Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Burrastons Local Rag Editorial - Fri 17th April

roopy

You guys smell blood in the water, so the way to go is to drag down the guy trying to do the job and guarentee the club is stuffed - then you can blame him for it.
Great stuff.
Saying Burraston 'should have done something' implies there is something he could do - but if the numbers don't add up they don't add up - short of selling his kidney on ebay, there's no short term rabbit he can pull out of a hat.
Burraston has two choices - battle on and try to get us through the tough times, or give up.
If he gives up there is no one on earth silly enough to whip on the captains hat of the Titanic when all they can expect is abuse from Knights fans and to destroy their reputation for all time.
Burraston can pull us through if we support him.
No one else would be silly enough to take on the job.

Karmawave

Way off beam Roopy.

I'm not asking for the bloke to stand aside on a whim, I'm asking for him to treat his fans with more respect, lose the excuses, become more transparent, and stand up and be accountable with a proactive approach instead of defensive justification.

Simple as that mate.

I am saying if he can't do ( or wants to do ) a better job than he can now, then he SHOULD stand aside, but if he is the best man for the job, then at least step up and take some responsibility.

Treating his fans with contempt and insulting our intelligence is not going to endear him to the masses and bring about better crowds.

In his mind right now, Burraston still thinks he got it right with the ticket prices, and that shows how out of touch he really is.

In his effort at greater profits, he actually outpriced the real loyalists.

roopy

Surely you don't believe there is NOTHING Burraston can do, Roopy?
I believe he is a duck on a pond - calm on the surface, and paddling like f**k under the water.
He has done everything short of begging, and he is close to that.

Adsy

Oh I don't doubt that for one second. I just don't agree with alot of his business methods.

antonius

The problem is the Knights are in the same situation as a lot of the other clubs, in fact some of them are far worse off than us (Parra for example) The simple fact is that it costs a lot of money to keep an NRL club afloat, and unfortunately there isn't enough to go round ATM. The NRL need to find more for the clubs, and one good place to start is TV rights. I've said in other threads I would love to see three grades back again, and I think plenty of fans would, but because of the same finances we wont see that. I think Burro is struggling yes, but no more than all the pother CEO's times are tough, we need to stick it out. I've whinged about match days and so on, but at the end of the day I think the clubs hands are tied financially, as are everyones. The fans are dropping off because of all the stuff we've gone over, but that's the result of having no money, it's a vicious circle.

Karmawave

I believe he is a duck on a pond - calm on the surface, and paddling like f**k under the water.
He has done everything short of begging, and he is close to that.

Roopy, he is telling us today that what is happening with the crowds is ok and that the Knights expected it.

That's hardly begging.

Whether or not he is intending it, he is coming across as stubborn and trying to convince anyone who'll listen that everything is alright and that everything the Knights have done for fans ticket price wise is still emphatically approved by the CEO.

roopy

Oh I don't doubt that for one second. I just don't agree with alot of his business methods.
I wouldn't do business with him because the guy plays hardball - but i'm unlikely to ever be in that position.

roopy

Roopy, he is telling us today that what is happening with the crowds is ok and that the Knights expected it.
He is saying 'DON'T PANIC', because we are finished if people panic - which is all he can do - unless you want him to run around like a chook with it's head cut off.

Karmawave

I think Burro is struggling yes, but no more than all the pother CEO's times are tough, we need to stick it out.

I've never seen any other CEO write an OP ED where they clearly take the fans for granted and insults fans intelligence by writing obvious bullsh*t?

I've never seen another CEO respond to fan input by mostly ignoring it and writing it off as if its not important.

Karmawave

He is saying 'DON'T PANIC', because we are finished if people panic - which is all he can do - unless you want him to run around like a chook with it's head cut off.

I just said what I expect the CEO of my footy team to do - take more responsibility, listen to his fans more, stop taking them for granted, and become more transparent while losing the defensive excuses.

Simple.

Serc

By the way, I went out of my way earlier to try and post a positive comment re: ticket packages because all the negatives (some of which I agree with) were placed up there in neon lights. Its not that I disagree with those negatives, just that they have been overthrashed.

Karmawave

karma for CEO

then when he fcucks it up, we can nail him to the cross

You can't f*ck up stuff thats already totally f*cked.

