Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beer Thread

Desert Qlder

Living in Scotland a few years ago, I quickly became fond of many of the local brews.

Although not a Scottish beer, Newcastle Brown Ale quickly became my favourite. Affectionately known as 'The Dog' (story goes, blokes would tell their missus they were going to take 'the dog' out for a walk as code for going down the pub and knocking down a few), Newcie Brown is found in most pubs across Britain.

Fortunately it can also be found in bottle shops here in Aus as well. It's a flavoursome choice, but at the asking price in this country it can be regarded as an irregular treat. Probably better off choosing a local brew most weeks.

Belhaven Best is the most popular Ale in Scotland, vying with the Lager Tennents as the country's most popular brew. This Ale is served cold, which I find unusual as it's flavours are drawn out when the pint get's close to empty. I've tried everywhere on the net to get it in Australia, but unfortunately it is unavailable. Will continue to see if it becomes available.

Desert Qlder

When in Sydney, I always go for the local Lager Reschs. Much maligned by many NSWelshmen, I find it an easy drinking and generally favourably priced option at pubs. It can often be one of the specials during various Happy Hours, I think one day I was drinking schooners for $3.00.

That's a bargain in anyone's language!

Another great reason for drinking Reschs is the fact they produced some of the best Rugby League paraphernalia with their famous ads. 'Reschs Refreshes!' Many pubs in Sydney still have these posters adorning their walls and they provide fabulous character to public bars.

Another Tooheys Old fan here as well. For a beer with such a strong flavour, it is so easy to knock down. It's a unique (and at times dangerous lol) quality.

Mr_Raditch

I just spent the afternoon partaking in a game of backyard cricket while consuming James Squire Amber ales. I have not drunk it for a while & had forgotten what a lovely beer it is. I actually did a 2 week temp job while between trips overseas at the Malt Shovel brewery back in 2005 ( i joined this forum while I was working there, lots of free time) I sat next to Chuck Hahn for the two weeks & had quite a few conversations with him & sat in on a couple of tastings (mainly cleaning glasses but anyways) He was an absolutely top bloke, pretty much all the guys in the brewery were. Was a great two weeks with a fair few free beers thrown in.

Joker's Wild

Just on the XXXX brewery, it should be said that they brew more than just the terrible rats piss there. They brew most of the domestic Lion Nathan stuff too so yes I agree, it is a tour worth doing

It is also the only place you get to sample the XXX Sparkling Ale. That's right, Triple X! This beer unfortunately is not available anywhere else.

It will particularly appeal to those who appreciate Squire's Amber Ale. A deep brown ale, this one is full-flavoured and has a touch of the nuttiness you can find in the Squire's counterpart. The head guide told me that the deal Lion Nathan has with malt Shovel restricts the sale of this beer on the general market, which I find a great shame. But that is the way it is with large brewing companies.

Interesting. I am a huge fan of the Amber Ale (actually, I would have to call it my number 1 beer), so am interested to try this XXX Sparkling Ale.

Although not a Scottish beer, Newcastle Brown Ale quickly became my favourite. Affectionately known as 'The Dog' (story goes, blokes would tell their missus they were going to take 'the dog' out for a walk as code for going down the pub and knocking down a few), Newcie Brown is found in most pubs across Britain.

I loved the Newcastle Brown longnecks when I was in England. I was living just outside Gloucester, and had a few there but they were a bit pricey. Then did a trip around England which included Newcastle, and the stuff there is dirt cheap!

When in Sydney, I always go for the local Lager Reschs. Much maligned by many NSWelshmen, I find it an easy drinking and generally favourably priced option at pubs. It can often be one of the specials during various Happy Hours, I think one day I was drinking schooners for $3.00.

My tap beer whenever I go to the footy in Sydney. BWS have the rights at the moment for a limited release of Reschs Draught in NSW in cans. But while here on the Gold Coast, I make the 2km trip across the NSW border to a bottleshop to grab a carton of Reschs Pilsener (which makes me feel silly since I run a bottleshop myself, but I can't order it since CUB made Reschs NSW exclusive).

LESStar58

I got hooked on Boags Draught when a boss from Tassie recommended I try it. Its one of the few beers that tastes just as good coming out of the bottle as it does coming out of the tap.

And Desert QLDer; hell yes to Newie Brown! Love that stuff!

Great thread!

Tooheys Old (Black Ale) on tap is my favourite regular drop. Got into it in my late teens, and rarely go past it when on offer.

Kent Old (Brown Ale) on tap is a rare find, but always worth a go whenever I do.

Coopers Green (Pale Ale) is probably my next choice in places where there is no Old around. Coopers Red (Sparkling Ale) on tap is good too, but my wife bans me from having it as just a few glasses can make me a bit silly and delirious...

The various James Squires Ales (Amber, Sparkling, Pale) are all quite good on tap too, and the Sundowner's not bad in summer. Hard to find their Porter on tap anywhere though :(.

