Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

SLRBRONCOS

The titans get way too much shit for their crowds especially when you compare it to Sydney. They don’t have the history or success to draw from, of course crowds will be average.
Agree. And not only this, their inception logo was cringe and child like, and their colours suited the coast but not the Titans. The marketing at the start was a complete flop - wasn't really a brand that new fans could be 'proud' of.

If the Dolphins get the early *success* that the Titans got they'll run away with it and be enormous. They are marketable as.

Agree. And not only this, their inception logo was cringe and child like, and their colours suited the coast but not the Titans. The marketing at the start was a complete flop - wasn't really a brand that new fans could be 'proud' of.

If the Dolphins get the early *success* that the Titans got they'll run away with it and be enormous. They are marketable as.

With regards the Dolphins, how many fans that were not Redcliffe fans do you guesstimate may have jumped on board?
I understand this is hard to formulate, but do you think that a lot of new fans are disgruntled Broncos fans or fans that followed a Sydney team but not the Broncos?

SLRBRONCOS

With regards the Dolphins, how many fans that were not Redcliffe fans do you guesstimate may have jumped on board?
I understand this is hard to formulate, but do you think that a lot of new fans are disgruntled Broncos fans or fans that followed a Sydney team but not the Broncos?
I'm sure they didn't take many Broncos fans, and if they did I think they might be the oldies that were Broncos bandwagoners and supported Redcliffe before the Broncos were a thing, or youngsters that haven't fully decided on their team yet. Although we haven't released the figures yet, but judging our prebooked ticketek map I'm certain our ticketed memberships are up hugely on last year.

The Broncos do have a heap of haters in Brisbane after they pillaged their local leagues clubs of sponsors etc, so I think there were a lot that tried to support Sydney teams or Melbourne that might have jumped, but it's just impossible to tell.

The Broncos are hugely powerful in the Brisbane business landscape given our Chairman, and many don't like that.

The Dolphins unofficial facebook fan group already has 60k in there. They are going to be enormous.

Steel Saints

True, but the sharks had a perfect opportunity to take 2-3 potential big drawing games to the SFS this year and haven't done so.

They are only limiting themselves and it can't be more profitable to have 11 000 in shark park with most of the corporate boxes closed than it would be with 20 000 at the SFS.

Small time thinking.

Maybe what the Sharks can do is a "five for five" deal. Take five home games per year for five years at Allianz. And after the deal expires, then reassess the clubs situation in terms of profitability.

The Dragons could do something similar.

I'm sure they didn't take many Broncos fans, and if they did I think they might be the oldies that were Broncos bandwagoners and supported Redcliffe before the Broncos were a thing, or youngsters that haven't fully decided on their team yet. Although we haven't released the figures yet, but judging our prebooked ticketek map I'm certain our ticketed memberships are up hugely on last year.

The Broncos do have a heap of haters in Brisbane after they pillaged their local leagues clubs of sponsors etc, so I think there were a lot that tried to support Sydney teams or Melbourne that might have jumped, but it's just impossible to tell.

The Broncos are hugely powerful in the Brisbane business landscape given our Chairman, and many don't like that.

The Dolphins unofficial facebook fan group already has 60k in there. They are going to be enormous.

Cheers mate.
I sincerely wish them well and one day hope they can one day challenge the Broncos as Brisbane's biggest team.

SLRBRONCOS

Cheers mate.
I sincerely wish them well and one day hope they can one day challenge the Broncos as Brisbane's biggest team.
If they go on a ridiculous run like the Brisbane Lions did and make 4 GFs in a row we are in trouble!!

I want them to be successful too, just don't want them to break my heart in a Grand Final haha

yakstorm

Maybe what the Sharks can do is a "five for five" deal. Take five home games per year for five years at Allianz. And after the deal expires, then reassess the clubs situation in terms of profitability.

Even if they just picked 2-3 games to take to Allianz and make it an event. With their limited capacity, it would at least give fans who can't get a ticket to Shark Park the opportunity to attend a live game for their club and work for all those Sharks fans who no longer live in the Shire (there are plenty of them).

