Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Central Coast Bears NRL Bid.

Our whole project on the CC has me thinking are they preparing the ground for a partial relocation at some point i.e dragons style without the merger of course. They have been very active in the community in the past 2-3 weeks with players visiting dozens of schools and the club has been very visible throughout the coast.

I do not think we are the most popular team amoung rusted on fans on the coast (but not the worst) but if they continue to get into the schools year on year then there is a potential large pool of fans in coming years to draw from that might see them as the coasts team if we send a decent amount games this way

Sometimes to prosper, you have to make hard decisions.

If the Roosters are slowly positioning themselves in to a partial or full relocation to the CC, and if it benefits the bottom line, the fans, the members, the game, the code, the sponsors etc in the long run, and guarantees them a future, then I think it should be applauded.

And the CC is begging for a NRL team, so they should get right behind the Chooks. If marketed properly, the Roosters could own the CC in 5-10 years by getting in to the public psyche, esp if they target the school age CC kids and juniors.

If the NRL won't give the CC a franchise, they could do worse then support the Roosters making the CC their own. Integrated development strategy at all levels between the code, the club and the coast would be awesome. And ok, won't be popular with everyone, but (and this is one of the things I like about the AFL not that I like much) is they saved teams from extinction via relocation [and not saying the Roosters can't survive as is...just saying].

Good luck to 'em for trying. As a Souths supporter I will always love and hate the chooks in equal parts....but I can't begrudge them for trying.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Our whole project on the CC has me thinking are they preparing the ground for a partial relocation at some point i.e dragons style without the merger of course. They have been very active in the community in the past 2-3 weeks with players visiting dozens of schools and the club has been very visible throughout the coast.

I do not think we are the most popular team amoung rusted on fans on the coast (but not the worst) but if they continue to get into the schools year on year then there is a potential large pool of fans in coming years to draw from that might see them as the coasts team if we send a decent amount games this way

It would be ridiculous to expect everyone on the CC to love the Roosters imediately, but thats not necessary for this venture to be successful. All of the current RL fans in the area will just appreciate the effort; put simply, the Roosters should look to be loved, just respected....

For example, Ive spent most of my life living in the Illawarra/South Coast region. I was a Steelers fan prior to the merge, and i just couldnt bring myself to support the Dragons (may they burn in hell). But i would never delude myself into thinking the Steelers could have survived on their own. If StG hadnt moved into the area we would have nothing here.

Though i have only ever cheered for the opposition at Win Stadium, i have great respect for the Dragons (everything they have done in the region for fans and juniors), so much so that ive been a continuous member for almost 10 years now.

A new team in the CC region will not convert fans from their current teams, but (as long as the roosters dont just approach this as a cash grab) those fans will still be first in line for tickets....

macavity

I'm a Novocastrian Rooster fan and I wont be going to the Central Coast for a Roosters game. Either I get reciprocal ticket rights for the away game in Newcastle or I go to the real deal at the SFS to a user friendly time slotted game. Otherwise, I won't be a member this season.

Still a fan but not a member! (Just got the Rooster number plates-BTW costing $250!)

I'd also like the Roosters to be marketed as the "East Sydney Roosters".

Novocastrians support the Knights. You might live here but you aren't a novocastrian.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Novocastrians support the Knights. You might live here but you aren't a novocastrian.

Sorry to nitpick, but it refers to any person that comes from any place called "Newcastle"....

(in a side note, "Novocastrian" is a really cool name for quasi-nation and should totally be written on the jersey; preferably inside the collar in a raiders #GreenMachine style.)

LJC

Doesn't sound like he is much of a roosters fan either!

The negative comments are unfair but that goes with the territory.

I am well and truly a Newcastle person. Many other people from Newcastle follow other teams other than the Knights! The Knights are my 2nd choice team. You will find this with a lot of fans in the Hunter region. The respect and support for the original core Sydney clubs has been and still is very strong.
I have played first grade level in Cricket and rugby league(including representative junior footy) in Newcastle for over a 10 year period in my past. I'm pretty sure that's very Novocastrian?

