Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin

OldPanther

Just because a player was at a club doesn’t mean they were already developed.

You’ve completely missed the point.

For example, Everyone agreed N Cleary wouldn’t of got a run under his dad for another 2+ years if he was still head coach. He probably wouldn’t of even played NSW Cup.

Because Ivan wanted to avoid the nepotism issue.

darkbloom

There’s no doubt Gus is hard to work with but he’s managed to maintain working relationships with players and administrators across a number of clubs and nswrl for a lot success.
I think you should review his track record on the working relationships bit of that. statement. Generally his working relationships last 2-3 years, with the final year being pretty toxic. Of course this may be only partially due to to Gus but this current situation seems pretty standard to me.

betcats

I think you should review his track record on the working relationships bit of that. statement. Generally his working relationships last 2-3 years, with the final year being pretty toxic. Of course this may be only partially due to to Gus but this current situation seems pretty standard to me.

He’s been working with Fittler for 30 years. Brandy. Politis. I can find more long term examples probably. Cleary is keen to come back also despite Gus.

martielang

Are you saying we didn’t have successful lower grade teams before hook?

We had blooded many juniors under Cleary, there was obviously a pathway for them, it’s a fact.

Why don’t you think for yourself, have you forgotten all the juniors Cleary brought through?

Then why did we hire Hook?

The fact Gus headhunted Hook for his strengths in junior development prove their were clear issues with the path ways.

I’m not saying he’s responsible for everything but he was brought here to fix an issue that you’re arguing we didn’t have. It doesn’t add up.

betcats

Then why did we hire Hook?

The fact Gus headhunted Hook for his strengths in junior development prove their were clear issues with the path ways.

I’m not saying he’s responsible for everything but he was brought here to fix an issue that you’re arguing we didn’t have. It doesn’t add up.

We needed a coach and he shared a manager with Gus, I think that’s the biggest reason. We didn’t even interview him.

You really think Gus would bring this guy in to ask him how to develop first graders??? Lol I thought Gus was arrogant.

We were already developing quality first graders before hook. That’s a fact written in stone mate. Hook making false claims doesn’t change that.

franklin2323

That comment isn't true or at least is only partially true. He definitely contributed but it's not all on him as he'd have us believe.

He also said what I mentioned in my last comment about the qork pre Griffin either didn't happen or wasn't constructive. Why ignore that for another of his comments?

I was looking for stuff to answer that. I remember Yeo, Blake and co being injury cover. I was going to check when I got to work before answering.

Look at Sharks. They have great juniors yet don't use them in FG. Same too with Parra. That is how I remember ours being. I remember at the time complaining they should be in FG over Lewis Brown and co

martielang

Lmao.

Yeah..hook developed all the juniors. Even those in the system before he arrived.

Nevermind that his only contribution was pushing out experienced guys. Giving them a shot and slowly moulding them into robots and removing what made them special.

Gould wants to develop players that aren't robots. Hook refused.

Are you f**king 12?? You never actually answer a question you just go on a tangent about some irrelevant bullshit which has nothing to do with my question.

Answer this.

Why did we headhunt Griffin in the first place?

franklin2323

We needed a coach and he shared a manager with Gus, I think that’s the biggest reason. We didn’t even interview him.

You really think Gus would bring this guy in to ask him how to develop first graders??? Lol I thought Gus was arrogant.

We were already developing quality first graders before hook. That’s a fact written in stone mate. Hook making false claims doesn’t change that.

Gus did say way back the aim was to have a squad of 80% of local juniors... So it's plausible

martielang

So out of all the coaches available on the market he just randomly selected the one known for junior development from the club who’s junior development program he idolised?

betcats

So out of all the coaches available on the market he just randomly selected the one known for junior development from the club who’s junior development program he idolised?

Oh get your hand off it.

He said no constructive work had been done before he got there. That’s just false. We can see the work that had been done already.

Aliceinwonderland

I am sure Hook is a good bloke. Good blokes though often don't make great coaches.

Gus (God bless him) is a bloke I'd hate to cross, he has many 'qualities' in the same vein as a bulldogs giant called Bullfrog Moore, or Chooks Nick Politis. He is no angel. He is as sneaky as the best of them. He now has made Panthers play with the big boys. This is my mind is wonderful. We are now not the charming 'everyone's 2nd team' with great juniors but whom are stupid. Too nice for our own good.

Panthers are in the process of pulling a huge 'swift one'. Will it work, I have no idea. But you know what I admire their 'balls' in even attempting it.

Hook God bless him also. Is quite naive when it comes to all of this. He is claiming that Panthers were a huge basket case when he arrived. Gus and Ivan had just done most of the hard yards, we all know that. Hook just helped ice the cake.

It's been fascinating listening to the words of former players Hannett, Chicko and Soward. There words shine a light on this subject well.

Hook's attempt to show Gus as being 'out of touch' with modern footy ways is pretty funny. This is the bloke whom Freddy used as a sounding board during state of origin this year.

Thanks for you're work Hook. But your time here is now done.

kinghippo

A question that I am unclear of now is what is the coaches job specifically?
I know there are a large amount of excellent resources, former players, skills coaches all interested in getting their opinions and ideas across.
Gould says Griffin wouldn’t take any help or advice, I wonder if that includes all these people who’s job it is or the players themselves.
Griffin seems to imply that he built the club from the ground up (with a focus on the juniors who were already winning grand finals before he got there)shouldn’t the coach just be focusing on our first grade team?
I know they obviously have to keep an eye on all the other squads but surely the main focus should be on football, team attack, D, player progression, opposition research, game plans etc.

OldPanther

Ivan asked for help.

Gus said no.

Hired Griffin.

Reationship strained over "coaching philosophy" leadd to losing Moylan.

Realised modern coaches can't do everything (evidenced by Roosters, Storm, Broncos) and Griffin took this as Ciraldo was undermining him on behalf of Gus.

Gus realises it was a mistake to sack Ivan and Ivan was right wanting help (the statement that he though he was right sacking Ivan even he wasn't was an admission).

Board chase Ivan for when his contract ends but Ivan wants now to help develop Nathan.

Gus sacks Griffin early because you can't have a coach in the finals going for a premiership when all the talk is about his successor in a few months(Griffin admitted he knew he'd not last the year).

Big media shit storm with fans blaming Gus most of all.

I'm not angry...never said i was. I"m just addressing a specific accusation of unethical conduct regarding coaches levelled st the tigers. That the tigers can seek compensation is beside the point....you personally could also seek compensation for any act of vandalism on your property but that doesn't justify the act. True....as you say some clubs will do anything in their own self interest but how far in that direction do you want to go? Gus's strutting press conference on Tuesday was full on roosters predatory arrogance. ..he's toned it right down in words and attitude since the blowback from across the league community and the tigers immediate pushback...get Cleary or not it's been a P.R. and image disaster but if winning's the only thing as it is at Gus's almamata ( Bondi Junction) then that shouldn't be a problem...it'll blow over soon enough and you can go on your merry do anything it takes winning way.

It’s not that you can seek compensation, it’s that you can legally withhold Cleary’s services if you like. That’s your end of the contract.

But I think it’s fair criticism to say that the tigers have done similar.