Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 Rd2: Eels v Storm GAME DAY THREAD @ Bankwest Stadium 18/3

chiefy1

na

for example Fergo signed for 2019. That squad included rookies in Sivo on the minimum, Drown and Mahoney on cheap money for spine players. They were also probably on cheap deals in 2020.

In 2020, we need to upgrade Drown and Mahoney on a lot more then they were on. So they re-sign which includes 2022.

The club may be offering them amounts for 2022 on the assumption they don’t plan to resign Fergo (or not on $500k).

And considering those 2 are improving each year, it’s quite possible their contacts increase each year.

Additionally Sivo is probably going be on a bit more.

We also signed papa on a 2 year deal. Kaufusi was upgraded / re-signed.

Additionally as per your posts we are also apparently paying more for RCG / Blake in the later part of their contracts (as Panthers not chipping in as much)

all this is why we don’t just have $500k free because Fergo isn’t here,

yep but you need to take into account the players we've let go, and there was a heap of them at the end of 2020.
Alvaro 300k
Evans 350k
Taka 250
Jennings money soon 400
George 170
gower 180
davey 160
Terepo 200
Salmon 180

I'm guessing that the total of those omissions would equate to much more than our 2021 signings no doubt

Regarding our cap, we are probably in a good position because of the Jennings situation.

If he is eventually suspended won’t we have his cap money from this year to spend - how would this work?

Does that mean that $400k or whatever his contract (for this year) is available to us to spend next year. Thus we are allowed to spend above the cap amount next year ?

Plus with his 2022 contract amount, We could have potentially $800k free to spend next year.

correct, its backdated from when he was suspended

I'd say we could use this year's cap space to front load an extension or even the final top 30 signing if some useful merkin comes available.

that's generally how other clubs have used the spare cash, if we do the same it puts us in good nick for next season

Joshuatheeel

yep but you need to take into account the players we've let go, and there was a heap of them at the end of 2020.
Alvaro 300k
Evans 350k
Taka 250
Jennings money soon 400
George 170
gower 180
davey 160
Terepo 200
Salmon 180

I'm guessing that the total of those omissions would equate to much more than our 2021 signings no doubt

so you reckon with all those players leaving at the end of 2020, means we are now $1 million under the cap (based on your figure) right now as we haven’t spent the money?

Joshuatheeel

Sounds like you've seen the books.
Or like me you are assuming.
We have money to splash is Fergo goes along with MJs money....we shed heaps this year mate and replaced with cheaper options.

well just assuming Mahoney, Drown, Sivo will be getting paid more next year then the previous 3 years is probably a fair assumption, along with your mail we are paying RCG / Blake more in later years of their contract...

The failure of the officials to actually dish out punishment should see them all sacked.
I don't know if the NRL has even said anything about the incident but if they havent someone needs to grow a set and blast Kaufusi for the dog act that it was

the nrl should scrap this 'on report' bullshit it just gives refs without the guts to send someone to the bin an excuse to pass the problem on to the match review committee

if something's bad enough to go on report then it's bad enough for the bin just grow a pair and do it

chiefy1

so you reckon with all those players leaving at the end of 2020, means we are now $1 million under the cap (based on your figure) right now as we haven’t spent the money?

no but I would say that some of that money would have been used for top ups, but unless we know the real figures we are all guessing.

jk13

Don’t blame them for trying to slow it down. Will b interesting to see if this frenetic pace keeps going , if injuries ramp up or which teams embrace it the best. Teams considered unlikely might now factor in to October

Obscene Assassin

I love Niukore, but I think anyone who thinks that Niukore has the agility, and speed, to play centre against quality opposition in the dry, is kidding themselves a bit.

We were lucky that it was very wet on Thursday night, which played in Niukore's favour a bit.

Also Olam is more a power centre, against opposition that are more fleet-footed he may struggle. But he'd also probably do better in attack as Olam is probably the strongest centre and a good tackler.

yy_cheng

Yeah, like someone said marata will take mattos place for probably 2 weeks

I wouldn't have him at centre unless the opposing centre isnt fleet footed

Alvaro 300k
Evans 350k
Taka 250
Jennings money soon 400
George 170
gower 180
davey 160
Terepo 200
Salmon 180

My guess is that some of your guesses are massively inflated, but in any case, we are likely to have players who are on more (possibly a lot more) than they were on last year.

well just assuming Mahoney, Drown, Sivo will be getting paid more next year then the previous 3 years is probably a fair assumption, along with your mail we are paying RCG / Blake more in later years of their contract...

D.Brown re signed for 650k. I assumed it was for each year including this one. But yes it is possible it goes up each year.
Sivo signed a big deal. Based on last years performance he doesn't get an upgrade. Based on rnd 1 he doesn't. Based on Thursday night he potentially does. Do we base someone's contract on one game though?

My guess is that some of your guesses are massively inflated, but in any case, we are likely to have players who are on more (possibly a lot more) than they were on last year.

AI reckon KE,Taka and Alvaro would be close to mark. All signed when in great form.
Terepo id say 150k max. And the others would all be on min wage contracts

the nrl should scrap this 'on report' bullshit it just gives refs without the guts to send someone to the bin an excuse to pass the problem on to the match review committee

if something's bad enough to go on report then it's bad enough for the bin just grow a pair and do it

I reckon if a player performs an act of foul play that is put on report, it should be an automatic sin bin.

If he was a genuine centre he could handle 2nd row. He played 2nd row in NRL but seemed more suited to the middle.

he's pretty mobile though, after the game has just had I would like to give him another opportunity, if it doesn't work for what ever reason then at least we tried

I mean his crashing defense was awesome its just a matter if he can read the opposing centre, wasn't really much lateral movement from Olam probabaly due to the conditions

and he's a decent hole runner and/or tackle/line breaker, could see him setting up a few opportunities for Fergo, well at least more than the human windmill ever did

even if he is just a back up centre I think he is worth another shot, he didn't look lost and seemed to know what he was doing