Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are the Melbourne storm the most boring team in the history of RL ?

Are the storm boring ?

T-Boon

Whether they deserve to keep them after having developed them is another argument.

Storm don't get much credit for "developing" Inglis because he was the most recruited junior footballer ever. Every club wanted him and he was never going to be anything but a superstar.

I am guessing Cam Smith was similar (though I admit that is pure speculation on my part). I'd say Melbourne get full credit for Cronk's development because I seriously doubt he would even be a rep player if he was in another system that doesn't revolve around complete, obsessive structure.

StormHi

Storm don't get much credit for "developing" Inglis because he was the most recruited junior footballer ever. Every club wanted him and he was never going to be anything but a superstar.

I am guessing Cam Smith was similar (though I admit that is pure speculation on my part). I'd say Melbourne get full credit for Cronk's development because I seriously doubt he would even be a rep player if he was in another system that doesn't revolve around complete, obsessive structure.

image.gif

Sour little merkins like you slinging around baldface lies like it is fact crack me up.

StormHi

Whether they deserve to keep them after having developed them is another argument. They systematically broke the rules to keep them and it can be easily argued are continuing to reap the reward.

The fact is other clubs in the competition lose talented players due to the salary cap. If teams break the integrity of that to the degree of the Storm they should be hammered with punishments.

image.jpeg
Because we did not lose any talented players........

And guess what just like every other team
we also lose talented players to the cap.

taipan

Have to say this year the Storm are clinical and do the job ,but the Dogs and Dragons(more so) played a mind numbing brand of football.Love to see ball movement in the backline,angle running,offloads,quick passing,do it in 2017,for your fans' sake.

Spade

Storm aren't boring they just know how to grind out wins and do it well.

Dragons would be the most boring, closely followed by the Bulldogs and probably Titans.

Penrose Warrior

Lol what a bunch of sooks there are in this thread. Jealous their own team is not there so have to bag out one which plays a shitload better than the team they support.

Top of the ladder and Grand Finalists. Sook all you want, they were the best team all year so sucked in to the rest of the comp.

It's a results business and they got the results. Don't care who wins on Sunday, whoever does will deserve it as long it's not decided on damn ref blunder

Man, I wish my team was successful so I could bag them out...

Oh wait, my team used to beat them regularly during their salary cap cheating years! Yes! I can safely call them the wrestling, hypocritical, cheating merkins they are without too much accusation of sookery. I could care less about the boring stuff, I don't particularly like watching them in that sense but I understand that D wins premierships, and I wish my side could do the same.

Would I love the Storm if I was born there or inherited fandom? Yeah, course I would. But I wasn't. Me, and a lot of other people would much rather they didn't succeed. That's cool, that's our right. No need to get your tits in a tangle about it.

POPEYE

Oh wait, my team used to beat them regularly during their salary cap cheating years! Yes! I can safely call them the wrestling, hypocritical, cheating merkins they are without too much accusation of sookery. I could care less about the boring stuff, I don't particularly like watching them in that sense but I understand that D wins premierships, and I wish my side could do the same.

Would I love the Storm if I was born there or inherited fandom? Yeah, course I would. But I wasn't. Me, and a lot of other people would much rather they didn't succeed. That's cool, that's our right. No need to get your tits in a tangle about it.

Spot on ol' mate, I've only seen Melbourne play live once since 1998, even then the Big 3 were rested . . . bellyache thought it funny dragging me across the Bluey's to watch his beloved Roosters win. Still, I've a right to buy a few jerseys and follow the Storm just because I can. I also reserve the right to call people who think they 'cheated' fools . . . why, because it's just a f**king game, all a bit of fun

Aus_Dog

Of course it's your right, just as it is my right to call you a big sook

Walpole

Dragons boring?! You're kidding!!

Okay, the first five one-out hit ups might be boring but then Benji throws a pass into the crowd or Widdop runs around in ever decreasing circles before grubber kicking the ball into a defender. You can't say you see that in any other games!

Penrose Warrior

Spot on ol' mate, I've only seen Melbourne play live once since 1998, even then the Big 3 were rested . . . bellyache thought it funny dragging me across the Bluey's to watch his beloved Roosters win. Still, I've a right to buy a few jerseys and follow the Storm just because I can. I also reserve the right to call people who think they 'cheated' fools . . . why, because it's just a f**king game, all a bit of fun

Then we all agree old friend. Nothing personal between us all, no need for name calling (sook is a name, FYI other posters), just some of us think the Storm are at the forefront of what makes our game hard to follow at times, others love them unwaveringly, others are jealous of their style and success. I'm a bit of the last one and a fair bit of the first one.

We all need a villain in any walk of life, let alone sport.

taipan

Okay, the first five one-out hit ups might be boring but then Benji throws a pass into the crowd or Widdop runs around in ever decreasing circles before grubber kicking the ball into a defender. You can't say you see that in any other games!

They adapted these ideas from fumble ball.Every which way and loose.Widdop's stint in Melbourne brought this " creativity" to the Dragons.

Dragons v Roosters on Anzac Day was hilarious, I don't believe anyone could call it boring!

rockcod

If we think Storm invented this new slow style of play then should we hate on all the other teams / coaches for copying them? The Storm are entitled to play however they like and they haven't encouraged anyone to play the same way.

It's like Bennett sooking about it while he's out there coaching it at the same time.

Pete Cash

The current interpretation of the ruck is to blame. Teams can't compete without being able to wrestle a bit.

The raiders put a lot of points on last year but finished out the 8. We improve our wrestle this year and finish 2nd in the regular season.

I don't think there is an easy answer but sides need to be able to wrestle and control the pace of the game.

MilkShark

If we think Storm invented this new slow style of play then should we hate on all the other teams / coaches for copying them? The Storm are entitled to play however they like and they haven't encouraged anyone to play the same way.

It's like Bennett sooking about it while he's out there coaching it at the same time.
You don't understand rugby league real well do you?

The current interpretation of the ruck is to blame. Teams can't compete without being able to wrestle a bit.

The raiders put a lot of points on last year but finished out the 8. We improve our wrestle this year and finish 2nd in the regular season.

I don't think there is an easy answer but sides need to be able to wrestle and control the pace of the game.

I don't mind the pace of the game at the moment. But if i'm honest it's never fussed me either way. Different seasons have seen different styles of play flourish.

However if you wanted to speed it up there's two things.
1 - Holding down on the ground, give players a little less time from the completion of the tackle to get up, regardless of whether there are two or three defenders on the pile.
2 - Holding up off the ground, call held and make players release as soon as momentum is stopped.

BUT there are always consequences to this in professional footy. Coaches exploit changes rapidly. If you don't allow defenders any hold time, we have attackers hitting the ground early on purpose to get a quick 'dump' and we're basically playing the whole game from dummy half touch footy style.

Be careful what you wish for.

Pete Cash

I agree Adam

I'd rather more competition than less and a bit of wrestle is no big deal to me. Just penalise the especially grubby holds.

Storm control the game better than any team ever. But they also can attack and score some great tries. They have two of the best wingers in the comp.