Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 TV/Fox/Streaming Ratings

They talk about us like we (QLD / SEQ) are a battle ground. There is no battle. We are Rugby League here always have been, always will be. If there is a battle it would be like a 15 year old smashing his 8 year old brother in an arm wrestle.

I know it is written to get clicks etc. but the AFL are no chance if they think they'll one day dominate here. The game is supported by ex pats, that's it. Yes, there are shit loads of them here but not all of their children will follow AFL, a good percentage will assimilate into the dominant culture which is RL.

I know this for a fact because I'm one of them, both of my parents are Victorian (the shame, I know - don't worry though, I'm a born and bred QLDer). My dad played AFL at a decent level being a first grader for Southport. His whole family (all living in QLD) were AFL tragics. My mum's family still lives in Melbourne and we had regular trips down there for Christmas' etc. All of them AFL tragics too.

This all had zero impact on my brother and I though, because we grew up watching the QLD state of origin heroes, we grew up as the Broncos were entering the comp and as they quickly grew to be the dominant club in the 90's.

It was devastating for my dad when I told him as a 6 year old that I wanted to sign up to play Rugby League for my local club Wynnum Manly. But he took me a long and before too long he was taking me to Broncos games and getting into it himself.

AFL is an ex pat game here. Yes, some kids will stick with their family and become AFL tragics, but most will either watch both or assimilate and follow the NRL because it's cool to do so here.
Can someone post these ratings on bigfooty

The_Wookie

No sign of the 7-day consolidated ratings this week. I been hanging out all week for them because I`m quietly confident that they`re going to show that whilst the crowds are great, only one code is getting the bump that really matters.

Sorry Ive been a little preoccupied with life and work this week to finish it off, Ill try and get it done after dinner tonight

The_Wookie

No sign of the 7-day consolidated ratings this week. I been hanging out all week for them because I`m quietly confident that they`re going to show that whilst the crowds are great, only one code is getting the bump that really matters.

NRL Round 4
Broadcast Total - 5.746m (+15.7%)
Attendance - 162,690 (+30%)

Nine 1.809m (+16.41% on R4 2022)
Metro 985,000 (+9%)
Regional 638,000 (+16%)
BVOD 175,000 (+77%)

Fox 3.937m (+16.47%)
Foxleague STB 2.247m (+22%)
Fox Streaming 1.690m (est) (+9%)

Season Total to date
Broadcast 23.015m (+15% YoY)
Nine 7.075m (+12.7%)
FoxSTB 9.074m (+22%)
Strm Est 6.866m (+8%)

AFL Round 2
Broadcast 5.033m (-2.4% on R2 2022)
Crowd 373,541 (+52%)

Seven 2.283m (-4.7%)
Metro 1.813m (-7.4%)
Reg 606,000 (+18%)

Fox 2.736m (+0.4%)
FoxSTB 1.618m (+10.6%)
Strm Est 1.132 (-11%)

Season Total to date

Broadcast total 10.818m (-5.8%)
Seven 5.082m (-20.5%)
[Seven Broadcast -3.6%]
Fox 5.687m (-4.7%)
Fox STB 3.383n (+3.23%)
Strm 2.353m (-13.6%)

2023 To Date

NRL R1: 6.224m (796k ave)
NRL R2: 5.516m (707k ave)
NRL R3: 5.527m (631k ave)
NRL R4: 5.746m (718k ave)
Total 23.015m (719k ave)

AFL R1: 5.785m (686k ave)
AFL R2: 5.033m (559k ave)
Total 10.818m (601k ave)

Pneuma

Interesting data. Storm shown on GEM 16000 and Fumblions shown on Seven 65000. Difference in total ratings was about 87000. Put the storm on the main channel and the difference narrows considerably. Good old Nein hey?

Colk

Interesting data. Storm shown on GEM 16000 and Fumblions shown on Seven 65000. Difference in total ratings was about 87000. Put the storm on the main channel and the difference narrows considerably. Good old Nein hey?

I reckon most people living in Victoria who follow league would watch via Fox or streaming. Same as in WA SA and Tassie.

In essence though the reason why Nine’s ratings are s*** relatively to the fumbles is that they have had no interest in actually marketing the asset or acquiring greater rights than the 3 games.

Pneuma

I reckon most people living in Victoria who follow league would watch via Fox or streaming. Same as in WA SA and Tassie.

In essence though the reason why Nine’s ratings are s*** relatively to the fumbles is that they have had no interest in actually marketing the asset or acquiring greater rights than the 3 games.
True but by having it on the main station they’d pick up more casual viewers who don’t have fox or are consistent Nein viewers. They just don’t invest in the game. If they offered a better product (I.e. commentary etc not the game itself) and purchased more games they could really bite into those fox numbers.

Colk

True but by having it on the main station they’d pick up more casual viewers who don’t have fox or are consistent Nein viewers. They just don’t invest in the game. If they offered a better product (I.e. commentary etc not the game itself) and purchased more games they could really bite into those fox numbers.

100% I know people are talking up a Stan bid but I wouldn’t trust them to a) pull the trigger and try and get the whole thing and b) even if they were somehow to do it to invest it in properly.

I think the game needs to get rid of at least one of Fox and Nine.

Steel Saints

Plus Nine forced the NRL to scale back it's digital arm.

Wb1234

100% I know people are talking up a Stan bid but I wouldn’t trust them to a) pull the trigger and try and get the whole thing and b) even if they were somehow to do it to invest it in properly.

I think the game needs to get rid of at least one of Fox and Nine.
They made an offer for afl and other sports

they were quoted as saying the only reason they didn’t bid for league is Stan wasn’t around when the deal got done with fox

The_Wookie

They made an offer for afl and other sports

they were quoted as saying the only reason they didn’t bid for league is Stan wasn’t around when the deal got done with fox

STAN had been around since 2015 as a joint venture with Fairfax (which was taken over by Nine in 2018), Fox deal was signed May 2020 and STAN Sport started November 2020. STANs deal with Rugby was signed 11 November 2020. The Fox deal was increased by 100m in October 2021 to accommodate the Dolphins.

Wb1234

STAN had been around since 2015 as a joint venture with Fairfax (which was taken over by Nine in 2018), Fox deal was signed May 2020 and STAN Sport started November 2020. STANs deal with Rugby was signed 11 November 2020. The Fox deal was increased by 100m in October 2021 to accommodate the Dolphins.
If vlandys has waited a few months it would’ve been a different ball game

I'm the same, even though Wookie is an AFL troll and I give him a hard time sometimes it is a big effort on his part to put all the numbers together.
In my opinion i don't think he's a troll.
I'm sure he's get plenty of stick from fumbleball fans when he posts TV ratings for both sports if it doesn't suit the insular big footy posters agenda.

If vlandys has waited a few months it would’ve been a different ball game
Almost like he’d have been better off not locking in a 5 year extension and talking to ch9 before doing his masters (news ltd) bidding lol

best thing that could happen Imo is if a fta/streaming All in one wins nrl rights, it takes away the competition between fta and ptv and means we should get a saturday night fta game.