Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blood Blue Packs

Bart, we've spoken about this before. Maybe it's the way you express yourself, remember?

Touche. (Just read this after posting a similar comment.)

Seriously though - you can say other opinions are juvenile or that you disagree, but I will always call out you (or anyone else) when I read the (quite strange) suggestion that others straight out shouldn't post their own opinions on here. You should know that's a garbage response to have and even more juvenile, imo.

eels81236

And tbh, I think they have.
Human society can be so greedy sometimes. Are we doing this because we love the Eels and we all have a desire to, in some small way, help the club out, even if it's just a few dollars, or are we doing this because we expect heaps of stuff worth at least $70?
Judging by many of the complaints on here by so called "Eels fans", I sometimes wonder. :roll:

Memberships won't be the be all and end all of club survival, but they WILL help. Every little bit helps.
I wonder what Tim Mannah and some of the others who went to Rwanda think of some of the sh*t that has been posted here lately?
"Oh, the caps are crap".
"The coasters are cardboard".
"What do we need a lanyard for"?.
"OMG, I can't use two vouchers at the one time".

FMD!!!!

Fair dinkum, some people around here need to have a real f**king good hard look at themselves.

:roll:

PS. Oh, and fancy adding a link to memberships on an email to members.??? God forbid. :roll::x

Bart, we've spoken about this before. Maybe it's the way you express yourself, remember?

Sorry....Carry on gentlemen.

while I do not under estimate the good work from the trips to rwanda that have been undertaken over the last few years, it is also a club where other players have expected to receive salaries over 10 times the average.

10 times over the average? What's the average, and who's asking for 10 times that? Don't say Hayne either.

Not all supporters and fans are as comfortable off as you

Really? How would you know? I'm not crying poor mate but I'll give you the tip mate. A Current Affair have caught up with me.

and there are many that would like to attend games but can not afford it. The major cost to a club are the players salaries and ticket prices are one of a few income streams to pay for this.

Yeh, so? That's not rocket science.

try telling a father that is earning an average wage who can not afford to take his kid to a football match, that for him to be assured of seeing his kids idol to keep on running around in his favourite teams colours he has to pay $70 so his idol can be paid $500K or will go elsewhere.

Not news to me mate. Seriously.

born an eel

calling people greedy bastards because they expected more for their money when these packs were promoted as great value for money is offensive. You use what a couple of players have done as charity work to try and make out these people are taking food out of the mouths of the starving. Get some perspective,

Hayne is the highest paid player at the club and threatened to withdraw his services unless he was paid as such, why wouldn't his name come out when talking of wages. Has hayne done any of the charity work a guy like Hindy has? why is he untouchable. and the average wage is about $50k.

ok so your not poor you can afford $70, great, but if your so worried about club finances why not buy a platinum or hayne membership?
I take it the ACA comment is a joke if not that could open a whole different debate.

If people feel they didn't get what they payed for why should they be insulted for expressing their opinion. I for one did not ask for the extras, I was happy enough with the old membership where by I got a good seat at a reasonable cost. In the old threads i argued that it was just an increase in costs but was told that we were getting so much more for a slight increase in costs.

calling people greedy bastards because they expected more for their money when these packs were promoted as great value for money is offensive. You use what a couple of players have done as charity work to try and make out these people are taking food out of the mouths of the starving. Get some perspective,

Hayne is the highest paid player at the club and threatened to withdraw his services unless he was paid as such, why wouldn't his name come out when talking of wages. Has hayne done any of the charity work a guy like Hindy has? why is he untouchable. and the average wage is about $50k.

ok so your not poor you can afford $70, great, but if your so worried about club finances why not buy a platinum or hayne membership?
I take it the ACA comment is a joke if not that could open a whole different debate.

If people feel they didn't get what they payed for why should they be insulted for expressing their opinion. I for one did not ask for the extras, I was happy enough with the old membership where by I got a good seat at a reasonable cost. In the old threads i argued that it was just an increase in costs but was told that we were getting so much more for a slight increase in costs.

Now that is an opinion I can understand and respect. I actually agree with most of it when it's put like that.
Far different to some of the other crap that has been posted.
Simple as that.

calling people greedy bastards because they expected more for their money when these packs were promoted as great value for money is offensive.
If people feel they didn't get what they payed for why should they be insulted for expressing their opinion.

