Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 TV/Fox/Streaming Ratings

Iamback

I reckon most people living in Victoria who follow league would watch via Fox or streaming. Same as in WA SA and Tassie.

In essence though the reason why Nine’s ratings are s*** relatively to the fumbles is that they have had no interest in actually marketing the asset or acquiring greater rights than the 3 games.

When every AFL game is on Fox. The drop will be on FTA. ATM if you live in WA, SA hell even a Swans fan. You can watch on 7 or 7mate

Diesel

Also for those thinking that AFL is gaining any sort of ground in Brisbane, two non-QLD teams outrate the Lions in Brisbane easily
Since the dolphins started there is Saturation of RL coverage in Brisbane.
up until last year you’d hear about the Lions but this year it’s totally different in the media, tv/radio/print or even in the office or at a local BBQ.

Not o

Not only that, we can open negotiations up for the next deal, in 2024 or one year/18mths away. The AFL are still on their 2023-2024 deal, so we can do the same. open early negotiations with 3+ years to go. So really we are talking about the new deal, when it's almost upon us to negotiate. If the NRL can put a 10mth program with pre season action, say World Nines, with proper season and a World International Invitational ( WIIT) tournament ( in conjunction with Poms) call it Hemisphere champions with a play off, this action to finish in late November ( when TV rating period finish 30 nov) that's a solid program that could bring in $550 to $615 million p/a or yearly.
Tv deal doesn’t run out until end of 2027. Negotiations will likely happen mid/late 2025.

theres a heap of content for a streaming service available from RL. Come on down Stan and paramount!

Harry O

When will Nine show every game? as many are missing out and can't afford Foxtel.. just imagine if they did the ratings would go thru the roof even more...

Billythekid

massive ratings. Check the broncos match. Fmd
That had to be one of the highest rating raiders games ever. Pretty good considering most were expecting a walkover. Thankfully the raiders showed up.

I went to Bunnies vs Dogs game, then hit the Easter Show with family. Was in a high. Got home near half time for Dolphins Cowboys and in laws had 9 on.
Listened to Gus Gould maudlin moan was excruciating and at half time, my father in law left room, my boys switched to Fox and hid the controller .
Gus was seriously f**king horrible. And a couple times a year (SOO etc) you get reminded just how off putting he is.

Colk

That had to be one of the highest rating raiders games ever. Pretty good considering most were expecting a walkover. Thankfully the raiders showed up.

Probably for a competition game yeah. We would have higher selling finals games of course.

Iamback

I went to Bunnies vs Dogs game, then hit the Easter Show with family. Was in a high. Got home near half time for Dolphins Cowboys and in laws had 9 on.
Listened to Gus Gould maudlin moan was excruciating and at half time, my father in law left room, my boys switched to Fox and hid the controller .
Gus was seriously f**king horrible. And a couple times a year (SOO etc) you get reminded just how off putting he is.

After the hiding his club got, No wonder. He doesn't take losing very well.

Iamback

When will Nine show every game? as many are missing out and can't afford Foxtel.. just imagine if they did the ratings would go thru the roof even more...

They can't afford too, Production costs alone are massive