Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane Tigers make their bid to be 18th team

I have no idea what you are talking about lol

NRL, some multi millionaire owners, RL fans in WA, WA govt and some companies will fund a WA NRL club.

2's enough, 3's just being greedy and selfish.

You just said the ratings in Melbourne are shit because the game doesn't spend enough money on marketing and development. You always blame Melbourne's poor participation rate and low ratings on the ARLC not giving it more money.

You're yet to tell us how increased funding from the ARLC will lead to more people in Melbourne choosing rugby league over fumbleball.

Perth had a lowly 5k RL fans watching NRL on Foxtel in 2017. In 2023 they had just 8k watching on 9Gem. There's just 4k players in Perth.

If 90% are from NSW then it boosts the case for a third NRL team in Brisbane. It also makes it a no brainer to keep Magic Round in The River City and tell the WA Gov to go f**k itself.
That wasnt the discussion, the discussion was your hypothesis that AFL gets more viewers in Brisbane than NRL in Melbourne due to migration patterns.

Magic round, like origin, is a revenue raiser for NRL, it will go to whoever wants to pay most.

Personally id be happy to see our Govt stop wasting money on NRL events until NRL is committed to the game here, and instead divert some of it to grass roots RL in WA.

You just said the ratings in Melbourne are shit because the game doesn't spend enough money on marketing and development. You always blame Melbourne's poor participation rate and low ratings on the ARLC not giving it more money.

You're yet to tell us is how more money from the ARLC will lead to more people in Melbourne choosing rugby league over fumbleball.
I said they are lower than AFL in Brisbane as AFL has spent more money and had a better strategy to penetrate the Brisbane sports market. Its a simple $ and strategy in = interest out equation.

Same way investing in Brisbane has created a bigger player and fanbase for the game there.

Selfish is putting a Perth nrl club over Brisbane easts
2 clubs to support and he wants another one because he doesnt like the two he could support in the city.
Whilst fans in other cities dont have any option. Thats the epitome of greed and selfishness.

Its also massive hypocrisy after years of calling for culling of Sydney clubs lol

Wb1234

2 clubs to support and he wants another one because he doesnt like the two he could support in the city.
Whilst fans in other cities dont have any option. Thats the epitome of greed and selfishness.

Its also massive hypocrisy after years of calling for culling of Sydney clubs lol
Img would give brisbane easts an a and Perth a c

Wb1234

If we had a grading system Perth would be in by now
The grading system england usefavours existing lower level clubs over new clubs

the system which you are a fan of

the system which ranks your club hull kr over London or toulose

The grading system england usefavours existing lower level clubs over new clubs

the system which you are a fan of

the system which ranks your club hull kr over London or toulose
If a grading system had been in place I have no doubts we'd have kept building a club from our jim beam cup days and would have a solid second tier club here by now that would be challenging for an NRL grade. Investors wont invest without a clear outcome and return opportunity on that investment.

There is nothing stopping London or Toulouse having a higher grade than HKR, they need to find investors and build to it same way HKR have.

Wb1234

If a grading system had been in place I have no doubts we'd have kept building a club from our jim beam cup days and would have a solid second tier club here by now that would be challenging for an NRL grade. Investors wont invest without a clear outcome and return opportunity on that investment.

There is nothing stopping London or Toulouse having a higher grade than HKR, they need to find investors and build to it same way HKR have.
I love how you can brush aside the double standard so easily

tbf hull kr have bootstrapped their way into a sustainable super league club

I love how you can brush aside the double standard so easily

tbf hull kr have bootstrapped their way into a sustainable super league club
No double standard at all. SL now has a system that gives every club equal opportunity to be admitted. I really hope to see Toulouse, Bradford, London get themselves to an A grade club and be in SL.
NRL doesnt have that so needs to make strategic decisions on where it wants the games footprint to grow.

I remain of the opinion that the game will ultimately be bigger and stronger if it takes the time and commitment to grow into new markets over just continuing to adding more clubs to already serviced markets.

MugaB

If we didnt have brain dead Albo flashing his cash it would ideally be:

18. Perth
19. Christchurch (if a backer comes along)
20. Easts or Adelaide Bears
Hahahaha where's this perth bid, you'd be lucky to get in as the 20th if at all, the you spout 19th as Christchurch (IF a backer comes) ...mate there is no bidders for either, the rate this is going its gonna end up just the Bears and Easts tigers, if that happens thats the end of expansion for good, the model they have now doesn't look like its inclusive to the dots on map approach

Wb1234

No double standard at all. SL now has a system that gives every club equal opportunity to be admitted. I really hope to see Toulouse, Bradford, London get themselves to an A grade club and be in SL.
NRL doesnt have that so needs to make strategic decisions on where it wants the games footprint to grow.

