Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Broncs game

The difference was that Walters has instilled the will to win against all odds into his young team - Griffin still has not been able to do so and with a team that has far more experienced players than the Broncs .

That lost will cost the Dragons dearly and let’s face facts - there will not be anymore games this season where we have such an advantage over a depleted team . Very sad display indeed .

Gardenia

The difference was that Walters has instilled the will to win and against all odds into his young team - Griffin still has not been able to do so and with a team that has far more experienced players than the Broncs .

That lost will cost the Dragons dearly and let’s face facts - there will not be anymore easy games this season . Very sad display indeed .
It was a bit sad to watch. They did try they just didn't go so well in their last play options. Hopefully they can come back but it will not be easy. Bird was the shining light

Crush

Yeah righto mate, they both shit the bed and according to your last post it's the coach's fault. If these blokes had as much natural ability that your premature, ill-wdvise post suggested we would've won hands down.

The coach showed the faith and your two men let him down, end of story.
I was talking about set plays. Did you mean to quote me? Not sure what Sullivan and Amone “shitting the bed” has to do with set play execution?
It’s OK, you’re probably just upset.

kit66

Why can we not execute a set attacking play?
You know the ones where everyone knows their role, goes through the hands and finishes with winger scoring in the corner? Like the broncos try in the second half, like Souths, Sharks, Cowboys do every week.
All of our attack is one out, our tries are mostly individual moments of brilliance.
We are really poorly coached.

I came here to say exactly that. It shows how off the pace we actually are, it's like we're playing some older style of footy and have been left behind. Dying with the ball on the last inside the opposition 20 too, who the hell does that ? We've done it a dozen times this season. No composure, No cohesion, no plan B. We were terrible.
It's been said many times that league is a simple game and the Broncos showed us exactly that. 20 minutes defending with 12 men didn't help but there was no excuse for the way we played, as Crush said, one out stuff, every man for himself. The Feagai break and no-one can be arsed to back him up or get to dummy half, pathetic.

I had 2 takeaways from that game, the one above and this - Atkins went into that game determined to bin someone, preferably a Dragon, as some kind of pay back for last week, I'm absolutely convinced that was the case. I'm sure lots of fans of other teams will see it as some kind of justice without even acknowledging or even realizing that what happened last week had nothing to do with any Dragon. if there was an error it was 100% the referee's error.
Atkins should be stood down.

There seemed to be a distinct lack of leadership out there today, and you get the impression that we are a rudderless ship without Hunt there. You can't run a rookie halves partnership unless your senior players (and especially your forwards) are digging in, as well as doing a lot of constructive talk. Bird tries to lead by example, but that clearly wasn't enough.

Crush

He doesn't know what's he's talking about
Just loves to death ride us after talking us up
WTF are you talking about?
How am I deathriding us?
You literally just responded to a post I made earlier in the week saying how happy I was that Sullivan was selected and how I hoped he would kill it. Yeah really deathriding.
Because I said we were poorly coached you have had a meltdown, you really do have a hardon for the coach don’t you?
Wake the f**k up!

Crush

I came here to say exactly that. It shows how off the pace we actually are, it's like we're playing some older style of footy and have been left behind. Dying with the ball on the last inside the opposition 20 too, who the hell does that ? We've done it a dozen times this season. No composure, No cohesion, no plan B. We were terrible.
It's been said many times that league is a simple game and the Broncos showed us exactly that. 20 minutes defending with 12 men didn't help but there was no excuse for the way we played, as Crush said, one out stuff, every man for himself. The Feagai break and no-one can be arsed to back him up or get to Fake, pathetic.

I had 2 takeaways from that game, the one above and this - Atkins went into that game determined to bin someone, preferably a Dragon, as some kind of pay back for last week, I'm absolutely convinced that was the case. I'm sure lots of fans of other teams will see it as some kind of justice without even acknowledging or even realizing that what happened last week had nothing to do with any Dragon. if there was an error it was 100% the referee's error.
Lack of cohesion for sure Kit, good post.

R&WTILLIDIE

It's been said many times that league is a simple game and the Broncos showed us exactly that. 20 minutes defending with 12 men didn't help but there was no excuse for the way we played, as Crush said, one out stuff, every man for himself. The Feagai break and no-one can be arsed to back him up or get to dummy half, pathetic.

No mate. The first binning was harsh, yes. But Sims was lucky to only get 10 in the bin for that second hit.

True_Believer

Well unlike many others, I didn't expect to win today. Although I did think it would be closer.

I had concerns before the game about having Sullivan and Amone together in the halves. The kicking was always going to be an issue although I had hoped Amone was further along with game management than he is.

I also believe that the 20 minutes of Sims in the bin sapped the energy of the team. Additionally, the halves needed to take control of the game. The poor kicking put us on the back foot and contributed to the fatigue we saw in the second half. Without at least 1 half running the show we were always going to struggle.

Both Sullivan and Amone are good players individually, but I don't think we can accommodate both of them in the team just yet.

Kolum Kid

It’s the players that Payten and Walters have brought in compared to Hook that sets these coaches apart. Walters and Payten signing young bulls. Hook signing has beens and gronks
This is the most sensible thing I have read all day. Amone is improving every week by playing FG, Sullivan needs FG game experience. How Hook goes about that with Ben Hunt remains to be seen but if these youngsters continue to be denied game time we'll be in this same position next year.

justadragon

i was thinking during the week what the refs would do, sims first bin was bs but the second was warranted imo, still ref or no ref we played terrible and got what we deserved for going in with an attitude like that.

Gardenia

We blew a huge chance.
Caught on the last many times and poor kicks by halves giving them 7 tackles sets.
Our big bopper plan by Hook didn't work.
Jayden Hunt missed a vital tackle.
Kerr ran hard but easy to see why he's in reggies with Hunt 1 6 7 need to always back up, even when Matt made a break nobody there.
No point forwards running if no one to play second phase.
Losing Rava and maybe Sims.
Pereira never played like today in any game for us.
Now we fall into the group with the chooks when we could have been 4 in front of them but now we wiil he equal with them if we cant bt them, which I think we won't.
Also my run as starting game thread wins has come to an end
Yeah Periera did play well for us and I was gutted when he left us
we should get him back - he has always been under rated
agree with everything else you said

Dragon David

Has Sloan really done that much to warrant being unhappy if not picked?
Maybe not but he is worth it to be given another chance just like Ramsey was given. We need someone with speed on the flanks. We lost against young and fast players today and I was hoping that we could have started just as fast.

If the Broncs had a full compliment of players today, to me they could have reached 50+.

If Sloan was on, he might have had the speed to shut down some of their players. Only saying.

kit66

Thought the first Sims sin bin was rough but definite shoulder to the head for the second. Agree though we don’t want to be jus in front near the end with them anywhere near our line…

If you have another look and freeze it at the moment Sims shoulder makes contact you'll see it goes nowhere near the head of the Broncos player, it contacts his chest. The bunker should have picked that up. It wasn't a shoulder charge, he used his arms, and it wasn't high. What it was was another bs unnecessary sin binning.

It was a bit sad to watch. They did try they just didn't go so well in their last play options. Hopefully they can come back but it will not be easy. Bird was the shining light

I sincerely hope that the boys (? - men ) do Gardenia however they are unable to tough it out in defence on a week to week basis .

There is plenty of ability in the team , however that ability must be resulting in sustained attack and presently it is not .