The Roosters comment was a poor comment as I have been a genuine fan of the Roosters since a small boy. I trialled at the Roosters (when Artie Beetson-1st Grade and Fairfax-Presidents Cup were coaching), and still to this day, this is the hardest physical experience I have been through bar none!(Urinating blood on the train back to Newcastle after training sessions in Moore Park etc) In addition I have recently purchased a Roosters number plate for my car for $250 and thought it, even though quite expensive, still value over the long term)

I'm a Roosters fan and a membership is like a vote and if you don't like something that you are about to enter into with a financial commitment you let them know what the issue is. This is what I did with the very understanding Roosters membership phone caller and it may lead to a better deal for regional members in NSW. If the feedback doesn't occur they will not improve the product. Simple as that.

I won't go so low as to challenge the genuine intent of my detractors that have stated 'I'm not a real Newcastle person' and 'not a genuine Roosters fan'. Simply not true!

juro

Spreading wings
It's been eight years since a new team was added to the NRL – and you couldn't really call the Titans "expansion" because the game had already tried and failed on the tourist strip. The appointment of Shane Richardson seems certain to put the issue – belatedly – back on the agenda with a second Brisbane team and Perth appearing favourites, ahead of Wellington, Central Queensland and Port Moresby. We're also spreading our wings in regard to venues for our current program, with Napier (controversially) the latest city to be given a match. Sydney fans used to having the lion's share of games without actually going to them have had enough chances. It's the National Rugby League in name only – that's about to change.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-league-into-new-markets-20150301-13rrqq.html

Should we be reading anything into Steve Mascord mentioning 5 different areas for expansion, and Gosford not being one of them?

CC_Roosters

East coast roosters? 5 games gosford, 7 games at moore park. I could live with that as a coastie and roosters fan. But i would still rather the bears just to be clear

Considering the legal relationship between Easts Leagues Club at Bondi Junction and Eastern Suburbs District Rugby League Football Club (trading as the Sydney Roosters), talk of the Roosters moving to Gosford is pie in the sky. If you think they will, I suggest you look at the Board of Directors for each entity..... you will realise then why I am sure they won't relocate.

undertaker

The Roosters will NEVER, ever leave the Eastern Suburbs and relocate to Gosford. Two reasons:

1) Yes, there is the benefit of tapping into a large area of junior development and junior RL comps on the Central Coast. However, they aren't financially struggling or crippled like the other two candidates that have also been linked to a relocation to the Central Coast in the past: Cronulla, and the situation the Rabbitohs were in pre-2007 before Crowe/Holmes a Court bought them. The Rabbitohs would've definitely taken the $10m Gallop et al. was offering at the time and relocated to Gosford by now had Crowe/Holmes a Court not come to rescue, as they were a complete basketcase both on (their results) and off (a completely financial mess) the field.

2) Influential powerbrokers on the Roosters board. In addition, Gygnell - an ardent Roosters supporter - will make sure it never happens.

I'd also like the Roosters to be marketed as the "East Sydney Roosters".

Yes, I agree with this, as that is the part of Sydney they represent.

The amount of bids aiming for the NRL is why the NRL needs a true Second Teir competition.

I do understand that this will increasingly mean a move away from the 'Qld Cup and NSW Cup' as such (as some form of conference will needed) but we need to add prestige to the 2nd Teir

You can blame good old former-Parramatta Eels CEO Dennis Fitzgerald for that.

He was one of the architects who wanted to get rid of the Reserve Grade comp around the early 2000s, so that it'd save money. Big mistake that was, and an even bigger mistake it was for the NRL in 2008 making the new U20 NYC a bigger priority ahead of NSW Cup for years before that was changed a year or two ago. That stuffed up years of youth development, and the defense in the NYC was terrible - so many high scoring matches. No wonder why only a small % of players from the NYC made the step-up and were able to fully cement first grade positions.

undertaker

CC and Perth should be priorities. NRL needs to fix the Titans before bringing another QLD team.

THIS x 100

Sick and tired of the media and all these QLDers saying the NRL absolutely MUST bring in a 2nd Brisbane/SE QLD side just so that an NRL game can be played at Suncorp every week, without looking at the potential consequences of the effect it will have on the Titans whilst they are still a rabble.

The Titans definitely need to be fixed up and build their crowds back up to what they were not long ago before another QLD side is considered for expansion. Perth, however, definitely should be added and are deserving of inclusion at the next expansion bid.

I wonder if the mystery money man is Marwan Koukash?

Is Koukash Australian?

:lol::lol:

undertaker

To the juicy/controversial part of what I wanted to reply to (but haven't had the time until now). Long rant coming up:

The NRL screwed up a lot back then, if the Bears were to be eliminated, Manly should have maintained the North Shore and Central Coast as part of our territory. The Bears are gone though, so the NRL has to work with what it has, which is Manly. Introducing another team that will lean heavily on Sydney is stupidity, especially when Brisbane is screaming out for a second team, as is NZ and Perth. If the Bears moved the bid to Christchurch, they'd be an almost auto-inclusion, they're wasting their time bidding out of where they are.

The northern eagles should have remained or

Neither side should have got the license until a tender process to run all rugby league and the nrl franchise on the north shore northern beaches and central coast was complete.

The northern beaches does not deserve a franchise on its own, blind Freddy can see that.

That said it was manly fans who abandoned the joint franchise and manly who cut the neck on a joint venture arrangement which already favoured them.

Fully agree there, which is why the CC Bears bid was/is doomed from the outset. The NRL isn't going to cut Manly, and they aren't going to add a club that could harm an existing club, I.e they aren't going to let a club take the North Shore and CC and let Manly stay isolated on the Northern Beaches, it'd mean a slow death for Manly and a permanent weight on the NRL, when they could instead give Manly the North Shore to grow into. The NRL f**ked up big time by allowing the merger to dissolve and the clubs return to their old territories, as the Bears technically still exist as a reserve grade club, so Manly can't do the same work they do on the Beaches on the North Shore, as it's still Bears territory. The Bears should have either been completely shut down and folded into Manly, or the Northern Eagles brand and territory should have been forced to live on. No one particularly liked it, but at least it wasn't the territory f**k up that exists now.

playing games at beat park?Does Floimo have any clue at all? This bid is just wasting people's time

The part in bold has been the main problem with the Bears expansion bid all along: the geographical location they have defined they represent. I 100% agree with all of the posts I have quoted above

If the Bears expansion bid SOLELY was focused on representing the Central Coast (i.e. their identity was as a team from the CENTRAL COAST, and not just another Sydney team), they'd have a slightly better chance of convincing ppl on the NRL board at the next expansion talks. This would mean that the North Shore was NOT apart of CC Bears territory (i.e. CC Bears would be a completely new identity, not just a reincarnation of the old North Sydney Bears). The minute you start talking about reconnecting with the North Shore and furthermore, playing a couple of games at North Sydney Oval etc., the bid is immediately screwed then and there. You straight away make yourself look like a Sydney team under the banner of 'Central Coast' Bears. They will never be able to incorporate the North Shore in the team's geographical area ( North Sydney Bears territory) because of what reanimate said: the Sea Eagles - who'd then be strictly confined to the small strip of the Northern Beaches - would die in sea of red ink. Also, the Bears would be able to tap into a lot of sponsorship dollars in the North Shore with all the big businesses there. The NRL will never allow an expansion bid that will put an inevitable death sentence on another NRL side.

