Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carney sacked

There's a photo of him pissing into his own mouth
It's all over the Internet and media.

Pissing into his own mouth.

Urine

Mouth

Both his

Photo if it

On the news

Not too mention his c**k which everyone seems to be ignoring.

Oh
I am into big time.
I can't imagine why a mass circulated photo of our star play maker pissing into his own gob even rates a mention.

Not too mention his c**k which everyone seems to be ignoring.
Burgess boy still plays.....

Meanwhile, guy who gropes girls free to play once counciling complete.

Convicted women bashers playing.

But do something distasteful.......

Marchad

I always thought the Hills District was the Bible Belt. The happy clappers there have there own tv show and infiltrate all the tv reality karaoke contests. So Sydney must have two bible belts.

Vin Fizz

For mine. The only thing that matters in this case is what was agreed between the party's. If Carney signed the deal that has a clause in it that he has clearly breached then it matters not one fugging jot what anyone else has done will do or is contemplating wether it be the sharks or any other team in the league. He agreed to it and has to honour that commitment. I don't see Toddy boy complaining that the terms of the contract aren't being upheld. Its a matter of degree I guess. And to me that's a bit grayer. But ive boiled it down to this. Its a bit like cheating on the missus (if your into that). Some say surfing porn is cheating, other say a flirt is, some say you have to go balls deep. What matters is what you've agreed between you and the missus (ie what would you be happy telling the missus). So I ask myself, would Toddy have been happy to waltz into Shark Park and provide a power point preso with his photo as the only slide? His reaction says no to me. I reckon he knows he overstepped the boundary of his agreement and I couldn't care less about anyone elses). And I am so far away from being religious its not funny.

husky65

Find me a religion. Ill ring and ask. Im sure all the PC do-gooders on here will be ecstatic to have the christian democrats on-board!!!
Kumbaya!!!

You can bullschit and sidestep as much as you like, but the question still stands - who are these millions of dollars worth of sponsors that you said were lining up to sign on and have now bailed because we sacked an idiot for being photographed being an idiot?

Name just 2 million worth of sponsorship that sacking Carney cost us or admit you are simply lying.

You can bullschit and sidestep as much as you like, but the question still stands - who are these millions of dollars worth of sponsors that you said were lining up to sign on and have now bailed because we sacked an idiot for being photographed being an idiot?

Name just 2 million worth of sponsorship that sacking Carney cost us or admit you are simply lying.

Dont put words in my mouth dope.
I said there are sponsors lining up for league. You know, the so called damaged code you god botherers keep bangin on about.
5 Sdyeny clubs have had a choice of Sponsors. WE cant get one, is my point. Whilst ASADA is an issue, it is not the only thing that keeps sponsors away from us.
lack of success, rubbish demographic, disengaged out of shire fans, & most importantly no free to air TV.
FTA comes with winning.

The Popper

`Winning isn't everything.....................it's the only thing!' - Vince Lombardi.
How true it is in sport................winning = bums on seats.

Vin Fizz

The irony is that we weren't winning with him and I don't think his best was a head of him either. But I do understand Poppers point.

Live in Qld particularly Brissie and see what the saying "everyone loves a winner" means.

Over the years I have lived north of the Tweed I can't believe how fickle some people are. They love winning sides in winning sport but geeze they turn or disappear as soon as their particular side goes bum up.

Qld-Sharkie

Live in Qld particularly Brissie and see what the saying "everyone loves a winner" means.

Over the years I have lived north of the Tweed I can't believe how fickle some people are. They love winning sides in winning sport but geeze they turn or disappear as soon as their particular side goes bum up.

Speaking of up here in god-forsaken territory... I spoke with one of the directors of our local footy team & it seems that the guy who took the pic of Carney lives here.
According to him they didnt know each other & this Roberts or Robinson or watevadaf**k his name is...just walked into the crapper, saw Carney testing his alcohol content level & snapped the pic.

wibble

For mine. The only thing that matters in this case is what was agreed between the party's. If Carney signed the deal that has a clause in it that he has clearly breached then it matters not one fugging jot what anyone else has done will do or is contemplating wether it be the sharks or any other team in the league. He agreed to it and has to honour that commitment. I don't see Toddy boy complaining that the terms of the contract aren't being upheld. Its a matter of degree I guess. And to me that's a bit grayer. But ive boiled it down to this. Its a bit like cheating on the missus (if your into that). Some say surfing porn is cheating, other say a flirt is, some say you have to go balls deep. What matters is what you've agreed between you and the missus (ie what would you be happy telling the missus). So I ask myself, would Toddy have been happy to waltz into Shark Park and provide a power point preso with his photo as the only slide? His reaction says no to me. I reckon he knows he overstepped the boundary of his agreement and I couldn't care less about anyone elses). And I am so far away from being religious its not funny.

