Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Another billionaire wants to buy us...

'The Mighty Newcastle Knights' Facebook page has some intelligent RL minds as well.

The page infuriated me, my only solace was to troll them. Took them a long time to realise the troll and then they banned me.

I reckon the guys on the mighty knights page would consider a knights nannas takeover the best thing that could happen to the knights.

Rod

I have no problem with people with opposing views, in fact if its someone with intelligent points who can actually back up their argument I actually prefer it as its more interesting than people agreeing all the time.

However if people come in spouting crap and can't back it up then they get the treatment they deserve.

Misanthrope

Nah your mad everyone else is the problem besides you ten guys I hope you are all nicer people in real life other wise f**k me you all must make people miserable!

And mis great to see you've joined the crew I've always respected you a great deal but good to see you think I'm a f**kwit. Not fussed (even flattered) by the others animosity as they have been jerks for years but expected a little more from you.

Mate, I respect people who argue their opinion with a point to back it up. All you've done in this thread is express your opinion of 'Nah', without any real backing to it.

You've basically either completely ignored people's points/arguments or trotted out the same ill-thought out 'Tinkler = all billionaires' argument that the small-minded feebs on the Mighty Newcastle Knights FB page have trotted out.

It frustrates me because the club is run like a f**king local league club who couldn't adequately arrange a chook raffle and it has been from day one. Small minded, small town thinking is the reason for this - and the over-arcing blind fear of change is the big reason for it.

It's indicative not just of the awful state the club is in, but also the city itself. There's a reason beyond money that players don't want to come to Newcastle, and a big part of that is this backwards thinking that the 80s were grouse and we should never move on from them. I loved the vibe of Newcastle, but f**k it's a backwoods.

Back on point, you've basically argued that any billionaire will be as bad as Nathan Tinkler, so we should... I'm not sure what. Your suggested alternative seems to be 'do nothing' or, worse, 'go back to how it was'.

This guy has money (unlike Tinkler, who just had assets) and has shown he's intensely passionate about Salford - a f**king abortion of a club that doesn't have a tenth of the foundation to build on that Newcastle has.

As long as the club and its followers maintain this abject terror when it comes to changing from being a little league club in a big pond, the club will continue to be the laughing stock it largely is.

We can't rely on conjuring up another Andrew Johns to make us relevant again.

I've stated my opinion I'd like us to be run as a members based club with an nrl picked board and ceo with a rep or 2 from the members clubs.

I feel going the way of another billionaire would alienate a lot of the last 18000 that are left that turn up week in week out.

With a bit of success existing nrl grants our potential revenue could still make us a very competitive club.

Much better in my oppinion then becoming a soulless billionaires toy.

Misanthrope

I've stated my opinion I'd like us to be run as a members based club with an nrl picked board and ceo with a rep or 2 from the members clubs.

I feel going the way of another billionaire would alienate a lot of the last 18000 that are left that turn up week in week out.

With a bit of success existing nrl grants our potential revenue could still make us a very competitive club.

What are we being funded by? Solely NRL grants and sponsorship? It's been shown that this simply isn't enough to run a successful professional sports club.

You either need a private owner (be it a billionaire or a corporation) or you need a leagues club willing to sink money into it.

Wests aren't exactly clamoring to piss their money down the drain.

I do agree we need a NRL selected board, because the club has shown again and again it doesn't have the faintest idea how to separate 'good mates' from 'professional sports club'. How the f**k did Matthew Gidley, a man who as far as I'm aware knows nothing about running a business larger than a f**king butchery, the CEO of our club?

You trot out Tinkler as an example of a bad billionaire, but what about the good work Russell Crowe (not a billionaire, but a rich, private owner) did with South Sydney? Does it not count because he's an Aussie and this potential buyer is Palestinian-British?

Maybe wests just wants there boxes ticked and for them not to be rushed.

If this guy is willing to provide iron clad safeguards so we don't get tinklered again I would reluctantly jump on board.

Just find it a tad weird everyone wants to jump in bed with the first person showing us interest since we royally got screwed under the fat man.

Being nrl managed again isn't ideal but should we rush blindly into something.

Noname36

Bottom line is we're never going to be run as a members club again. There's a reason the NRL jumped in and stopped the buy back. They want us privately owned, the only question remaining will be what person, or what group of people that is.

I'm not sold on Koukash yet either. It doesn't mean that I'm against him, but I'd just like to learn more about him, his motivations and vision before i'm completely on board. I really like the sound of him, but hope whoever is running the joint at the moment cover all bases if this is to come to fruition.

Either way we're going to be owned privately whether it's him or whoever. The NRL will set us up with a board to keep us going for now and to make us more attractive to buyers or Wests, but at the end of the day their plan is to find us a new buyer or buyers. They've been upfront about that since they took the club over.

Misanthrope

Maybe wests just wants there boxes ticked and for them not to be rushed.

If this guy is willing to provide iron clad safeguards so we don't get tinklered again I would reluctantly jump on board.

Just find it a tad weird everyone wants to jump in bed with the first person showing us interest since we royally got screwed under the fat man.

Being nrl managed again isn't ideal but should we rush blindly into something.

I don't think anybody has said we should jump blindly into bed with him. There's been enthusiasm for the prospect, but obviously we'd need any purchase to include more ironclad guarantees than those that Tinkler had offered us.

A passionate, league loving businessmen with money and a knowledge of the game just seems superior, to me, to a passionate, league loving group of people with no money and no real knowledge on how to run a business.

As to Wests, I'm not sure how I'd feel about them being on board. Not sure how passionate they genuinely are about the team.

Dave_

I think it's great that we have differing opinions here and they are debated so passionately. I'm one of the guys who reads alot more than I post and find this the best place to discuss/read about my team. The opinions of most here are refreshingly logical and not always that of the majority but tend to make more sense in general.

I think as long as we don't take anything personally we can debate and argue our points as long as we want. If anything it just shows how passionate we are but at the end of the day it's just a footy forum, no one hates anyone.

Have you guys noticed theirs about 10 super fans here and no one else and on other sites theres literally 20 times more active members and always new joining its pretty sad you don't realise you guys are the pretentious f**kwits.

The fact you despise anyone with an opposing view shows how little you are.

Honestly when is the last time someone new stuck around?

You guys are just sad try hards and don't realise it.

despise is a harsh word Baron. Maybe you should think more before you get so defensive. Your statements really are outrageous in their content. You invite the responses you get. In fact I think you need it to feel superior.

Burwood

Small minded, small town thinking is the reason for this - and the over-arcing blind fear of change is the big reason for it.

As long as the club and its followers maintain this abject terror when it comes to changing from being a little league club in a big pond, the club will continue to be the laughing stock it largely is.

So what would you call what happened on 31 March 2011? An aberration?

Misanthrope

So what would you call what happened on 31 March 2011? An aberration?

Not at all. It was a rare show of faith (although it was in a Novocastrian). Unfortunately, the club was never going to succeed when the same small town mentality dictated team selection policy and the management of the club.

despise is a harsh word Baron. Maybe you should think more before you get so defensive. Your statements really are outrageous in their content. You invite the responses you get. In fact I think you need it to feel superior.

Happy to take the personality out of it if the attacks on me stop I respect your guys passion however a bit more tolerance to others oppinions would be pleasant.

Burwood

Not at all. It was a rare show of faith (although it was in a Novocastrian). Unfortunately, the club was never going to succeed when the same small town mentality dictated team selection policy and the management of the club.

Genuine question, but what team selections or club management was dictated?

I apologise for my post basically calling everyone a deadshit I don't know you guys aside from here and it's rather disgusting of me to make assumptions about you all.