Playing someone likes Souths at Allianz would be a winner at the moment.

shewi6

The Dragons could do something similar.
It would be good to even try 3 games for the sharks against eastern sydney teams and maybe dragons and manly to take 2 big games each there.

Even with 20k there the other week it looked and sounded good and would bode well for big crowds for the odd game there.

If each team can make 2 event games that get atleast 25k then those 12k averages quickly become 15k.

jim_57

I dont disagree but I think it’s legitimate to think yesterday could have been better as the dragons have always drawn quite well up there. Personally I’ve always hoped the titans have a good year. Tying up the south East of Queensland with two (now three) strong clubs has always appealed.

Definitely pretty ordinary yesterday all excuses considered no doubt.
We are seeing with the Dolphins that there were RL fans in Brisbane who for whatever reason weren't attending games.

GC is the same, Maybe pricing is wrong, Timeslots etc. There is no reason in theory they can't get a Newcastle or Cowboys level of support.

ATM they are underperforming in that area

Maybe too early to tell with the Dolphins, their opening game was 10k less than the Titans 16 years ago at the same stadium, since then they’ve sold out Redcliffe and a game Vs Broncos at Suncorp. Hopefully they don’t have a run like the Titans in the next 15 years.

Gold Coast has been run poorly for the majority of their existence and their results on the field have pretty much matched that. I believe if they have a few years in/around the top 4 we’ll see their potential.

As for time slots maybe Sunday afternoon isn’t their ideal time slot with the other options available for locals. I’m sure I remember them having a few head scratcher disappointing crowds for Sunday afternoon games in the past.

@APPSY predicted the low crowd, any insight in to why? Or just a hunch?

Vibing

25k is 0.5% of Sydney population, that's a massive fail and significantly worse than the 2% who turned up to watch the Titans.
1 win out of 10 starts for these 2 & its Accor & its Sydney
fickle is what fickle does

anyone thinking there should be a lot more there isn't being realistic

APPSY

Maybe too early to tell with the Dolphins, their opening game was 10k less than the Titans 16 years ago at the same stadium, since then they’ve sold out Redcliffe and a game Vs Broncos at Suncorp. Hopefully they don’t have a run like the Titans in the next 15 years.

Gold Coast has been run poorly for the majority of their existence and their results on the field have pretty much matched that. I believe if they have a few years in/around the top 4 we’ll see their potential.

As for time slots maybe Sunday afternoon isn’t their ideal time slot with the other options available for locals. I’m sure I remember them having a few head scratcher disappointing crowds for Sunday afternoon games in the past.

I went off of two things - Lack of members showing up over the weekend and the match up itself. A Majority of the West stand (not the side in the sun) is dedicated to members, and usually does not 100% pack out due to members having other commitments like holidays (especially over easter weekend), or just have other things to do that day. some members have the 4 game flexi around the stadium and usually only opt in for the bigger games (Bronx, Bunnies, etc.). Both Titans and Dragons haven't been exceptional this year, and while the Dragons do have a big QLD base, it is just not an appealing enough game if the teams aren't doing well. If the game was later in the season, on a Saturday arvo AND each team was doing alright, it would have gotten a bigger crowd. And As someone who has been attending games at CBUS since 2013, it is pretty easy to tell what the feel of the crowd will be about an hour from kick off. Such as how packed the trains and buses are, how many people are hanging around the stadium, etc. Not sure if all of that entirely makes sense, but that's how I knew it was going to be low I guess.

taipan

25k is 0.5% of Sydney population, that's a massive fail and significantly worse than the 2% who turned up to watch the Titans.
On that basis of crowds to populations basis.Sharks averaging 11,000 out of a population 2022 242,811 = 4.53%
Pulling their weight not to be taken the other way.

taipan

Think the biggest issue that squirted off decent numbers for the Titans in their early years ,when they nearly went belly up with their off site bldg and the many promises.A lot of tradies were not thrilled ATT. I know time heals but not for everyone.Stability for clubs and yes competitiveness are vital.