Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

Pneuma

Get a grip mate, there`s one defence that blows all other defences out of the water.
About 200 000 more viewers every match, every week, the whole bloody year. There is no comeback for that even if they do get a few extra crazies at the ground.
Personally I don’t defend rugby league. Instead I tell of it’s brilliance. If people prefer seagull chip fumbling it’s hardly my problem.

Vibing

lets not polish that turd
that was a poor crowd at Commbank end of

lets also not get carried away by the swines & their turnout
the drops & giggles is still just a niche sport in the nations largest city & state

only 41K bothered to watch it on TV in the harbour city, almost as many as the attendance ,
support for the fumbling game is very , very thin past those screaming baaaawwwllll at skinny white unco dopes in their pretty singlets at the ground in ol Sydney town.

niche is the word that comes to mind, its about as threatening as that 95 year old that got Tasered in Cooma.

Wb1234

Yes. Ticketek always do it. Each week they will release more
Anyone have an origin pax for Sydney

they never used to sell the 600 bays until the sales were over 60k

there’s nowhere else in the stadium available it’s stupid

Wb1234

lets not polish that turd
that was a poor crowd at Commbank end of

lets also not get carried away by the swines & their turnout
the drops & giggles is still just a niche sport in the nations largest city & state

only 41K bothered to watch it on TV in the harbour city, almost as many as the attendance ,
support for the fumbling game is very , very thin past those screaming baaaawwwllll at skinny white unco dopes in their pretty singlets at the ground in ol Sydney town.

niche is the word that comes to mind, its about as threatening as that 95 year old that got Tasered in Cooma.
Almost 15k is fine with origin on next week what do people expect

it’s a depleted cowboys side

greenBV4

Adelaide Oval SOO Nov 4 2020 Crowd 25,218.If they've sold 41k for next Wednesday that's 62.5% increase.That's a 62.5% increase on our product.That should put a smile on your face ,then again we gotta look on the dark side.
This was a covid sell out wasn't it? (50% capacity)

so its a bit disingenuous to claim the 60% increase

it will sell out this year though, stadium members will be the only noticeably empty bays

Yeah you won't sell as many corporate tickets on a Thursday night. Better to take even a 100k profit guaranteed then risk a loss due to very high stadium rental
Not true, weeknights sell better than weekends for corporates. Plus you are ignoring the ticket revenue of 10k fans v stadium costs

it only makes sense if you have no confidence of attracting 20k fans. I’d suggest dolphins are playing there out of nostalgia and lack of confidence in how they’d pull In year 1. Not for business reasons. If they are able to maintain 25k crowds at Suncorp they’d be nuts not to playing there ft.

We criticise the game for having no confidence in itself, but when it marches into enemy territory and proclaims itself to be "real footy" we criticise for fear of offending the locals. Big girl`s blouses.

We are Rugby League: we don`t tackle people from behind but front on; we don`t get one point for a miss; we don`t have a shambles of a game that labels itself a sport. We are real footy which we know is really code for `football for real men.`

You have to remember that that advertising slogan isn`t solely aimed at fumbleball fans ( but we love the dig) it`s aimed at the probably thousands and thousands of South Australians that probably don`t like or are indifferent to fumbleball.

Hopefully they`ll go to the game and then go out and buy a bit of League merch. and then walk around town in their `real footy ` merch. And who`s going to argue.
Don`t be scared boys, you won`t get anywhere by creeping about. In there boots and all.
Honey attracts more than vinegar. Pisssing off a big part of the sports fanbase you’re trying to sell to doesn’t sound like Avery smart strategy to me. But hey I’m sure the nrl know what they’re doing, wait it hasn’t sold out? Lol

It's Been Done

it will sell out this year though, stadium members will be the only noticeably empty bays
It didn't look like the Western Stand which is home to the SACA members in the summer and the SANFL members in the winter had many, if at all bays sold for them. They might've just been given random areas during their pre-sale period unlike Accor, Suncorp and MCC members who have their own dedicated members areas in their respective stadiums

The Redcliffe Stadium costs the club would have anyway.

