Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cameron King to Cowboys

jenninga

I am a litle bumed about this, but fair dinkum. Has King played more than 3 games consecutively yet? I agree he is a better player than Rein, but he is so damn injury prone, that he offers very little value for his contract.
Good luck to him if true, hope he can get over these niggling injuries that have hampered his career. But I won't blame the club for letting him go given his injury history.

Agree,pretty sure he would have been retained if it wasn't for his prone to injury,they did re sign him previously.
We have options for the hooker spot.

jenninga

I know this is going to sound stupid....BUT does anyone else agree that we looked a quicker and a more effective attacking team w Fein at dummy half? I mean last 2 games he was very effective from dummy half....

This should have happened more often and Drinkwater should have been given more game time in the last few weeks.
Not often I agree with you Mickey,but I do on this.

I am a litle bumed about this, but fair dinkum. Has King played more than 3 games consecutively yet? I agree he is a better player than Rein, but he is so damn injury prone, that he offers very little value for his contract.
Good luck to him if true, hope he can get over these niggling injuries that have hampered his career. But I won't blame the club for letting him go given his injury history.

I'm ok with it too. The Club has been rubbished so many times for persevering with injury prone Players. This is step away from that.

Kuro

I also feel neutral about this. He is a great player and I love seeing him out on the field, but can't deny that it is too few and far between.

He is one of the better players that I feel is okay to let go and honestly hope he goes well in the future. Now on to Cook/Garvey/Rein. I'm especially keen to see Cook develop into the role if given the chance.

moik

People are saying he's hardly played any games for us. That's more due to selection rather than injury. He's played plenty of games for the Cutters where he should have been in firsts.

Slippery Morris

He played in the world club challenge game got injured and the rest is history. Had a season ending injury when Bennett was there then Price took over and the rest is history.

grouch

At the beginning of 2012 the club had to roll the dice and keep him. It was a must. He'd had a few injuries, but Newcastle & Bennett were looming over him and he was too talented to let go so early. The club made the right call. Now, the call is not so clear. Injuries have sadly persisted, but, he's the best hooker in the club (particularly post-Fien). I have no confidence in Mitch Rein, but my confidence in King's durability is also slim. He's still under contract for another year so I'd prefer to keep him and gamble

Saintsified

I don't understand why people are thinking Rein isn't any good...he was in the emerging blues squad and has been mentioned by leading commentators as the future NSW hooker and I agree with all of it.

Please enlighten me.

dragonreddy

I don't understand why people are thinking Rein isn't any good...he was in the emerging blues squad and has been mentioned by leading commentators as the future NSW hooker and I agree with all of it.

Please enlighten me.

I also agree with you ,Cameron King has no where near the first grade experience Rein now has .King has way too many errors in his game,if and when he gets a run, maybe hes just trying too hard ,you can see he has some potential but hes yet to realise that and string some first grade appearances together.Rein's definately the number 1 pick for 9 ,admittedly his form at the back of this season wasnt as good but i reckon he was carrying injury,he'll go well next year.

watatank

Please enlighten me.

I think you need to watch him more closely. He's a very limited player.

He pretty much only has one move, dummy one way and run the other. He got a few tries from close range and with that came the wraps. Teams probably underestimated his ability to break the line then but this year they worked him out and stopped him easily. Rein scored 7 tries last year, this year he had 2 line breaks (1 try)

Attacking wise his passing game is poor, he's small and ineffective running the ball, takes the wrong options, and his little to no kicking game. Defensively he works hard but he is not dominant and concedes a quick play the ball almost every time (probably why he tackles so much).

He has been hyped up because he's young, he established himself in a position where NSW has zero depth and QLD has plenty, and made an impact last year in a poor performing team. He will continue to be talked up for a while he's young but I wonder how long it will be until people realise he is another Matt Keating.

hardbaby

Rein has the heart the size of a lion and tackles all day but his skill set is average at best. He took people by surprise last year but once you work him out he doesn't offer much. I think he is a solid first grader but hooker is such a crucial position you really need a more dynamic option.

The Nick

Hard work beats talent any day of the week. But hey, let's keep trying to build a footy club around "potential".

nrlnrl

I'm a big fan of Cameron King's play, but bad luck / timing with injuries & selections cost him in the end. He'll be heading to the Cowboys with the lure of a starting spot with a contender too good to refuse.

dragondonar1

Hopefully rein trains alot on his passing game and he will be a much better player.
I think players make each other look good and this year we had very limited players in that area. With the players next year rein will have alot more options in attack.

watatank

Hard work beats talent any day of the week. But hey, let's keep trying to build a footy club around "potential".

Every team that is smart and wants to win builds their team around "potential". Yes they need to work hard but talent comes first. If hard work was the only indicator then Nathan Fien would still be running around next year.

rainman44

I think you need to watch him more closely. He's a very limited player.

He pretty much only has one move, dummy one way and run the other. He got a few tries from close range and with that came the wraps. Teams probably underestimated his ability to break the line then but this year they worked him out and stopped him easily. Rein scored 7 tries last year, this year he had 2 line breaks (1 try)

Attacking wise his passing game is poor, he's small and ineffective running the ball, takes the wrong options, and his little to no kicking game. Defensively he works hard but he is not dominant and concedes a quick play the ball almost every time (probably why he tackles so much).

He has been hyped up because he's young, he established himself in a position where NSW has zero depth and QLD has plenty, and made an impact last year in a poor performing team. He will continue to be talked up for a while he's young but I wonder how long it will be until people realise he is another Matt Keating.
This

saints4me

Bit harsh of Rein fellas. I think it was a bit hard for anyone to shine in this years team. I'm sorry to see King go but I understand why. Looking forward to seeing Rein work with an established 1/2 and 5/8. Will do wonders for him game and he's still only young! You can't question his ticker. He tackles anything that runs at him and I think he'll only get better. Would have liked to see King play some 5/8 this year - especially when we no longer had a chance to make the finals. Could have worked up a decent combination in my opinion and may have influenced Doust and co to keep him on.