Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bought not bred

Doga

PS. He also said that once we get the core players that he is after there will not be much buying going on.

Players like Taupau, Kasiano, Browne, Foster, Sezar etc will get their chance

ironhorse

Great signing for the doggies , Pritchard is the panthers most destructive runner . if they can get some consistency from hs game look out .

??? WTF are you on about? In case you've been living under a rock on Mars for the last 3 years, the Bulldogs and Roosters do not have the hate rivalry that was once there. We do not bag the roosters or any club out anymore. FFS grow up.

:lol: Rubbiiiiiiiish

cleary89

??? WTF are you on about? In case you've been living under a rock on Mars for the last 3 years, the Bulldogs and Roosters do not have the hate rivalry that was once there. We do not bag the roosters or any club out anymore. FFS grow up.

Yeh, how can they bag anyone when their team plays like a bunch of reggies in the cronulla comp.

Wait till they win some games, then all the doggies will be out in force giving sh*t to people.

S.S.T.I.D

The Dogs would have to have the lowest amount of 'club developed' players in the competition next year.

1. Barba - Tick
2. Turner - Penrith via Melbourne
3. Morris - Illawarra
4. Idris - Tick
5. Goodwin - Cronulla
6. Keating - Parramatta
7. Hodkinson - Parramatta via Manly
8. Tolman - CRL via Melbourne
9. Ennis - Newcastle via everywhere
10. Tandy - Central Coast via everywhere
11. Ryan - Parramatta
12. Pritchard - Penrith
13. Stagg - Brisbane
14. Hodgson - Canberra
15. Paea - Roosters
16. Halatau - Wests
17. Roberts - tick

The club does well to recruit as well as they do, but either can't hold on to the players they develop or don't develop players much at all. Maybe something needs to be asked of their talent identification because 14 imports in a 17 man roster is pretty poor.

If they get Eastwood...then I'll want an audit of their books because that is bullsh*t - and a proper audit...not that f**kwit Schubert
:lol: Losing Patten, Kimmorley and Hannant is a pretty decent chunk of our cap. Add El Masri and Eastwood from last year with the addition of very few players apart from Turner over the 09/10 off-season and we're sitting pretty.

No need to let bitterness over Frankie's departure get in the way...
2 Local Juniors in the Dogs team for next yr, Ben Barba and Jamal Idris...Well done and congratulations to the FAMILY club...The hide of them to bag a club like the Roosters who with have the EXACT amount of local juniors in their team...Have Pritchard the f*&($#% turncoat.
So it makes it alright to chase everyone else? For F#$% sakes why the bulldogs club grow up and promote some of these jnrs that keep winning Harold Mat's, SG Ball, Likely Toyota Cup and Likely NSW Cup...You's ;aughed at The Roosters for yrs now ur doin the same thing. Hypocrits.
The marketing & administration of 2008 decided to produce those shirts to stir the rivalry in the wake of the O'Meley, Anasta, Myles and Mason defections to the Roosters. That's where "Bred not bought" came from. Since that time the club has changed, from the top down, including the entire board and the CEO. The mud has stuck however, despite the success of 2009.

Ultimately every team buys players, less and less clubs are relying on their local juniors. Why isn't every other club coming in for a scathing attack every time a new signature is penned?
The Dogs would have to have the lowest amount of 'club developed' players in the competition next year.

1. Barba - Tick
2. Turner - Penrith via Melbourne
3. Morris - Illawarra
4. Idris - Tick
5. Goodwin - Cronulla
6. Keating - Parramatta
7. Hodkinson - Parramatta via Manly
8. Tolman - CRL via Melbourne
9. Ennis - Newcastle via everywhere
10. Tandy - Central Coast via everywhere
11. Ryan - Parramatta
12. Pritchard - Penrith
13. Stagg - Brisbane
14. Hodgson - Canberra
15. Paea - Roosters
16. Halatau - Wests
17. Roberts - tick

The club does well to recruit as well as they do, but either can't hold on to the players they develop or don't develop players much at all. Maybe something needs to be asked of their talent identification because 14 imports in a 17 man roster is pretty poor.