They train there, So need to upkeep anyway.
Wouldn't they use club security anyway?

The Redcliffe corporate stuff sold out months ago.

Your assumption is every corporate box would be sold at Suncorp, Did they all sell out v Souths?

The club played a Thurs night at Suncorp and got 23k

They can now compare to this week and the club has the answer as to what is better
Extra security , staffing etc would be a lot more for an nrl game than what they normally employ.
dpnt have to sell them all. Redcliffe has very few corporate facilities compared to Suncorp. Dolphins seem to be well supported bu business so selling more boxes at Suncorp shouldnt be a problem.

so they got 13k more at Suncorp. @$50 avg a ticket =$650k More revenue
suncorp $400k to hire.
on ticket sales alone that’s a profit of $250k.

taipan

This was a covid sell out wasn't it? (50% capacity)

so its a bit disingenuous to claim the 60% increase

That it was and using the comparison was perhaps a little OTT.I like to stir the custard so to speak.

I still don't back off from the fact 41K tickets( if correct )in a rabid AFL city is nothing to whinge about.The continual cry from the negative choir about crowds/whatever on the NRL gets my back up.

I'm for constructive criticism, when a game is crap, when penalties for unfilled acts are rarely uniform etc.

greenBV4

That it was and using the comparison was perhaps a little OTT.I like to stir the custard so to speak.

I still don't back off from the fact 41K tickets( if correct )in a rabid AFL city is nothing to whinge about.The continual cry from the negative choir about crowds/whatever on the NRL gets my back up.

I'm for constructive criticism, when a game is crap, when penalties for unfilled acts are rarely uniform etc.
100% agree with you, 40k odd people getting out to a RL game as neutrals in Adelaide is a decent result

It's shocking how unsporting the media are of our game, I'm shocked by the number of articles circulating around putting a negative spin on it

They'll all shut up when it ends up being a "sell out" crowd by kick off

Wb1234

Honey attracts more than vinegar. Pisssing off a big part of the sports fanbase you’re trying to sell to doesn’t sound like Avery smart strategy to me. But hey I’m sure the nrl know what they’re doing, wait it hasn’t sold out? Lol
Nah it’s funny
100% agree with you, 40k odd people getting out to a RL game as neutrals in Adelaide is a decent result

It's shocking how unsporting the media are of our game, I'm shocked by the number of articles circulating around putting a negative spin on it

They'll all shut up when it ends up being a "sell out" crowd by kick off
The goal is to keep playing it in afl states so that it truly becomes a national must watch

So can someone explain to me why billionaire business genius, marketing guru Perth Pelican isn't running the game or Australia?

That's right, he's full of shit.

Loved the crowd at Redcliffe the other night. Love the fact that they can choose to do that.
I love the fact you’re still stuck in the 80’s and think a 10k stadium is fit for a modern day top tier sport. Simply the best ey?

AlwaysGreen

I love the fact you’re still stuck in the 80’s and think a 10k stadium is fit for a modern day top tier sport. Simply the best ey?

You’re stuck in Walter Mitty mode thinking you’re a sports marketing genius.

Dolphins are really establishing themselves in Brisbane, the odd trip to their traditional home ground is a great way to keep that connect.

yakstorm

Not sure why the Warriors haven't made a big deal about it, but Napier is sold out.

Second Warriors sell out this season, and based upon how well next week's match against the Dolphins is selling, if they win tonight, I reckon they will go 23K+ easily.

The Penguin #6.

Not sure why the Warriors haven't made a big deal about it, but Napier is sold out.
It`s just the League way, understated as usual. Hard to know how to feel about that, if we were pumped up prats that might be worse. But for better or worse it just doesn`t seem to be the League way.