Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Memories

Coffs dragon

Favourite moment in Dragons time.... the Billy Smith and Graeme Langlands show. Our greatest ever half back and full back was a magical combination that was very special to witness as a young teen. The Big Two gave it all.

62baby

.... the Billy Smith and Graeme Langlands show.

Amen to this. I was there in '75 when they set the ground record, I was inside the fence, at halfway, and I could have reached out and touched them it seemed. The bunnies side was pretty handy too. What a day for a 13 year old boy from the bush!

denis preston

Amen to this. I was there in '75 when they set the ground record, I was inside the fence, at halfway, and I could have reached out and touched them it seemed. The bunnies side was pretty handy too. What a day for a 13 year old boy from the bush!

Yes.I was there as well on the hill behind the southern goalposts.Great game v the bunnies , John Chapman got stiff armed big time. Replayed later on ch 7.

duck

Once again people drifting away from the thread

Several people on other threads had posted that they had received bad news etc

So the purpose of this thread iis to cheer them up and have good positive thoughts

I implore people for once in their lives give the tread the proper respect and stick to the topic

Best Memories not anything else please

If people abide with this philosophy that in itself would be a best memory of a sort
Ok done.

What willy? Must have been too small to see.
I was in the pool! I was in the pool!

duck

Matt Cooper with THAT tackle. Still can't believe the strength of the man.

65 against the Bunnies was the record crowd with 78,065.

Sticks Proven just kept running into the Souths forward pack like a bowling ball into the ten pins at the end of the alley.

They talk about 80 minute players today well back then they all played 80 minutes and at one stage no second half replacements.

During the normal season any replacements had to have played a lower grade game.

They were all very tough.

The 75 GF was the Easts debacle although there was one highlight for me when the wanker Easts supporter beside me stood on top of his esky, fell off it into a mob of his own supporters who turned on him and gave him a hiding.

Long walk back to the car in Moore Park that day.

62baby

Kogarah in '75 Old Timer. My grandad was at the SGG when the ground record was set at 78 thousand. He reckons there was 90,000 there. Hated the Saints the old bugger did. Had some ding dong arguments with him when I got old enough to give cheek.

Loved Chang and Billy. 1971 semi v Eels 8 all at full time. Extra time Billy took control and we won 19-8

Backed it up in the final v Manly Chang on fire. They were virtually a two man team that year

The Nick

Meeting Reg Gasnier in Cairns during the Centenary of Rugby League celebrations and having him sign my jersey.

Unfortunately I never had the privilege of watching him play (apart from some old snippets of footage) but he had an aura about him and was an absolute gentleman who extended his hand to shake mine.

The genuine humility of the bloke blew me away, especially in comparison to some of today's NRL players who couldn't even hope to achieve half of what he had in his career.

Extract from 1977 grand final reply newspaper article "Late in the match, Robert Stone found the ball and ran 30 metres to score a rare forward's try right in front of the St. George faithful who, as per the club's tradition, had massed in the Sheridan Stand."

For those that don't know the Sheridan stand always housed during semi finals what is now called the dragon army. I was just a boy but they would take over the whole right side of the stand and just sing all day. The chants and echo from that majestic old stand will forever live in my heart. You could thump the old floor with your feet and clap and the noise was deafening.

The players loved the support.

Loved the Sheridan Stand and the many semis we played in during sixties and seventies.

The Langlands and Smith telepathy show was simply unbelievable.

Have fond memories of Barry Beath taking the ball from the kickoff against Easts at the sports ground, breaking the first line of defence and running diagonally all the way to score.

Gasnier Mark 2 amazing footwork and speed was something very special I will never forget.

Kogarah in '75 Old Timer. My grandad was at the SGG when the ground record was set at 78 thousand. He reckons there was 90,000 there. Hated the Saints the old bugger did. Had some ding dong arguments with him when I got old enough to give cheek.

I forgot they played at Kogarah occasionally.

Your Grandad was probably correct because they couldn't count the ones that climbed the fences onto the roofs.

Rumour was that "THE MEMBERS" back in those days were above being counted with the masses. So 90K a real possibility.

Does anyone else remember when Saints played 2 games in the mid 60's at the old show ground 1 v Balmain the other v Souths?

In the Souths game one of their props (bald headed) kept rubbing Kevin Ryan's ears every time he played the ball.

Ryan finally cracked it and belted the other bloke and a ding dong fight broke out with both players sent off by the ref.

Made a great sight as they trudged off with arms around each others necks wondering what happened.

S.B.

I forgot they played at Kogarah occasionally.

Your Grandad was probably correct because they couldn't count the ones that climbed the fences onto the roofs.

Rumour was that "THE MEMBERS" back in those days were above being counted with the masses. So 90K a real possibility.

Does anyone else remember when Saints played 2 games in the mid 60's at the old show ground 1 v Balmain the other v Souths?

In the Souths game one of their props (bald headed) kept rubbing Kevin Ryan's ears every time he played the ball.

Ryan finally cracked it and belted the other bloke and a ding dong fight broke out with both players sent off by the ref.

Made a great sight as they trudged off with arms around each others necks wondering what happened.

I was at the tigers game at the showground. Billy Smith and the might raper combined to score under the posts right on full time to give us victory. Smith and Raper combined as well as Langlands and Smith. Pretty to watch....

Actually had forgotten that thanks for reminding me.

I think it was 65 actually and Dave Bolton had just joined Balmain and everyone was wondering how good the Englishman was.

The jerseys just looked fantastic with the Tigers in Gold with the 2 black v's and the black shorts and of course the mighty dragons with the BIG RED V which made them look huge.

Blood Shot Eyes

I think it was 65 actually and Dave Bolton had just joined Balmain and everyone was wondering how good the Englishman was.

The jerseys just looked fantastic with the Tigers in Gold with the 2 black v's and the black shorts and of course the mighty dragons with the BIG RED V which made them look huge.

Mate The Tigers had great teams back then reminded me of when Balmain beat Souths I was at that GF in 69...Souths had a great side led by Satts and Balmain had Peter Proven (Norms brother)

The 1969 premiership was Balmain's first premiership since 1947 and also proved to be their last premiership triumph. Captain Peter Provan played his last of his 159 games in his nine seasons for Balmain that day. Unfortunately the victory came a year too late for Keith Barnes who played in the losing 1964 and 1966 grand finals and retired at the end of 1968. The win was all the more meritorious after Balmain lost key players Dennis Tutty, Laurie Moraschi and Peter Jones during disputes over money at the start of the season.

69-gf.jpg

Sorry.. nothing to do with Saints but thought Id throw this one in for interest OT

S.B.

I think it would have been closer to 67 as i was in NZ from 64 till 66. Made them look huge, in the words of Billy Smith he felt 10 ft tall after pulling on that jersy.

KiamaSaint

Matt Cooper with THAT tackle. Still can't believe the strength of the man.

That was not only a try saver but a match winner IMO. IIRC, it was still 0-0 deep in the second half of that game and my sense at the ground was the first to score would run away with that game. We scored first and run away with the game.

One of my other favourite memories, the '93 semi run. Coyne and Blake tearing Canberra and then Canterbury a new one. In fact if I am not mistaken we had a hard run into those semis and there were commentators predicting we would miss the semis altogether. Its a shame we couldn't win the big one.

So many memories of the ANZAC Day clash, Matt Head stealing the game late, the penalty against the Dragons late a few years back followed by two late tries. All sublime.