Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2022 Crowd Watch

well done Newy
you all knew your team was going to get flogged , & they are. But still .. your appreciation of good RL even if its not played by your team shows you're genuine RL fans.

Heaps of panthers fans there too by the look of it , not exactly a trip up the road either so well done

Knight76

Was a good crowd up there today and when we scored that try late there was an appreciative cheer.

Going to the game knowing your going to get pumped but going anyway, then seeing a good 20k crowd, deserve a competitive team. And there were plenty of Panthers fans around.

Genuinely appreciated watching the Panthers today. Just on another level.

well done Newy
you all knew your team was going to get flogged , & they are. But still .. your appreciation of good RL even if its not played by your team shows you're genuine RL fans.

Heaps of panthers fans there too by the look of it , not exactly a trip up the road either so well done

Yep, exceptional by the Newcastle fans. Their fans are seriously dedicated. I applaud them.
Even with a new state of the art stadium, if the Roosters were travelling like Newcastle are this season, they'd be lucky to get half that attendance.

League Unlimited News

Crowds - Round 14​

North Queensland Cowboys (31) v St George Illawarra Dragons (12)
Fri 10 Jun 7:55PM at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville (Crowd: 14683)
Gold Coast Titans (16) v South Sydney Rabbitohs (30)
Sat 11 Jun 3:00PM at Cbus Super Stadium, Robina (Crowd: 14290)
Sydney Roosters (18) v Melbourne Storm (26)
Sat 11 Jun 5:30PM at Sydney Cricket Ground, Moore Park (Crowd: 12925)
Brisbane Broncos (24) v Canberra Raiders (18)
Sat 11 Jun 7:35PM at Suncorp Stadium, Milton (Crowd: 28142)
Wests Tigers (4) v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles (30)
Sun 12 Jun 2:00PM at Campbelltown Stadium, Leumeah (Crowd: 10231)
Newcastle Knights (6) v Penrith Panthers (42)
Sun 12 Jun 4:05PM at McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton (Crowd: 21332)
Warriors (16) v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (38)
Sun 12 Jun 6:15PM at Moreton Daily Stadium, Redcliffe (Crowd: 3560)
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (34) v Parramatta Eels (4)
Mon 13 Jun 4:00PM at Accor Stadium, Sydney Olympic Park (Crowd: 20184)

Total R14: 125,347
Average R14: 15,668

Season total after R14: 1,615,328
Season average after R14: 14,957

Crowds - Round 14​

North Queensland Cowboys (31) v St George Illawarra Dragons (12)
Fri 10 Jun 7:55PM at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville (Crowd: 14683)
Gold Coast Titans (16) v South Sydney Rabbitohs (30)
Sat 11 Jun 3:00PM at Cbus Super Stadium, Robina (Crowd: 14290)
Sydney Roosters (18) v Melbourne Storm (26)
Sat 11 Jun 5:30PM at Sydney Cricket Ground, Moore Park (Crowd: 12925)
Brisbane Broncos (24) v Canberra Raiders (18)
Sat 11 Jun 7:35PM at Suncorp Stadium, Milton (Crowd: 28142)
Wests Tigers (4) v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles (30)
Sun 12 Jun 2:00PM at Campbelltown Stadium, Leumeah (Crowd: 10231)
Newcastle Knights (6) v Penrith Panthers (42)
Sun 12 Jun 4:05PM at McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton (Crowd: 21332)
Warriors (16) v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (38)
Sun 12 Jun 6:15PM at Moreton Daily Stadium, Redcliffe (Crowd: 3560)
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (34) v Parramatta Eels (4)
Mon 13 Jun 4:00PM at Accor Stadium, Sydney Olympic Park (Crowd: 20184)

Total R14: 125,347
Average R14: 15,668

Season total after R14: 1,615,328
Season average after R14: 14,957

108 games in 2022 after 14 rounds
1,615,328 aggregate at 14,957 a game

108 games in 2019 ( last non covid year & really the only proper gauge of how we're tracking ) after 14 rounds
1,648,381 aggregate at 15,262 a game

I'll put it out there & say if the Warriors were playing at home instead of Redcliffe & we had had an average amount of autumn rain instead of the most since records were taken, , we'd be well ahead of 2019.

bazza

warriors can't get to Mt Smart soon enough - thankfully next week is their last in Redcliffe

mongoose

why are Cowboys crowds so average? I know North Queenslanders are a strange bunch but do they really miss venturing out into the swamps of northern qld to sit on rickety old seating stands , is the new stadium too fancy and modern for them lol?

They have avg'd 19/20k in the past so it is a bit of a mystery why with a much nicer stadium they are a few thou below that this year. 16k is their avg this year at the new stadium.

warriors can't get to Mt Smart soon enough - thankfully next week is their last in Redcliffe
Yeh them and the sharks stinking up the crowd avg for the year! We'd be closer to 16k without them two. Mind you playing games in regional areas with 5-8k at them doesnt exactly help the avg either.

Iamback

Yeh them and the sharks stinking up the crowd avg for the year! We'd be closer to 16k without them two. Mind you playing games in regional areas with 5-8k at them doesnt exactly help the avg either.

Which is why crowd figures aren't the be all and end all.

I like this week Coffs Harbour getting a game. There should be more of it

beave

They have avg'd 19/20k in the past so it is a bit of a mystery why with a much nicer stadium they are a few thou below that this year. 16k is their avg this year at the new stadium.
A wet Sunday arvo home game opener and a Friday night game, couple in with some scrub clubs (Titans, Raiders, Knights) going up to play them don't help.

3 weeks ago they had 23k rock up for the storm game, next home game is vs Brisbane and sold out 2 weeks ago. They also had 18k vs the chooks, tell me who else draws those sorts of numbers for those particular teams anywhere else?

They'll finish with 18-19k average by the end of the year, considering the f**k fight they've been for the last 4 seasons its a decent effort.

Billythekid

Yeah hard to bag out the cowboys. They’ll end up with a pretty solid average that few other teams will have managed in the past decade. They have had a rough few years as well on the field and off it for the local areas.

Yep, exceptional by the Newcastle fans. Their fans are seriously dedicated. I applaud them.
Even with a new state of the art stadium, if the Roosters were travelling like Newcastle are this season, they'd be lucky to get half that attendance.

Newcastle has the best fan base in the league, no question. Over the last decade or so knights fans have been dealt so much shit but just keep on coming.

No need to single out the roosters either, most clubs would be struggling to pull half that crowd with similar form (and some like the roosters would be pulling easily less than half to some).

jim_57

Townsville only has 180-190k population so they have the best per capita crowds easily. Sure they get support from outside of the city but the nearest decent sized population centres are 400kms to the North & South.

Wb1234

Townsville only has 180-190k population so they have the best per capita crowds easily. Sure they get support from outside of the city but the nearest decent sized population centres are 400kms to the North & South.
They aren’t just a Townsville team though

A wet Sunday arvo home game opener and a Friday night game, couple in with some scrub clubs (Titans, Raiders, Knights) going up to play them don't help.

3 weeks ago they had 23k rock up for the storm game, next home game is vs Brisbane and sold out 2 weeks ago. They also had 18k vs the chooks, tell me who else draws those sorts of numbers for those particular teams anywhere else?

They'll finish with 18-19k average by the end of the year, considering the f**k fight they've been for the last 4 seasons its a decent effort.
fair enough, I stand corrected.