Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

DC_fan

This retro round theme is not an NRL sanctioned round. it’s purely Fox league having some fun. I wish it was sanctioned and endorsed (use brown coloured but synthetic coloured balls, old school jerseys)

Thank you for setting me straight. I stand corrected

DC_fan

The reason they got 26k and not 15k was the Tigers had beaten the Saints the week before and gave the Tigers supporters some hope of victory and Souths supporters a promise of a competitive game.

We will never know for sure. But all the promotion in the lead up to the game was about the three happenings I mentioned. Therefore they had to be the major factor with the crowd size.

unforgiven

We will never know for sure. But all the promotion in the lead up to the game was about the three happenings I mentioned. Therefore they had to be the major factor with the crowd size.
This thread is very funny, we have people whinging all the time that clubs don't promote the game. A game was promoted using some rare opportunities and now people are saying that it only had a good crowd because it was promoted.

You are actively bagging the crowd because the game was promoted. That's exactly what we should be doing!

RE: the game on Sunday.

This fixture in 2010 under very similar circumstances got 38k on a Sunday arvo at the SCG and actually outdrew the ANZAC clash that year. Aside from it being the roosters first game at the SCG in forever, I can't remember anything else special about the fixture besides both teams being in the top 4 at the time so it does have potential.

Having said that, I don't expect it to get that high a number but 25k would be excellent.

DC_fan

This thread is very funny, we have people whinging all the time that clubs don't promote the game. A game was promoted using some rare opportunities and now people are saying that it only had a good crowd because it was promoted.

You are actively bagging the crowd because the game was promoted. That's exactly what we should be doing!

I am all for promotion, the more the better. What I am saying is that the game of Rugby League struggles to stand on its own two feet as an attraction for people to attend games. Fans need that extra incentive to attend. That is why I made mention of what I believe to be the reason that 25,000 fans attended the Tigers/Rabbitohs game. Nothing wrong with that, but not every game is going to have that extra incentive. That is one reason why we have some pretty poor crowds.

unforgiven

I am all for promotion, the more the better. What I am saying is that the game of Rugby League struggles to stand on its own two feet as an attraction for people to attend games. Fans need that extra incentive to attend. That is why I made mention of what I believe to be the reason that 25,000 fans attended the Tigers/Rabbitohs game. Nothing wrong with that, but not every game is going to have that extra incentive. That is one reason why we have some pretty poor crowds.

That's what promotion is, its extra incentive to attend a game, and its what all sports do. Any extra incentive on Saturday night was Rugby League. Its not like we held a rock concert after like the V8 Supercars regularly do, or signing players from other codes to play a totally different sport, AFL, soccer and cricket have all done this at various points. We had 2 popular players playing milestone games, that is rugby league.

taipan

Do you think an NRL team in Perth is a good idea?

If you read my prior posts and my old ones ,you would see I am for a Perth team as well as a 2nd Brisbane side.I have been pro expansion both in this country and Internationally since the 95 expansion.
When our mate from the West,continually and repetitiously bags Sydney clubs particularly mine, he loses my support.Can't be fairer.

Vee

If you read my prior posts and my old ones ,you would see I am for a Perth team as well as a 2nd Brisbane side.I have been pro expansion both in this country and Internationally since the 95 expansion.
When our mate from the West,continually and repetitiously bags Sydney clubs particularly mine, he loses my support.Can't be fairer.
Just saying. All the that +ve stuff and all.

footy75

I can understand why it was as bad as it was but to say "it ain't that bad" is a bit rich.

It's the fourth worst crowd between the two clubs since 1975. First dip below 10k since before 2000. Worst since 1996.

It's f**king horrendous.

yeah i get it mate and you are right but it's also hard to expect people to pay money, turn up when both teams are playing diabolical footy and their season is done.

That's why I reakon Roosters v Dragons will get 30k... top 4 battle. Although I think the weather is not looking good for weekend. We will see.

I think you speak for most here in that regard. It has been obvious since the 80s we need a team there. However, Eeyore could turn the Mahatma into a suicide bomber...

Raiderdave

upcoming round
Thurs Broncos V Sharks 25,000
Fri 6pm Cowboys V Knights 11,500
Fri 8pm Bulldogs V Tigers 11,500
Sat 3pm Manly V Penrith 8,500
Sat 5.30 Souths V Parramatta 15,000
Sat 7.30 Melb V Raiders 15,000
Sun 2pm Titans V Warriors 15,000
Sun 4pm Roosters V Dragons 30,000