I remain of the opinion that the game will ultimately be bigger and stronger if it takes the time and commitment to grow into new markets over just continuing to adding more clubs to already serviced markets.
Pretty fair argument

finally

Knock off the strawman arguments.

I want Brisbane to have a third team because a) rugby league is a religion in SEQ and b) there's more than enough support and demand for one. The Brisbane Tigers will be self-sufficient from day one and produce more talent for the entire NRL than any other bid. The club will help the NRL generate more money from broadcast revenue because it will produce more premium content for the lucrative SEQ market.

You want a Perth-based team for no other reason than you live in that shithole bogan city that's full of dole bludgers, drunks and nutters who worship fumbleball and hate rugby league. Perth has f**k all juniors and provides negligible value to FTA and PTA. 5k lousy Foxtel subscribers from Perth watched NRL in 2017. You're a delusional dickhead if you think Kayo has increased that number substantially. Just 8k viewers from Perth watched NRL on 9Gem last year. A Perth-based club and any "development" will forever rely on handouts from RL fans in Queensland and NSW, just like the salary cap rorters from Melbourne who've contributed sweet f**k all after 25 years of pillaging SEQ and NZ for talent. That makes you and every other dumb wanker pushing for a Perth-based team a selfish and greedy bum with an entitlement complex. Get it through your thick skull that Adelaide, Melbourne and Perth will never be equal to Brisbane and Sydney in the rugby league world. Change your tampon.

Colk

More bullshit from Perth Red.

Go back a page and see the other post that contained data on where the migrants have come from since 1980.

I'll repost it here so you cannot pretend to have not seen it.

Brisbane has been the go to place for Australians since 1980.
Here's an answer I got using the new Bing, the world’s first AI-powered answer engine. Click to see the full answer and try it yourself. https://sl.bing.net/ibvmiZhohbg
According to the web search results, the Australian city that has attracted the most interstate emigrants since 1980 is Brisbane, with a cumulative net gain of 436,000 people from 1981 to 2020¹. This means that more people moved to Brisbane from other states than moved out of Brisbane to other states over this period. Brisbane was followed by Perth, with a cumulative net gain of 269,000 people¹. Sydney and Melbourne had the largest cumulative net losses of 1,057,000 and 316,000 people respectively¹.​
Some possible additional sentences are:​
- The main reasons for interstate migration in Australia are employment, lifestyle, education, family, and housing affordability².​
- Interstate migration patterns have changed over time, reflecting the economic and social conditions of different regions³. For example, the mining boom in Western Australia attracted many interstate workers in the early 2010s, while the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 reduced the mobility of people across state borders².​
- Interstate migration also affects the distribution of population growth, ageing, diversity, and electoral representation in Australia³. For instance, Queensland gained two additional seats in the House of Representatives in 2019 due to its high population growth from interstate migration⁴.​
Source: Conversation with Bing, 8/12/2023​
(1) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/latest-release.​
(2) Regional internal migration estimates, provisional, March 2021. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...igration-estimates-provisional/latest-release.​
(4) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/2017-18.​

Don’t forget the world as well. Cities like New York, London, Paris and Tokyo pale into comparison to Brisbane.

Colk

Knock off the strawman arguments.

I want Brisbane to have a third team because a) rugby league is a religion in SEQ and b) there's more than enough support and demand for one. The Brisbane Tigers will be self-sufficient from day one and produce more talent for the entire NRL than any other bid. The club will help the NRL generate more money from broadcast revenue because it will produce more premium content for the lucrative SEQ market.

You want a Perth-based team for no other reason than you live in that shithole bogan city that's full of dole bludgers, drunks and nutters who worship fumbleball and hate rugby league. Perth has f**k all juniors and provides negligible value to FTA and PTA. 5k lousy Foxtel subscribers from Perth watched NRL in 2017. You're a delusional dickhead if you think Kayo has increased that number substantially. Just 8k viewers from Perth watched NRL on 9Gem last year. A Perth-based club and any "development" will forever rely on handouts from RL fans in Queensland and NSW, just like the salary cap rorters from Melbourne who've contributed sweet f**k all after 25 years of pillaging SEQ and NZ for talent. That makes you and every other dumb wanker pushing for a Perth-based team a selfish and greedy bum with an entitlement complex. Get it through your thick skull that Adelaide, Melbourne and Perth will never be equal to Brisbane and Sydney in the rugby league world. Change your tampon.

Calm down

We all know you're a fan of the RFL system because the potential expansion areas don't have the resources to ever get into the Super League and won't be given any assistance, thus ensuring Hull KR's survival.

You also know that Adelaide, Melbourne and Perth will never have the resources to compete with the Brisbane Tigers, Redcliffe Dolphins and North Sydney Bears. That's why you call for a bullshit socialist "equity" program that ignores the strong and props up unwanted teams in shithole markets that don't care for our game.