Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 season

The Realist

This team desperately needs more speed AND height in the outside backs. Mansour was never quick even in his prime he was a slowish winger. Now he is downright slow. To'o is reasonably quick but he doesn't have the break away quickness of a young M.Jenning's or the long range speed of someone like Addo-Car.

Both of them are short as well which is increasingly a weakness in the modern game - this will be made worse by the rule changes.

Brian's explosiveness and energy makes up for his weaknesses but with Mansour the negatives outweigh the positives - we cannot carry 2 short wingers with limited speed.

To make matters worse Dean Whare is in pretty much the same boat as Mansour so it is not like we have a centre who can make up for those short comings, and our fullback options (Edwards, Aekins) are not all that quick/tall/explosive either. That leaves one centre position which would have to be Crighton. He is tall and somewhat quick/explosive but still not out and out quick. Nadan isn't out and out quick either.

It is for these reasons why I do not have faith that we will match it with the top teams in out and out attack. If we are to be a true force in this competition it will have to be on the back of great defence - pretty hard to do with so many inexperienced players in an unsettled squad.

Bob

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...0/news-story/bc6f61a9f1929d68c0bd26d5dd1bd9d8

Penrith face nightmare draw to open NRL season 2020
Fatima Kdouh, The Daily Telegraph
March 2, 2020 5:11pm
Subscriber only
These are the five weeks that could make or break Penrith’s premiership tilt.

The Panthers are staring down the barrel of one of the toughest draws to open their campaign, taking on back-to-back premiers the Sydney Roosters, Melbourne and grand finalists Canberra inside the opening five rounds.

After losing eight from their first 10 matches last year, star halfback Nathan Cleary is all too aware of the importance of knocking off the competition’s powerhouses to set a platform for the season.

Watch the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership on KAYO. Every game of every round LIVE & Ad-Break Free during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

b85eb4cb11c6bf11b1e6249d468069da

Cleary knows Penrith must come out firing. Photo: Brook Mitchell/Getty Images
Cleary told The Daily Telegraph his side’s 2019 season was all but over by round 10 and that he is desperate to ensure the club doesn’t suffer a similar fate this year.

similars

“We don’t want to be in the position we were in last year, you don’t win competitions in March but you can definitely lose them,” Cleary said.

“We were two wins and seven losses after nine rounds and chasing our tails for the rest of the year. In a competition where there is so little between the teams, it’s hard to regain the ground you lose.

“That was our downfall last year, we went into round one thinking things were going to happen for us and things were going to fall into place after we had a pretty good preseason. We want to get off to a better start this year.”

5f9137babe8ce0900de0f082be6bfcf9

There were good signs for the Panthers in the trial against Parramatta. Photo: Nathan Hopkins NRL Photos
The Panthers are $3 outsiders with the TAB for their round one match against the Roosters

“You are always a little bit worried about it, but we touched on that [in training],” Cleary, 22, said.

“If we are playing the footy we know we can play we’ll be able to match it with the Roosters. It’s a good opportunity in round one against the world champions to definitely see where we are at. We’ll take a lot of confidence out of the first five rounds if we can get some wins.”

Last year, Penrith’s season was thrown into disarray on the eve of their round one opener against Parramatta after the club became embroiled in a sex tape scandal.

But Panthers veteran Josh Mansour is reluctant to blame the off-field incident for his side’s poor showing in 2019 and the winger believes individual performances weren’t up to scratch, including his own form. It led to coach Ivan Cleary demoting Mansour to Canterbury Cup in May.

FOOTY TIPS! Join Australia’s best footy tipping competition for your chance to win big. Add our experts to your league and join now at TIPS.COM.AU.

662cbaaaf90349dc128166c35503187f

Josh Mansour is desperate for a good year. Photo: Nathan Hopkins NRL Photos
“No doubt, I think it’s pretty obvious last year we had a lot of distractions but we really don’t want to use that as an excuse,” Mansour said.

