the game I got an abusive email from them saying I made the speaker look like a fool.

He apparently mentioned the old bloke during the speech and tried to find him the crowd.

The thing is they’d stuck him and his wife on a table way off to the side behind a huge pylon.
They both were putting their hands up and calling out .
Nobody could see them.
They’d even been forgotten about during the dinner service.
Everyone had finished before they got anything to eat.

The old guy (who might I add) has a very high standing in the community and was himself a very famous athlete.
Represented Australia.
He went to school with Norm Provan.
Was mortified when the speaker made a disparaging remark about him when they couldn’t find him.
He was there and he heard every word.

Then the email came.
I showed the guys daughter and she asked me to let it go.
I did.

That organisation can go and get well and truely f**ked AFAIAC

SBD82

Mate I don’t to want to sound like a sharks fan bagging out the Dragons
But
A few years ago I had to deal with the Dragons sales dept.
It was for an old couple
Life long st George fans
It was for the old fellas birthday which I mentioned to them when organising it.
I bought them tix that included dinner and speeches from the coach prior to the game etc etc
It was not cheap either.
They asked me to give them some info about the old fella so they can give a shoutout to him during the speeches.

Anyway On the Monday morning after the game I got an abusive email from them saying I made the speaker look like a fool.

He apparently mentioned the old bloke during the speech and tried to find him the crowd.

The thing is they’d stuck him and his wife on a table way off to the side behind a huge pylon.
They both were putting their hands up and calling out .
Nobody could see them.
They’d even been forgotten about during the dinner service.
Everyone had finished before they got anything to eat.

The old guy (who might I add) has a very high standing in the community and was himself a very famous athlete.
Represented Australia.
He went to school with Norm Provan.
Was mortified when the speaker made a disparaging remark about him when they couldn’t find him.
He was there and he heard every word.

Then the email came.
I showed the guys daughter and she asked me to let it go.
I did.

That organisation can go and get well and truely f**ked AFAIAC
I know you don't mind laying the boot into us any chance you get, but that is legit f**ked.

I'll always support the team, but the organisation sometimes leaves a lot to be desired.

I know you don't mind laying the boot into us any chance you get, but that is legit f**ked.

I'll always support the team, but the organisation sometimes leaves a lot to be desired.
A lot of my best mates follow the dragons
It’s all in jest and part of the fun of supporting a team.
We give each other heaps.
The f**kers dressed me up in a full genius dragons kit for my 4 day bucks party.

They also are Red V members and reckon it’s a shit fight every year.

Vee

Cowboys organization gives me the same service.

SBD82

The f**kers dressed me up in a full genius dragons kit for my 4 day bucks party.

They're not wrong.

Pics?

taipan

A 4 day bucks party. WTF.
Mate,you're a flipping endurance athlete.I lasted a day, and they threw me to the soldier crabs in Gunnamatta Bay near the dressing sheds ,with only a pair of undies on.