Yes, it's sad. The NRL screwed up big time back in the late '90s, but unfortunately we can't go back in a time machine to that period to redo the mistakes of the past. Yes, the SL-war did a lot of damage, but the way the rationalisation process was conducted by the NRL post-SL war was even more damaging and something that receives far less attention than the SL-war. As I said, by reducing the competition from 20 to 14 teams and thereby trying to do what would've taken at least a decade of careful planning and rationalisation work in only two years (1998/99) was never going to end well. As a result, more than 50% of those old Bears fans are lost to the game (as in, NRL) and have either moved on to another sport, or are only interested in their NSW Cup side. It's a bitter pill for the Bears fans to swallow when as a part of the rationalisation process, the NRL introduced the controversial stadia criteria, and thus deemed that North Sydney Oval was not up to standard to host first-grade matches there (hence leading to the building of what was then known as Grahame Park in Gosford), only to then allow Souths to play a couple of home matches there in 2004/05. That was a big kick in the guts. The sad thing about the merger is this:

http://afltables.com/rl/crowds/north_sydney_vn.html
http://afltables.com/rl/crowds/brookvale_vn.html

Back in 1994, you can see that North Sydney was averaging 15,116/match and Manly was averaging 14,860/match. That's about 30,000 fans/home match across those two areas. Likewise, I can say the same thing about the St George/Illawarra merger. At their peak, the sum of the two average home crowds for those two areas have been larger than the average of the merged entity. That's one aspect of the game that hasn't been addressed and hasn't improved since 1994 (in regards to those who ask the question is the game better today than it was in 1994).

Regarding the Northern Eagles and papabear's post, it was a mistake to let Manly hold the power and let the license revert back to Manly Sea Eagles if the joint venture dissolved. That was always going to end on a sour note, and a matter of time before Manly were back as a stand-alone entity. That is like your parents buying you and your brother a Toyota Corolla to share, but you are the one who will get a brand new BMW if for whatever reason the Toyota gets damaged. Therefore, with you holding the balance of power in that situation, there is an incentive for you to sabotage or damage the Toyota. It was always a disaster to merge what was undoubtedly the biggest Sydney rivalry in league (bigger than Eels vs Bulldogs).

And I know a lot of ppl on this forum hate Manly. However, speaking seriously, I honestly don't know how much longer they can continue playing at Brookvale Oval. It is a run-down dump that isn't going to get any government funding anytime soon since it's in a safe electoral seat. I'm not one of the ones saying on this forum and the media that the Sydney teams should exclusively play out of Allianz/ANZ just like the Melbournian AFL sides exclusively play out of MCG/Etihad. That will never happen, as those AFL sides in Melbourne are more centrally located to the city and have much better public transporation compared to the NRL sides in Sydney that are more geographically spread out with lack of public transportation (e.g. getting to Brookvale from the city other than catching the L90 bus is nearly impossible). I am for suburban grounds if they are up to standard, but sadly Brookvale and other grounds like Leichhardt Oval aren't and with Balmain Tigers recently surrendering the lease of Leichhardt Oval, the future of Leichhardt Oval is also looking perilous. Yes, it is a beautiful sight when those suburban grounds are packed to the rafters with a 18-20k crowd on a sunny Sunday afternoon, but in the 21st century where those grounds are not up to standard, it's going to really bite into revenue if you get weather conditions like yesterday in Sydney. The large hill areas on those grounds become a mudbath and the only ones who will brave the atrocious conditions are the 5-6k diehard supporters....it's not a good look on tv, and it's not a good look for the clubs bottom line. All Sydney suburban grounds should be up to standard and have capacity of 25k max. Sadly, with the economy going crap and governments reluctant to hand out funding unless it's for venues that have multiple tennants, the millions of dollars that'd be required to renovate those suburban grounds to the specifications I stated is not going to happen anytime soon.

Finally, it looks like a decade of strong performances from the club could be coming to an end for Manly when Foran and Cherry-Evans leave at end of season. They've got a long rough road or rebuilding ahead of them if their form reverts back to what it was in 2003/04 before Des Hasler turned the side around and making the finals 10yrs in a row (2005-14). There will be more problems if their crowds regularly go back to the sub-10k that they were getting pre-2005. Something's going to have to give way sooner or later. A 1-4 start to the season isn't making anything better.