This may be the case, he may have had an agreement that he broke.

In which case I'd say two things.

First, the club should be more open with us about that (so we can rightly condemn them for putting a stupid idea like "disrepute" into a contract) and have a clear process (clear to Carney and to fans) for judging if such a clause has been breached.

Second, putting a stupid, unfair and possibly discriminatory way of judging someone into a contract may or may not make it legal (I'm no legal expert) but it doesn't make it any less stupid, unfair, or even possibly discriminatory.

If someone has a past history of religiously motivated violence, and we wanted to hire them, we could rightly say that violence is the issue, and any more criminal activity is cause for termination of the contract. I'd hope the NRL had a fair and transparent system already for dealing with law breaking (especially violence) from all players, but they don't, they also rely on the ridiculous and easily abused notion of "bringing the game/club into disrepute". Since they don't have a decent system, I'd have no problem with a contract that says if the player continues to be violent, for whatever reason, that we terminate the contract.

But I'd have a real issue with any clause that says this player can't continue their "unsavoury" religious practices, or that they can't be an outspoken proponent of their religious values, even though I'd likely find such values objectionable.

It would be just as bad to have a clause like that in a contract as it would be to not have any clauses and just rely on "moral outrage" as a barometer of how likely we should be to terminate a contract.

husky65

Dont put words in my mouth dope.
I said there are sponsors lining up for league. You know, the so called damaged code you god botherers keep bangin on about.
5 Sdyeny clubs have had a choice of Sponsors. WE cant get one, is my point. Whilst ASADA is an issue, it is not the only thing that keeps sponsors away from us.
lack of success, rubbish demographic, disengaged out of shire fans, & most importantly no free to air TV.
FTA comes with winning.

I would hate to go putting words in your mouth Reefy, so lets quote exactly what you said "Instead it will cost us tens of mills in lost sponsorship & see us anchored to the bottom 4 for 5-10 years." (post 200 in this thread).

Having established that you are a liar, I'm now just interested to see just how much hysterical hyperventilation you are prepared to put into it.

Also, I'm only prepared to do so many laps around the 'tard park with you on this - provide the names of the sponsors (tens of millions in lost sponsorship was the term you used) or simply admit you lied.

Vin Fizz

I know what you mean Wibble. The time to argue all your completely valid points is not when they are being enforced. Its when you sign up to them. Unless someone here has access to the contract and all the corro, discussions etc that went on last Sunday we are all pissing in the air. We just dont kno what went on and i undertand that fact, which combined with the Chariman saying fugg all, our already shit house season becoming worse and so on is driving lots of this very passionate debate.

wibble

I know what you mean Wibble. The time to argue all your completely valid points is not when they are being enforced. Its when you sign up to them. Unless someone here has access to the contract and all the corro, discussions etc that went on last Sunday we are all pissing in the air. We just dont kno what went on and i undertand that fact, which combined with the Chariman saying fugg all, our already shit house season becoming worse and so on is driving lots of this very passionate debate.

Absolutely.

In the end, nothing we say will change Carney's sacking, and will do very little to fix the shambles that is the club at the moment.

All our passionate debate is just a way of channelling our frustration at how poorly our team is going, on and off the field.

But it is useful for us to remember our "darkest days" and try to learn from them, and put whatever pressure we can as supporters (maybe not much), on the club in the future to learn from its mistakes.

So at least discussion helps us to see what mistakes may have been made, if any, and what can be done about them, if anything.

No one is going to agree 100% with anyone else, but it seems a common thread among all our discussion is that we expect the club to communicate better with us. Maybe we can start there with our "pressure" on the club in the future.

Feej

He's gone, sacked, run out of town, pissed off, fairly, unfairly, done, dusted, finished.

Next...

chewsta

No matter what conclusion we came to as a club, the NRL were going to de-register him anyway.