Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can these guys get any dumber?

we pay then to run into each other at high speed. Is it that surprising they are not the most eloquent speakers in the world?

It always surprising though to see someone with so much confidence in front of 25,000 people yet fall apart when a mic is stuck under the nose.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Pretty sure that as of next year, players are going to receive media training. I believe it was part of the TV Rights deal.

End of the day I don't give a shit if these blokes can string two words together, they're paid to play footy, and if they do that alright, that's all I could care less about

Times have changed with how important and professional the code needs to look when it comes to tv presentation. It might not be a very serious issue, but it definitely needs to be improved when it comes to the players. The media training component of the tv deal(?) will be very beneficial.

LOL @ Kasiano & Uate especially.

Kasiano always has scared eyes. He looks like he's continuously worried. I bet he cries easily. "ohh I cant believe it" LMFAO.

Uate's interviews are disgraceful. He also dresses like a f**kwit. He wore a blue shirt to match his mrs dress. Whipped. LOL @ Brandy after that "interview"

Benji's mrs looked amazing.
Lauren Eagle looked like pure trash.

But anyway, back to the public speaking thing....recently I saw an interview from Knights under 20's player Chanel (lol suspect first name for a man) Matautia.

Richie Barnett asked him "So what have you learned in the NYC which you feel will prepare you for becoming a professional footballer"

Chanel "ohhhh what was that sorry?" *reaches closer to put his ear out*

Barnett repeats the question.
Chanel looks at him and goes "What?......huh? professional footballer?"

Barnett had to forget it and skip to the end of the interview. Truly hilarious.

hrundi99

The NHL is probably most similar to the NRL in terms of the combination of talent and toughness and players coming from the country, etc. but to a man they are very good at being interviewed and always present as confident, intelligent individuals. Even the players from Eastern Europe who hardly speak English do a semi decent job.

Pierced Soul

some people are better at public speaking than others, some are shy....ffs i still don't know why people expect them to be wordsmiths. as long as they're not being rude who cares?

kasiano is shy of the media, he had the same reaction when he got MOM and was "interviewed". not everyone can speak eloquently and not everyone is able to talk well in front of cameras.

as for media training i thought most clubs already did this. perhaps training as per the rights deal may help but if you're really shy and feel uncomfortable in front of a camera training for it isnt the be all and end all

simostorm

Current Media Training:

Some dramatic licence has been taken.

Kasiano walks into Training room.

"Hi Sam" says Bill

"hey bro" Says Sam

"So sam, lets pick up where we left off last week" says Bill

"oki doki" says Sam

"Spot, the puppy dog was shy too, in fact.. when mummy spot was not around, poor little
spot did not know what to say" reads Bill

"I like Spot" says Sam.

Sleep

I thought it was hilarious. Rugby League players are close to the worst in front of a camera. Players from other codes and sports always seem far more articulated.

Springs

some people are better at public speaking than others, some are shy....ffs i still don't know why people expect them to be wordsmiths. as long as they're not being rude who cares?

kasiano is shy of the media, he had the same reaction when he got MOM and was "interviewed". not everyone can speak eloquently and not everyone is able to talk well in front of cameras.

as for media training i thought most clubs already did this. perhaps training as per the rights deal may help but if you're really shy and feel uncomfortable in front of a camera training for it isnt the be all and end all

Thank you. It's honestly not that big of a deal. A few players are scared about talking on TV, so what?

I don't see the need to whine about how bad our players are compared to the AFL players on their footy show, why would you watch that anyway?

And also :lol:mad: simostorm asking if players can get any dumber. I doubt you're in much of a position to ask that champ.

bottle

I thought it was hilarious. Rugby League players are close to the worst in front of a camera. Players from other codes and sports always seem far more articulated.

Some are only semi articulated though.

eozsmiles

Or maybe we can just let them play rugby league...

They want to play footy they can go to the park. If they want to be employed by the NRL, which owes its life to fox and 9, then they're going to have to speak.

If anyone wants to know what a club or a player thinks of the fans then watch them face the media. A bloke like DCE clearly has some respect for the people he is talking to. A bloke like Darius Boyd seems to think fans are tools. No prizes for guessing which one makes it further in post footy life. No prizes for guessing which one is a better image for the NRL to hold up.

It's a shame that the only access the average footy fan has to players is via the media. And so many players, and even clubs, refuse to do their best. Our game is going pretty good but imagine how good it would be if players and clubs were more interested in creating a better image and brand for the corporate side, and a more enjoyable and interesting experience for the fans.

Ps can't forget the other side of this, although I don't really buy into it. Lots of people think NRL players are drunken thugs who couldn't string a sentence together. So there are people out there who don't want to hear anything these guys have to say, or want to listen so they can simply treat them as a joke and point out how smart the other codes are in comparison.

philgood

"ummm erhhh yeahh mate nah mate ahhh"

That was embarrassing to watch. Other codes would have been laughing at these bone heads. One would expect them to string a few words together.

simostorm

Thank you. It's honestly not that big of a deal. A few players are scared about talking on TV, so what?

I don't see the need to whine about how bad our players are compared to the AFL players on their footy show, why would you watch that anyway?

And also :lol:mad: simostorm asking if players can get any dumber. I doubt you're in much of a position to ask that champ.

Honestly guys.. its not that big of a deal that these guys do a poorer job of speaking then the speech impaired para Olympians.. who cares if the AFL players are heaps more smarter then the NRL guys on TV.

Really guys.. players being on TV and looking dumb is alright guys.. it really is.. :crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy:

gerg

Honestly guys.. its not that big of a deal that these guys do a poorer job of speaking then the speech impaired para Olympians.. who cares if the AFL players are heaps more smarter then the NRL guys on TV.

Really guys.. players being on TV and looking dumb is alright guys.. it really is.. :crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy:

Couldn't have said it more better if I tried. :sarcasm: