Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beer Thread

Cans chill down faster, but they aslo warm up quicker (SCIENCE!!!)

They also manage to make every single beer taste just about the same, unless it's got enough hops to overpower the tinny taste.

Speaking of cans, Asahi 1L cans 3 for $10 at work. I may not rate canned beer, but for that price for 3L I'll sure as shit drink it!

Misanthrope

My brothers and I grabbed a sixer of six packs this arvo to tide us over for tomorrow evening. Just grabbed a random assortment of beers:

- Matilda Bay Minimum Chips
- Squire One Fifty Lashes
- Squire Sundown
- Asahi
- Corona
- Burleigh Brewing Hef

Grabbed a few tallies of CC & Dry as well, which isn't beer, but makes me similarly charming.

currently imbibing mad abbot Christmas ale..

2013 cellar release..

11.3% abv..

so help me baby Jesus..

I'm on the Miller Draughts. It's basically Carlton Dry now that it's brewed here and was on clearance at $30 a slab. Perfect given how hungover I am, haha

Got a text from a mate. "Beer fridge died! Went out and all beers were warm had to tip the lot out!"

Why do people believe this? Those poor beers.....

Misanthrope

Got a text from a mate. "Beer fridge died! Went out and all beers were warm had to tip the lot out!"

Why do people believe this? Those poor beers.....

What a ludicrous decision. Does he not realise that beer doesn't spoil just because it gets warm?

Mate, the majority seem to believe that it ruins it. Working in a grog shop, there are quite a few beers that we only keep in the fridge or times that beer on the floor runs out, and people get really aggro. "But I don't want it cold, it's going to warm up in the car/isn't going in the fridge at home!" There's no explaining it to them either.

I was always amazed how angry people would get about that. You would tell them the science as to why their beer won't spoil, but they always write it off to you wanting to make a sale. Say it outside work "oh really, I didn't know that..."

Anyways, chilling out with some Spaten.

Allstar Knights

Fastidious Bastard IPA from Wagga brewery... a great drop. Plenty of citrus and pine flavour with a nice hop finish. Really refreshing and easy to drink for a 6.8% beer.

Just found out it's actually brewed in Port Macquarie apparently which isn't far from where I live. Not sure if it can be gotten in a bottle but I'd recommend it for IPA lovers.

afinalsin666

Need lots of lime in Sol I reckon, not great otherwise.

Had a selection of beers on Christmas that I can't quite remember. I do remember the wicked elf Porter was pretty decent, as well as a can of Punk IPA that was absolutely gorgeous. Had St Peter's Ruby Red Ale, wasn't too bad, was missing something though.

My aunt got me a ten pack of international beers for xmas.

Had the sol earlier. Feckin putrid.

Sol is the main competitor to Corona in Mexico. It is what it is - mass produced lager.

But let's put it into comparison. You live in Germany (and probably love the Nazis). Your Aunt buys you a mixed 10 pack of international beers, and for the first time ever you drink XXXX Bitter. What would your opinion of Australian beer be?