I'm not the man being paid to be CEO but hey I'll take a CEO wage if the job description means simply coming up with excuse after excuse for failure ;-)

Macca just because you have a hard on for Burro, and like the bloke, doesn't mean everything that has been written in this thread doesn't have merit.

macavity

Macca just because you have a hard on for Burro, and like the bloke, doesn't mean everything that has been written in this thread doesn't have merit.

I think he is having a fair crack at polishing the turd that is the Knights admin. I admire his passion and dedication. Or maybe he is slightly mad, taking a pay cut to take one of the most thankless jobs in history.

Doesn't mean I can't cop criticism of the bloke, but I think you (and many others, it seems) are OTT - no matter what he does, it is "arrogance" and "taking people for granted".

example - he keeps prices up, it is arrogance to expect people to pay so much. he puts them down, he is taking the season ticket holders for granted.

No matter what he does, you will criticise it. Maybe instead of bagging him, you could let us know what you would do, other than "sell the club" - because for all we know talks may well be happening, and it is hardly an overnight process, or one played out in the media.

I think roops has this one 100% correct. He is a duck at the wheel of the titanic. or something.

Hard on? Dude, he looks like fat elton john. That is more your thing, innit?

Karmawave

I think he is having a fair crack at polishing the turd that is the Knights admin. I admire his passion and dedication. Or maybe he is slightly mad, taking a pay cut to take one of the most thankless jobs in history.

Doesn't mean I can't cop criticism of the bloke, but I think you (and many others, it seems) are OTT - no matter what he does, it is "arrogance" and "taking people for granted".

example - he keeps prices up, it is arrogance to expect people to pay so much. he puts them down, he is taking the season ticket holders for granted.

No matter what he does, you will criticise it. Maybe instead of bagging him, you could let us know what you would do, other than "sell the club" - because for all we know talks may well be happening, and it is hardly an overnight process, or one played out in the media.

I think roops has this one 100% correct. He is a duck at the wheel of the titanic. or something.

Hard on? Dude, he looks like fat elton john. That is more your thing, innit?

Hard on not in the literal sense :lol:

Look I really do know what you're saying.

The first thing I would do is not have put up the prices as drastically as the Knights have done to start with!

Especially the massive price rises that the premium seating for the core season ticket holders experienced in recent years.

Those large price rises in the premium areas in the last few years, are finally culminating with a significant portion of season ticket holders letting their seating go - and I'm not just talking those who are relocated. I know of people first hand who simply felt that the value for money simply wasn't there.

The price increases were drastic a couple years ago, and have continued an upward spiral which, like I mentioned earlier, sees the Knights tickets in the top 4 most expensive in the entire NRL. We both know the average Newcastle resident is not earning as much $$ as our Sydney counterparts, so the price is one huge thing that would be the first thing I'd change as CEO.

I'd introduce some novel ideas based on American promotions - such as a dedicated bay where you buy tickets that include all you can eat hot dogs and chips in the ticket price for that particular bay! Things like that. In america its called ALL YOU CAN EAT BAY. The food is prepared nearby and is easy enough to keep your eye on cheats who want to feed their mates in another bay. Ways to ensure its fairness. That would be one way to fill out an end bay each week. That is just but one example of an idea off the top of my head.

There's a number of different ticket promotions and theme nights the Knights could undertake to improve attendance without it being too difficult.

I've proposed the idea before of blind auctions where fans can bid to spend matchday with the team, in the week leading up to the game, at training, and after the game.

As CEO, there would be many different ideas I would put forward.

But I'm not CEO Macca, and to be frank, putting forward any ideas is simply a waste of time anyway, because who is going to listen? Certainly not our current admin and CEO. That's been made clear.

Whats Doing

Karma - as an accountant you don't need to have 18k fans turn up every game to average 18k. You also don't need to average 23k over the next 2 games to get to an average 18k for the year. Some games the numbers will be below and some will be high.

No one knows the budget so it is a bit rich to state Burro is talking crap especially after 2 rounds. To average 18,000 for the year the knights will need to average 18,800 which is not unrealistic. We need a few more games and in particular the traditional crowd pullers before we start shooting off.

BTW i would have thought that Manly and the Warriors were not great crowd pullers.

Notwithstanding this, the recession is hurting big time and a lot of the clubs are doing it tough. The Titans who average approx. 22,000 last year had an opening season crowd of about 16,000 and has yet to reach 20,000 this year and they are leading the comp!

manly is the #1 crowd puller for the knights, Whats Doing... and probably always will be. i'm pretty sure the EAS crowd record is a knights vs. manly match.