Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji

DJShaksta

I don't understand the Ennis hate.
Sure he's a Curtis but so what?
Next year we have no Morris.
Lichaa jumped ship.
Ennis is better than DeGois.
He plays 80mins.
Can defend.
Can pass.
And is a competitor.

He's a good fit for our team.

Vin Fizz

Wasn't round 1 & 2 2012 Todd's first 2 games at the club? Understandable he wouldn't look good if that's the case. I think 7 will suit Todd better than 6 at this time at least because that man is deadset broken. He can defend on the left with Wade Graham in the Beau Scott, Tony Carroll type role. Minder. Gal's view? Do we think the club would even talk to Benji without the Pope's blessing? I don't.
Hahaha. Pope, love it. Yeah, I wasn't sure but I think it was Toddys first game with us (couldn't quite remember). That was the tigers debacle followed the next week by a Monday night howler. We won our first match of that year in Round 4 I think with TC at 6 and Robbo at 7. I think you're right re TC to 7 as well. His mobility, confidence, mojo (rose by any other name) isn't there at the moment and maybe a move might help him along. Hopefully his defence is a manifestation of his low confidence rather than the root cause. I feel its the doldrums. No sponsors, Arseoleada still hanging foul, talk of players leaving. I reckon he's going through what Wadey Boy described. Probably wondering why he signed for 5 years. His team mates need to show him why. Did so quite well on Saturday I thought. We should get over the Panfers on the back of last week now. The talk of Benji will be generating sponsorship interest already. He will also bring them with him and that needs to be considered as far as dollars paid by the club is concerned. Could fuggin win a premiership on the back of something like this if it all goes to plan.

Spoken like a true moron who never saw Benji play at halfback more than once.

Benji couldn't organise a rock fight in a quarry with a handful of rocks.

Benji? I agree. Fix his tackling technique & he'd be a very good centre.

He tends to be a shirt grabber in defence all too often.

from a marketing perspective, i think its a great signing.

actual playing wise i dunno.

who do ya move?
If benji is centre, you can keep Gordon at fullback, as the attacking flair can come from Benji in the three quarter line, can also allow Carney to play both sides more.

If Benji is in the halves, then he has to be at five eighth and put Carney at halfback, But Robson must start at hooker to ensure the team continues to be directed properly. I'm not a fan of this idea as it won't suit the Sharks at all.

Carney at fullback is not an option anymore either now that he appears to have lost some speed.

Benji at Fullback is also not an option, purely because he's not a good defender positionally and is mostly untested under the high ball. The last time a five-eighth was tested at fullback for the first time in his career at the Sharks was Albert Kelly. We all remember how that went.

Centre is the only option. The problem you have though is that he'd replace Ayshford. You'd actually make that right side defence even worse.

Moving Leutele to right centre means you break up his combination with Feki, which would not be advisable either.

Simply put. Fix Carney's defence and put Benji at right centre.

It will make Beau happy, Hino will receive a lot of Benji's inside passes, it would work well.

RUBIKS

Benji is a no from me.

We'd have to change our whole style of play, yes I know it needs changing but I don't see that happening.

Benji needs options, to be honest so does Carney and we've given him squat. players running lines, pushing up in support, decoys, we've got none of it. At least not every time Carney and potentially in the future Benji has the ball.

He would dance left, dance right, do a little jig and then end up tackeled 5 meters back from where he picked up the ball. That's assuming he didn't pop an offload that got dropped because no one was ready.

He'd be great at the Storm, they have structure around him and plays he and everyone around him can follow.

I'm also a no to Ennis. Corey Hughes, mark II.

Apologies for being negative this morning lads.

rumour has it that the signing will be announced within 24 hours.

tick tock....

At least its not 48 hours.

chewsta

Madunit, I love all your posts. You are far too switched on to be in this forum my good man. ;-)

BTW we need a coach with a bit of an idea about footy. How is your calendar looking for the rest of 2014 mate, or whenever it is that Flanno is back?

If someone buys the wife a unit at the Sharks development, I'll do it for as long as you want.

Special K

The dollars floating around suggest benji has taken a heafty pay cut to join his mates and play RL again.

make him train with Gallen.

He has a habit of slacking off at training.

Surely

Benji is a no from me.

We'd have to change our whole style of play, yes I know it needs changing but I don't see that happening.

Benji needs options, to be honest so does Carney and we've given him squat. players running lines, pushing up in support, decoys, we've got none of it. At least not every time Carney and potentially in the future Benji has the ball.

He would dance left, dance right, do a little jig and then end up tackeled 5 meters back from where he picked up the ball. That's assuming he didn't pop an offload that got dropped because no one was ready.

He'd be great at the Storm, they have structure around him and plays he and everyone around him can follow.

I'm also a no to Ennis. Corey Hughes, mark II.

Apologies for being negative this morning lads.

He is the type of player we are missing, unpredictable and speed, look back at what Preston gave us.