“We didn’t perform as a team and individually no one could get into any form, which was quite frustrating but it was a challenge that I learned from.

“I took on a leadership role at the start of the year and then I couldn’t get my own form right … and that gives you no leg to stand on when you’re a leader.”

Foxsports3:19
Panthers, Eels can't be split
NRL: The Penrith Panthers and Parramatta Eels couldn't be separated out in Bega, drawing 22-22 in their bushfire relief charity match.

After a string of serious injuries including a ruptured ACL in late 2016 during a Four Nations tour with the Kangaroos in England, and a severe facial injury in 2018, Mansour said he is feeling the healthiest he has in several seasons.

The flyer held his own in Saturday’s trial against Parramatta and incumbent NSW Blues winger Blake Ferguson in Bega.

“I’ve done everything I possibly can to have a big year, every single day I left everything out there of the training field,” Mansour said.

“I feel fit and strong. I didn’t take it as a trial. Coming up against Fergo [Blake Ferguson] and the Eels who are a top four side, I wanted to get a lot of confidence out of the trial and I thought I did that,” he said.

Aliceinwonderland

Curtis Scott is free to play unlike May:

So punching out a police office is not considered as bad a videoing whilst having sex with someone (without their consent)

Me, I thought they were both pretty much on a par.

I can't help but think it's what club you play for rather than the crime involved.

(PS In no way do I condone either crime. Both should be rubbed out)

OldPanther

So punching out a police office is not considered as bad a videoing whilst having sex with someone (without their consent)

I can't help but think it's what club you play for rather than the crime involved.

Either way I'd rather black and white rules so I as a fan who's emotionally invested in my team can set my own expectations going forward.

Kilkenny

I think offences against our law enforcement officers should in many respects be treated as very serious offences. I am comfortable with the player, in this instance Curtis Scott, not being stood down, but if he is found guilty of what has been alleged then in my opinion he should be banished from the game for a period of time similar to say Tyrone May. Assaulting Police Officers cannot and should not be condoned and anyone found guilty of such offences should be dealt with by severe sanctions and intoxication is not a defence.

franklin2323

This isn't by choice. Penrith isn't a desirable club or location. We either pay massive overs for players and get nowhere or punt on youth. I'll take youth everytime

We won’t get stars but can get first graders instead of going with 3 or 4 young guys in the one position. That is where we fell behind

Aliceinwonderland

This isn't by choice. Penrith isn't a desirable club or location. We either pay massive overs for players and get nowhere or punt on youth. I'll take youth everytime

Penrith has won it's 2 premerships on the back of local juniors and a couple of solid journey men.

Dragons, Titians, Warriors have some of the most experienced players. I'll take youth each and every time for experience in the teams just mentioned.

Youth brings energy, fearlessness, can do attitude which sometimes can fade with age.

As the article points out, young teams don’t win premierships. We need to find a better way, that could include a range of things. One just might be holding on to players for longer.

Fangs

As the article points out, young teams don’t win premierships. We need to find a better way, that could include a range of things. One just might be holding on to players for longer.

Or bringing in experience. 2018 was our big chance and a good case study. Maloney was a good start but in hindsight we needed a lot more. The spine had a decent balance of experience before the retirement of Wallace. I don't think we lost heaps when DWZ went to fullback in round 1 but it was a disruption none the less.

Dave's mate

Or bringing in experience. 2018 was our big chance and a good case study. Maloney was a good start but in hindsight we needed a lot more. The spine had a decent balance of experience before the retirement of Wallace. I don't think we lost heaps when DWZ went to fullback in round 1 but it was a disruption none the less.
Anyone who paid close attention to Jimmy's 2017 knew it was a massive risk. One that didn't pay off in the end

Fangs

Anyone who paid close attention to Jimmy's 2017 knew it was a massive risk. One that didn't pay off in the end

Sure but the idea was correct, we needed experience and he brought it in spades. That spine with Moylan wasn't going to win a premiership.

We are faced with a similar situation now. Korisau in place of Maloney.