Bit rich from a Souths fan, your entire pack bar Issac Luke are imports :lol:

Mate... we have a new board now. New management. The Bulldogs 'bred not bought' was a simple 1-off slogan used against the chooks in 2008 when Mason signed with the enemy. That day we had 4 ex-Bulldogs playing against us, 3 of which won the 2004 Premiership with us. IT was a one-off. I've never known so many people hold something against 1 club for so long. Talk about holding a grudge...

Your clubs actions = your clubs history. Just embrace it. The more you complain/whinge about it, the more it will be mentioned.

Big Mick

If we get Eastwood, you will be forced to watch the Bulldogs devour every team in the competition in 2011 and watch Andrew Ryan hold the Premiership trophy on October 2, 2011.

BWUAHAHAHAHAHA!!

BU11DOGS!!!

LOL.

Dreaming.

Didn't you say the same thing this year?

Just because you are cheats doesn't automatically make you winners. You are not Melbourne

abpanther

It's funny how the Bulldogs fans continually remind us about the circumstances surrounding when the slogan was made, completely missing the point...

Exactly. No one gives a f**k about which management made up the slogan.
Bulldogs fans thought it was great at the time, got shown up very soon for the hypocrites they are, and have tried to distance themselves from it ever since.

Since then Roosters (4 junior clubs) have had in our top squad more LOCAL juniors and FAR FAR more developed junior recruits.

shiznit

:lol: Losing Patten, Kimmorley and Hannant is a pretty decent chunk of our cap. Add El Masri and Eastwood from last year with the addition of very few players apart from Turner over the 09/10 off-season and we're sitting pretty.

No need to let bitterness over Frankie's departure get in the way...

The marketing & administration of 2008 decided to produce those shirts to stir the rivalry in the wake of the O'Meley, Anasta, Myles and Mason defections to the Roosters. That's where "Bred not bought" came from. Since that time the club has changed, from the top down, including the entire board and the CEO. The mud has stuck however, despite the success of 2009.

Ultimately every team buys players, less and less clubs are relying on their local juniors. Why isn't every other club coming in for a scathing attack every time a new signature is penned?

thats still 1 more player than your pack... :lol:

Bulldog Force

What is the point then exactly?
Exactly. No one gives a f**k about which management made up the slogan.
Bulldogs fans thought it was great at the time, got shown up very soon for the hypocrites they are, and have tried to distance themselves from it ever since.

Since then Roosters (4 junior clubs) have had in our top squad more LOCAL juniors and FAR FAR more developed junior recruits.
The key phrase there... "at the time" - it's been well over 2 years since that happened. Stop living in the past ;-)
thats still 1 more player than your pack... :lol:
Issac Luke played his junior footy with the Bulldogs when he moved here from New Zealand sweetheart :)
LOL.

Dreaming.

Didn't you say the same thing this year?

Just because you are cheats doesn't automatically make you winners. You are not Melbourne

1. No, I did not say the same thing this year, nor did I say the same thing last year, which is what I'm sure you're referring too
  2. Prove we are cheats ;-)

Doomednow

If you want to make a bold claim like "bought not bred" and use it to shame your opponents, you can't just abandon it a season later and hope noone notices. That is sure to come back and bite you.

Like now.

yobbo84

Imports like Jason Clark? Shannan McPherson? Eddy Pettybourne? Beau Falloon?

No wait, maybe you meant our backs, with imports like Nathan Merritt, Beau Champion, Fetuli Talanoa, John Sutton, Junior Vaivai...

Hmm...

shiznit

Issac Luke played his junior footy with the Bulldogs when he moved here from New Zealand sweetheart :)

LMFAO!! so youve just proved that not only does your club raid other clubs like the best of them... youve also proved that when you actually do 'produce' a decent talent(and i use the word produce very loosely with luke as he was just poached by the dogs before any other NRL clubs)... your too stupid to keep them.

juanfarkall

Imports like Jason Clark? Shannan McPherson? Eddy Pettybourne? Beau Falloon?

No wait, maybe you meant our backs, with imports like Nathan Merritt, Beau Champion, Fetuli Talanoa, John Sutton, Junior Vaivai...

Hmm...

You might want to edit your list there.

Ohhh but, but, but.............. we but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................but, but, but................