Cumberland Throw
Been on around $600k for past 5 years.. cant afford mortgage payments.. LOL
What's the perfect birthday present for the man who has everything?Been on around $600k for past 5 years.. cant afford mortgage payments.. LOL
If his contract hasn't been registered by the NRL he can do what he wants, but I don't think he can serve an NRL suspension without being a registered player, which means its waiting for him when he returns.
he isn't a registered player, he can do what he wants, if he wants to play in the NRL again he will have to serve his suspension. If he was a registered player he would be unable to play in another code, whether he is suspended or not. There's no need to legislate against what hes doing.I imagine this is difficult for the NRL. If they draw a line through Union, is a player allowed to earn coin as a labourer, playing tennis, whatever...whilst on a recreational drug suspension?
Probably needs to be written into player contracts...I'm assuming it's not already which is why Barba is doing what he is doing.
Why not? if hes not employed by the NRL how can they suspend him? It's not the NRL's problem if he can't find a club stupid enough to sign the sook.How do you become a registered player? Do you need a club? If so when sharks sacked him he was clubless surely his ban couldn't have lasted forever if a club wouldn't sign him with a ban hanging over him.
Why not? if hes not employed by the NRL how can they suspend him? It's not the NRL's problem if he can't find a club stupid enough to sign the sook.
didn't stop cronulla wanting to re-sign him.Seems a bit harsh to me. A 12 game ban could essentially be a life ban.
didn't stop cronulla wanting to re-sign him.
I don't see how the NRL can stop this or even if they should have any right to.
The only way I could think it possible would be if Top 14 rugby are WADA compliant and the test were a WADA test, which I don't believe it was.
The NRL ban was for the first 12 weeks of next year's competition. It doesn't matter if Barba has a contract or not. After round 12, he should be eligible to play. Anything else would be unfair IMO
can of worms right here.
they talk about it being in the interests of his welfare - but perhaps going overseas where he doesn't have his drug connections and keeping himself busy playing rugby is the tonic he needs. Better than sitting on his behind with nothing to do day-to-day where he can't train with his team and stew on his life choices - that would be more risky I would think.
Reckon NRL are just trying to pull there pants up here.
Yeah nah. It was a 12 match ban, he wasn't banned until round 12. There is a difference.
The injured player has a registered contract with the NRL. Benny doesn't have a registered contract while he's relaxing on the wing in France.So because he doesn't have the ability to take the field, his suspension can't be served?
How does this rule apply for an injured player?