Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 Rd2: Eels v Storm GAME DAY THREAD @ Bankwest Stadium 18/3

good interview with Roberts:

https://open.spotify.com/episode/4N1I75vyT0ZcxxVTDxFAsX?si=cMAfD690TPu4jZ37SGISKw

Makes the point he was only shown how to play half back at the storm.

basically suggests Stuart time at the eels was a disaster. Reckons BA is a great coach.

I thought Roberts did some good things for us, but he also had some shockers.

I didn't see anything different from him from his time at Melbourne, but I suppose they could have put anyone at halfback with Cameron Smith running the show.

The second Sivo try Gennings didn’t want a bar of it. He kept his distance when he could have easily made an attempt at it.
He actually stood underneath it. Because the risk of dropping the ball is higher when you jump, and the consequences worse when you lose possession near your tryline, he was at a disadvantage to Sivo who had more to gain than lose by leaping for the ball.

how do we have $500k? Fergo’s wage was not factored into our 2022 salary cup spend as he was not signed for 2022.

I think what you are trying to say, is we will be potentially spending less on wingers in 2022 so we can spend (which may have already been spent) more on other positions......

Your assuming guys in our current side are back loaded?

If 13/17 are already signed for the same amount as this season and no backloading then removing one guy costing 500k means we have 500k to spend. We could give that spot to Dunster who is already part of the top 30 meaning we have 500k to spend on another guy. Why has it already been spent? Only if backloaded contracts.....

I think plenty of multi-year contracts increase the amount each year in line with projected increases in the cap, and even projected player improvement. Contracts signed in 2019 would have assumed an increasing salary cap for sure. And young dudes who are good enough for the top 30 would assume the player is going to improve year on year.

Noise

He actually stood underneath it. Because the risk of dropping the ball is higher when you jump, and the consequences worse when you lose possession near your tryline, he was at a disadvantage to Sivo who had more to gain than lose by leaping for the ball.
Wingers need to challenge for the ball in a potential try scoring situation, not stand on the ground waiting for the attacker to make a clean grab at the ball.

Sivo caught the ball 12 metres out from the tryline with plenty of defenders nearby. It was just freak skill that he managed to turn the catch into the try. The defence should have at least forced him to offload after the catch.

If Sivo was defending that kick I reckon he would have stayed on the ground as well. Most wingers would. They would then try to get to ground quickly so they don't get dragged in goal.

I think plenty of multi-year contracts increase the amount each year in line with projected increases in the cap, and even projected player improvement. Contracts signed in 2019 would have assumed an increasing salary cap for sure. And young dudes who are good enough for the top 30 would assume the player is going to improve year on year.
An example is Penisini's recent upgrade. I'd say the second year is almost certainly going to be a lot more than this year for the simple reason that he should be a significantly better player in 2022 and therefore is far more chance of playing first grade next year.

Joshuatheeel

Your assuming guys in our current side are back loaded?

If 13/17 are already signed for the same amount as this season and no backloading then removing one guy costing 500k means we have 500k to spend. We could give that spot to Dunster who is already part of the top 30 meaning we have 500k to spend on another guy. Why has it already been spent? Only if backloaded contracts.....

na

for example Fergo signed for 2019. That squad included rookies in Sivo on the minimum, Drown and Mahoney on cheap money for spine players. They were also probably on cheap deals in 2020.

In 2020, we need to upgrade Drown and Mahoney on a lot more then they were on. So they re-sign which includes 2022.

The club may be offering them amounts for 2022 on the assumption they don’t plan to resign Fergo (or not on $500k).

And considering those 2 are improving each year, it’s quite possible their contacts increase each year.

Additionally Sivo is probably going be on a bit more.

We also signed papa on a 2 year deal. Kaufusi was upgraded / re-signed.

Additionally as per your posts we are also apparently paying more for RCG / Blake in the later part of their contracts (as Panthers not chipping in as much)

all this is why we don’t just have $500k free because Fergo isn’t here,

Joshuatheeel

I thought Roberts did some good things for us, but he also had some shockers.

I didn't see anything different from him from his time at Melbourne, but I suppose they could have put anyone at halfback with Cameron Smith running the show.

It wasn’t so much he got better at the storm, it was more that it was the first time in his career he was coached on what is required of a half back.

na

for example Fergo signed for 2019. That squad included rookies in Sivo on the minimum, Drown and Mahoney on cheap money for spine players. They were also probably on cheap deals in 2020.

In 2020, we need to upgrade Drown and Mahoney on a lot more then they were on. So they re-sign which includes 2022.

The club may be offering them amounts for 2022 on the assumption they don’t plan to resign Fergo (or not on $500k).

And considering those 2 are improving each year, it’s quite possible their contacts increase each year.

Additionally as per your posts we are also apparently paying more for RCG / Blake in the later part of their contracts (as Panthers not chipping in as much)

Yep, it's more that we can't afford to pay Ferguson (or any winger) that $500k (or whatever it is) because we have already spent most of that money on other players for 2022.

Noise

Sivo caught the ball 12 metres out from the tryline with plenty of defenders nearby. It was just freak skill that he managed to turn the catch into the try. The defence should have at least forced him to offload after the catch.

If Sivo was defending that kick I reckon he would have stayed on the ground as well. Most wingers would. They would then try to get to ground quickly so they don't get dragged in goal.
Ill disagree. Wingers almost always jump to catch a bomb when there is a contest for a ball these days (particularly inside the 20m line) because as soon as they are in the air they aren’t allowed to be tackled or pushed. I’m pretty sure Sivo jumped for every catch when defending a bomb when there was an attacker nearby on Thursday.

And back on G Jennings, what did he think would happen by giving Sivo a clean catch at the ball 12m out? No coach would ever tell a winger to let the attacker get a clean grab at the ball that close to the line.

na

We might have a little more money if Jenko is cut from part of the 2021 cap...we'd likely slightly front load some extensions (or at least not backload them as much as usual).

na

Sounds like you've seen the books.
Or like me you are assuming.
We have money to splash is Fergo goes along with MJs money....we shed heaps this year mate and replaced with cheaper options.

Yep, it's more that we can't afford to pay Ferguson (or any winger) that $500k (or whatever it is) because we have already spent most of that money on other players for 2022.

You are guessing....... But that is all.
My guess is he was so bad last year they told him he won't be signed. I reckon at 250k-300k he would be offered a contract. About all worth

Watching the replay again, I think you're all being harsh on George Jennings - the kick was so perfectly placed, that George Jennings had to shuffle backwards to adjust for a split second, and that split second was enough to give Sivo a massive advantage to score the match-winning try.