No argument with any of that. The really frustrating and sad thing is that the nrl should have had an expansion plan in place since 2008, not saying they had to bring teams in but they should have decided which ares will be the next expansion areas and done a sht load more ground work in developing those areas and working with the best bid in that area to have them Ready to hit the ground sprinting when they eventually decided the time was right to expand. 7 years on from the first expansion rumours Taking place we are none the wiser where or when, and people like Florimo and the Bears fans, as well as many others have been left clutching at dreams and wasting time and money.

t-ba

The Penns will keep their little vanity project going.

I can only assume they do it because it would be embarassing to have certain family members holding jobs at the Weight Watchers office

undertaker

No argument with any of that. The really frustrating and sad thing is that the nrl should have had an expansion plan in place since 2008, not saying they had to bring teams in but they should have decided which areas will be the next expansion areas and done a sht load more ground work in developing those areas and working with the best bid in that area to have them Ready to hit the ground sprinting when they eventually decided the time was right to expand.

This. And sadly the part in bold is one of the reasons why things at the Gold Coast Titans have turned heywire.

I've said this before and I'll say it again: CC Bears had the better expansion bid/proposal than the Gold Coast did at the time in 2004/05. I'm not saying there should have never been a team on the Gold Coast in the future, but it simply wasn't the right time for them. Compared to the Titans (then known as Dolphins before they were forced to change their name because of the Redcliffe QLD Cup side), CC Bears bid ticked all the boxes; Gold Coast didn't. The NRL were simply in reaction: reaction to rumours circulating about the AFL's intention of having a team on the Gold Coast and so David Gallop et al. thought "Oh, let's just plant a team on the Gold Coast before they do" without actually evaluating all the potential benefits and more importantly, potential long-term risks and challenges that may need to be overcome which were associated with having a RL team in the area. And now, some of these risks/challenges have already reared their ugly head less than a decade into the Titans tenure.

But, as Gallop and his News Ltd spin doctors had RL fans to believe "Not to worry guys!". The Titans then got the QLD government to build them a top of the line 27k seat stadium and Gallop - THE GREAT VISIONARY LEADER OF OUR TIME - continued nodding his head, fronting press conferences with the attitude "See guys! A new team playing on the Gold Coast, a new team playing out of a world-class stadium....I told you we were right"

And then shit hit the fan....

The NRL allowed the QLD government to dick Titans management around (and also fans) with the stadium agreement and as a result, the exorbitant ticket prices. To this day, I have no idea how the NRL ever allowed that to happen. Even before the GFC and the subsequent downturn in the Australian economy, I remember saying on the old rleague forums during the 2008 pre-season how expensive the Titans ticket prices were and that attendances could be a disaster if the Titans don't perform over time. Even with a stronger economy back then, people simply weren't going to be shilling out that sort of cash to watch a crap side.

And then you have Michael Searle...

NRL gave him way too much power and control without doing their due diligence on this guy. As they say, "If something looks or sounds too good to be true, 99% of the time you are correct". All the stuff with the Centre of Excellence....and to think some on this forum wanted him as CEO of the NRL??????? What a disaster that would've been. Don't know what this obsession is with hiring ex-players into prominent administrative/executive/leadership roles. Just because someone was a former player, it doesn't necessarily translate into them being business savvy or making decisions that are to the benefit of the club. I'm a Knights fan, so I'm all too familiar with this type of crap that's happened at my club (e.g. having Matt Gidley as CEO).

I do fear for the Titans future, and this is my biggest concern:

http://afltables.com/rl/crowds/robina_vn.html

Average home crowds have dropped approx. 40% during 2008-14. Their average crowd at Carrara Stadium in their first year was higher than what it was last year. 40% is a big drop in the space of 6yrs, and it's going to take more than just on-field performances for their crowds to get back to near that level. I still remember the 25k they got vs Warriors on a sunny Sunday arvo, 24k vs Dragons on a Monday night in 2009 (and no, their crowd attendances back then weren't fudged, as the stadium looked full on tv)...where have all those ppl gone?