Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aku Uate

Serc

Mate...Uate grabbed the goddam ball off a kick off and then scored a try in that same play. You don't see that kind of sh*t from wingers nowadays, he is the ideal winger(defense aside), noone better than him atm.

His defence is improving rapidly...one of the main reasons why he only got a few chances to play last year was because he had much to learn about defence, and footy in general. They say he still has much to learn, but I reckon he is now at the stage where his general footy and defence could be considered 'adequate'. Though he still makes his fair share of rookie mistakes, just they are steadily becoming few and far between.

Noname36

uate should replace morris if anyone. gordon should not lose his spot

I have a feeling that they'll put Dugan at fullback next year if Hayne's positioning doesn't improve a bit, which means they'll probably move Hayne to the wing. Which leaves Uate, Gordon and Morris to fight it out for the other wing spot. Uate is by far the most talented imo, but Gordon has done enough to keep his spot, and I'm assuming he will.

timka4

Well I think having Hayne out of the side for a bit may help. You know those 3 below won't go missing in a game through a lack of effort, you know they will bust their asses for NSW.

1.Dugan
2.Uate
5.Gordon (If he keeps playing well)

Noname36

If Parra keep having halves problems, they might even move Hayne to 5/8. Knowing NSW, they'd probably be stupid enough to pick Hayne at 5/8.

andrew057

Well I think having Hayne out of the side for a bit may help. You know those 3 below won't go missing in a game through a lack of effort, you know they will bust their asses for NSW.

1.Dugan
2.Uate
5.Gordon (If he keeps playing well)

Give me a break, Hayne has been by FAR NSW best back for the past two seasons.

Noname36

That's the issue though. Hayne is one of (if not the) best player NSW has, but there are other players that have the jump on him positionally. Dugan is a better fullback (due to Hayne's tendency to get caught out of position), there are better wingers and 5/8s, and it isn't fair to pick him at centre when he hasn't played there in years. He's our best player, but I'm struggling to find a spot for him. Could maybe put him on the bench, but I'm assuming Gidley will be picked there because of his ability to play 9 and anywhere in the backline.

hutch

That's the issue though. Hayne is one of (if not the) best player NSW has, but there are other players that have the jump on him positionally. Dugan is a better fullback (due to Hayne's tendency to get caught out of position), there are better wingers and 5/8s, and it isn't fair to pick him at centre when he hasn't played there in years. He's our best player, but I'm struggling to find a spot for him. Could maybe put him on the bench, but I'm assuming Gidley will be picked there because of his ability to play 9 and anywhere in the backline.

hayne will be the starting fullback next year, dugans time will come but he will have to wait a bit longer. hayne is still nsw's best fullback!

timka4

True it would be hard being the best back with Beau Scott in your back line. I do think he has been great, But I think Dugan would do a better job at Fullback.

I wish I could have Hayne in my side, but I just don't think he can play Wing anymore. AUS v NZ test this year and 1st State of Origin this year as examples. He is a fullback now not a winger.

timka4

Dugan is a better fullback (due to Hayne's tendency to get caught out of position), there are better wingers and 5/8s, and it isn't fair to pick him at centre when he hasn't played there in years. He's our best player, but I'm struggling to find a spot for him.
This

RHCP

The games Hayne has played on the wing he has done much better than what he has at fullback.

Benji Magic

I don't care how good he is, he shouldn't be picked.
He isn't from NSW, he isn't from Australia. He's a Fijian, he should play for Fiji.

RHCP

Greg Inglis 'should' be playing for NSW, Lote Tuqiri 'should' be playing fo Fiji, Ben Teo 'should' be playing for New Zealand and Neville Costigan 'should' be playing for Papua New Guinea.

I don't care where he's born, he's a product of NSW Rugby League and I want the best players we can get playing for the Blues.

timka4

No doubt if Dugan is selected at Fullback (which he won't be for the first 2 games at least) Hayne will be one of the wingers. Even if he deserves it or not