Now that is an opinion I can understand and respect. I actually agree with most of it when it's put like that.
If you agree, then why did you insult them and imply they are greedy? :lol:

"Insult" came from the quote in the post that you've just said that you agreed with.

Your post #246 has been quoted in full and part ad nauseum by various people above, myself included.

Now, your answer to the obvious question? :lol:

So firstly my problem is not that I haven't been throwing money at my club for the past 10 years, unlike others I have been a Blue and Gold army member for the last 4 years, I am a Season Ticket Holder and a Football club member and have been for more that 10 years in both instances.

So when I say that the pack contains Cheep Crap, it is not that I am worried about the value for money.

Indeed some here are rapt at the fact we are pushing memberships, indeed even in our exclusive e-mails to members. We are on our way to financial Independence via Memberships, but as most of said, with the QUALITY of what we have received this year, the club has done a poor job in the initial attempt to retain these people for next year.

As a Season Ticket Holder for 10 years, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that the extras we have received are not to the same standard as they were for many years before. Last years Season Ticket Holders hat is far superior, the 2008 B&GA sticker is far Superior and the 2007 B&GA cooler-bag is Far superior in terms of quality. Indeed my FC membership badge is Far superior to the trinket in the pack.

Then when you factor in the price increase this year, you have to think weather this is some sort of cost cutting, or just incompetence.

Up until last year, the Blue and Gold army was $45 and at that price one of the cheapest "Memberships" in the NRL, but it seems that the cost increase hasn't been in line with the quality of the product. For mine the Blue and Gold army is and always was a Merchandised Mailing list. The increase, the $25 which gives you voting rights in 3 years time, is that what most people want?

I guess if your in the membership team you will know.

Parra Guru

And tbh, I think they have.
Human society can be so greedy sometimes. Are we doing this because we love the Eels and we all have a desire to, in some small way, help the club out, even if it's just a few dollars, or are we doing this because we expect heaps of stuff worth at least $70?
Judging by many of the complaints on here by so called "Eels fans", I sometimes wonder. :roll:

Memberships won't be the be all and end all of club survival, but they WILL help. Every little bit helps.
I wonder what Tim Mannah and some of the others who went to Rwanda think of some of the sh*t that has been posted here lately?
"Oh, the caps are crap".
"The coasters are cardboard".
"What do we need a lanyard for"?.
"OMG, I can't use two vouchers at the one time".

FMD!!!!

Fair dinkum, some people around here need to have a real f**king good hard look at themselves.

:roll:

PS. Oh, and fancy adding a link to memberships on an email to members.??? God forbid. :roll::x

Sorry Suity, but you can't put the price of a non-ticketed membership up by $50 and send them that bunch of crap to justify it. Seriously, you'd find better quality stuff in a happy meal.

I pour my hard earned money into the Eels, just like you, on season tickets, merchandise etc. I believe I'm entitled to have a bit of a whinge when I choose to throw another $80 their way for an extra pack to only find that it's filled with crap. OK so not everything has to be high quality but it would help if at least say the cap was. It wouldn't even fit a lot of adult's heads properly.

Parra Steve

I didnt mind the pack but im a season ticket holder, if i just got the pack i can see why people would be upset.

parra pete

In my opinion the Club should just charge $70 for membership and forget the "wait there's more" crap that goes with it. That way the member gets EXACTLY what he is paying for, and knows the EXACT value of his membership.
The 'steak knives' don't interest me... It turned me off rejoining actually..
The Club should say Annual Membership is $70 ....If you want bells and whistles let us know and we'll give them to you for postage costs of $X....

JoeyJoJo83

In my opinion the Club should just charge $70 for membership and forget the "wait there's more" crap that goes with it. That way the member gets EXACTLY what he is paying for, and knows the EXACT value of his membership.
The 'steak knives' don't interest me... It turned me off rejoining actually..
The Club should say Annual Membership is $70 ....If you want bells and whistles let us know and we'll give them to you for postage costs of $X....

Couldn't have said it any better.

or say the annual membership (without any of the merch) is $25 as it had been last year, or even allow another $10 increase (40%) to say $35...

(just one f**king whinger's opinion ;-))