I spent four years living in the north of England, and loved all the different tasting ales they had. Didn't care that they are served "warm" - when it's fricking freezing outside you don't want a cold beer! The ales show their flavour if served a little warmer than we're used to with our lagers. I tend to lean toward the darker beers, so would try anything on tap that was ruby, red, brown, black, porter, or stout... You can pick some of them up by the bottle at First Choice, BWS, or Dan Murphys or where you guy, bit pricey out here on import though.

There were some good beers in Europe too - Czech lagers, Austria and German beers. They had dark lagers (rather than ales), which I'd never encountered before, definitely worth a try if you see them in the bottle-shop. Japanese beers were ok, usually very crisp clean tasting. And some of Kiwi beers go alright too, but I forget the names...

Desert Qlder

Interesting. I am a huge fan of the Amber Ale (actually, I would have to call it my number 1 beer), so am interested to try this XXX Sparkling Ale.

Quite simply, you will love it. The beauty part is it actually retains a flavour that is unique to the Castlemaine Perkins Brewery. The beer was briefly available in bottle shops about ten years ago, perhaps for celebrating some anniversary (125th maybe). It was quickly pulled from the shelves however.

There is little doubt Australian brewing is firmly in the hands of marketing departments. It is they who make the decision that the XXXX brand will be associated with the working class, and therefore beers like XXX Sparkling are unavailable. The large breweries are more than capable of producing beers of this quality, but it seems both extremes of the market do not want it that way. Drinkers of mainstream beers aren't willing to try them and those disposed to the craft beer don't want to be associated with the large breweries.

So the marketing departments create labels like Malt Shovel, when in actual fact it is really just a small division of Lion Nathan. I find the whole situation sad because the creative art of brewing is discouraged in favour of satisfying the research of marketing departments.

Myself, I'll try any beer regardless of where it comes from or what methods are used to produce it. Marketing departments can't get a handle on a drinker such as myself because I judge a beer on its merits, not on whether it is socially acceptable to drink it.

Desert Qlder

forthed

fithed

and sixthed

Just on the XXXX brewery, it should be said that they brew more than just the terrible rats piss there.

Beer drinking is very subjective mate, so there's an element of tedium to your point. I happen to think Carlton Draught is one of the poorer beers in Australia, but that won't stop a million Vics loving the stuff.

Tell us some of the beers you enjoy.

Desert Qlder

Here is a great show I found on Community Channel 31 down here in Melbourne, its called 'The Beer Frontier'. Thankfully it can now be seen on Youtube.

They do reviews of beers, information about home brewing and general beer related talk. A must see for beer lovers:

http://www.beer-reviews-and-ratings.com/

Desert Qlder

I run a bottleshop myself.

Do you run an independent shop or is it part of a chain? Either way it's fantastic that you get to be involved with something you love.

Another question, is it possible to get Cascade Draught on the mainland? I figure if it's not in Victoria it wouldn't be available anywhere else, but goodness me I'd love to get my hands on a few stubbies.

Mr Fourex

If anyone gets the chance when in Brisbane, do the XXXX Brewery tour. Now I know that is anathema to many on this forum, given it's anti-Queensland nature,

Whoa !!!

Hang on there mate........

this board has an "anti-QLD" nature ?

Really........?

Do you run an independent shop or is it part of a chain? Either way it's fantastic that you get to be involved with something you love.

Another question, is it possible to get Cascade Draught on the mainland? I figure if it's not in Victoria it wouldn't be available anywhere else, but goodness me I'd love to get my hands on a few stubbies.

It's an independent bottle shop, owned by the Kirra Beach Hotel. I love working with alcohol, but the retail arm really isn't for me. Would much rather be a liquor rep to be honest.

As for Cascade Draught, it's only available in Tassie I'm afraid.

Joker's Wild

Beer drinking is very subjective mate, so there's an element of tedium to your point. I happen to think Carlton Draught is one of the poorer beers in Australia, but that won't stop a million Vics loving the stuff.

Tell us some of the beers you enjoy.

lol Well there's nothing in the thread title saying this thread has to be about beers you like, however I have listed the beers I enjoy a few pages back if you're interested :D

The mainstream stuff is pretty ordinary up here Peverse, but some of the smaller ones can be pretty good. Burleigh Brewing Co. is a good example. Run by a Canadian + American husband and wife, they make some bloody good beers, both sessionable or just a few around the BBQ. They are available nationally, and I know they sell into a number of shops is Newcastle, so look out for them. Their best one's are:

- Big Head (No Carb Lager)
- 28 Pale Ale (old fashioned darker style Pale Ale)
- Hef (Heferweisen, Wheat Beer)
- My Wife's Bitter (English inspired Bitter altered to the Australian tastes - carbonated)

I agree with the twats part though ;-)

Desert Qlder

It's an independent bottle shop, owned by the Kirra Beach Hotel. I love working with alcohol, but the retail arm really isn't for me. Would much rather be a liquor rep to be honest.

As for Cascade Draught, it's only available in Tassie I'm afraid.

Moving into a role like that is a perfectly natural progression for guys who work in retail or hospitality. If that's where you desire to be then you'll get there, especially if your product knowledge is as good as it seems. I've a few mates who progressed into repping and other areas after working years in hospitality.

Just don't sell your soul and work for CUB, you'll spend your whole career hanging up Carlton Mid banners :D.