Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Barba and Colombian Marching Powder

Iafeta

So his punishment is to increase his salary by taking up a contract in another code whilst he's banned? That sounds fair and reasonable.

He was great last year but I think Cronulla may be missing a trick not just moving on from him and putting Holmes to the back. Holmes carting the ball back was pivotal all year IMO.

SharkShocked

I don't think Cronulla have at all endorsed this path of action. Will be interesting to see a press release later today i'm sure.

I'm fairly confident they would have only been happy should he have accepted his ban and stuck around to stick it out.

I'd be very surprised if you see him turn out for us again.

Eion

I imagine this is difficult for the NRL. If they draw a line through Union, is a player allowed to earn coin as a labourer, playing tennis, whatever...whilst on a recreational drug suspension?

Probably needs to be written into player contracts...I'm assuming it's not already which is why Barba is doing what he is doing.

Pommy

If his contract hasn't been registered by the NRL he can do what he wants, but I don't think he can serve an NRL suspension without being a registered player, which means its waiting for him when he returns.

How do you become a registered player? Do you need a club? If so when sharks sacked him he was clubless surely his ban couldn't have lasted forever if a club wouldn't sign him with a ban hanging over him.

insert.pause

I imagine this is difficult for the NRL. If they draw a line through Union, is a player allowed to earn coin as a labourer, playing tennis, whatever...whilst on a recreational drug suspension?

Probably needs to be written into player contracts...I'm assuming it's not already which is why Barba is doing what he is doing.
he isn't a registered player, he can do what he wants, if he wants to play in the NRL again he will have to serve his suspension. If he was a registered player he would be unable to play in another code, whether he is suspended or not. There's no need to legislate against what hes doing.

Usain Bolt

Barba had no contract with the NRL because they never registered it, so is free to do as he wishes. The NRL won't start his suspension until he's registered as an NRL player anyway so I doubt he'd play at all this year even if he does return after playing for Toulon.

insert.pause

How do you become a registered player? Do you need a club? If so when sharks sacked him he was clubless surely his ban couldn't have lasted forever if a club wouldn't sign him with a ban hanging over him.
Why not? if hes not employed by the NRL how can they suspend him? It's not the NRL's problem if he can't find a club stupid enough to sign the sook.

Danish

I don't see how the NRL can stop this or even if they should have any right to.

The only way I could think it possible would be if Top 14 rugby are WADA compliant and the test were a WADA test, which I don't believe it was.

The NRL ban was for the first 12 weeks of next year's competition. It doesn't matter if Barba has a contract or not. After round 12, he should be eligible to play. Anything else would be unfair IMO

TIGER14

NRL statement regarding Ben Barba

The NRL said today that Ben Barba's 12-match ban will not begin until he has completed any overseas sporting commitments.

CEO Todd Greenberg said the NRL believed a suspended player should serve time out from playing – anywhere.

"Ben does not have a registered contract with the NRL so he is free to make a decision to play in a different code with a new club," Mr Greenberg said.

"But the NRL will not consider any contract for registration until he has completed his contract with other sports.

"The match suspension he needs to serve will only begin after he has completed his playing commitments elsewhere."

Mr Greenberg said his primary concern was whether appropriate action was being taken to improve Barba's life off the field.

"We have been working closely with the Sharks on ensuring he has access to appropriate courses and programs as part of his rehabilitation," Mr Greenberg said.

"We have just given him approval to train individually at the club and be part of the Shark's community programs.

"That agreement meant he also had access to the club's welfare and education support services.

"If that commitment has changed then it will be taken into account when we consider whether his contract should be registered."

http://www.nrl.com/nrl-statement-regarding-ben-barba/tabid/10874/newsid/103389/default.aspx

betcats

I don't see how the NRL can stop this or even if they should have any right to.

The only way I could think it possible would be if Top 14 rugby are WADA compliant and the test were a WADA test, which I don't believe it was.

The NRL ban was for the first 12 weeks of next year's competition. It doesn't matter if Barba has a contract or not. After round 12, he should be eligible to play. Anything else would be unfair IMO

Yeah nah. It was a 12 match ban, he wasn't banned until round 12. There is a difference.

myrrh ken

can of worms right here.

they talk about it being in the interests of his welfare - but perhaps going overseas where he doesn't have his drug connections and keeping himself busy playing rugby is the tonic he needs. Better than sitting on his behind with nothing to do day-to-day where he can't train with his team and stew on his life choices - that would be more risky I would think.

Reckon NRL are just trying to pull there pants up here.

betcats

can of worms right here.

they talk about it being in the interests of his welfare - but perhaps going overseas where he doesn't have his drug connections and keeping himself busy playing rugby is the tonic he needs. Better than sitting on his behind with nothing to do day-to-day where he can't train with his team and stew on his life choices - that would be more risky I would think.

Reckon NRL are just trying to pull there pants up here.

He is free to go overseas if that's what is best for him, there is nothing stopping him. But if he wants to come back to the NRL after that then he will have to serve the ban after he signs for a club. The NRL is a business not a f**king social welfare charity. He broke the rules and these are the consequences, as stated he is more than free to go overseas if he wants.

Alex28

The guy thought he could circumvent an NRL suspension by playing elsewhere, but now gets all sooky when the NRL sees through it and he will have no choice but to actually miss 12 games at some point.

All because he can't stay off the gak.

Now he is saying the NRL haven't done much for him. Without the NRL he would be nothing. Bon voyage champ.

Danish

Yeah nah. It was a 12 match ban, he wasn't banned until round 12. There is a difference.

So because he doesn't have the ability to take the field, his suspension can't be served?

How does this rule apply for an injured player?

Alex28

So because he doesn't have the ability to take the field, his suspension can't be served?

How does this rule apply for an injured player?
The injured player has a registered contract with the NRL. Benny doesn't have a registered contract while he's relaxing on the wing in France.

Quite different.