Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Central Coast Bears - Stand Aside

macavity

this thread is just painful.

love the title though.

yes, CCB should stand aside until a club in NSW falls over.

Perth and SEQLD next, please.

Rockin Ronny

Sydney has 9 teams which is way too many. QLD has 3 teams which is way too few. There is no need for another team in the Sydney region, ( Central Coast ).

If you have teh support and financial clout, NSW could have 15 teams.
The "too many teams in NSW" argument is crap.

Red&BlackBear

Russ 13 thanks for posting that interesting article.

I think it truly highlights the need to go to QLD next with expansion of the NRL team base. I hope the powers at be at the time see it that way as well.

There isn't enough player talent to really to have another team admitted but the growing population in QLD in the future is a compelling case.

I don't really see how the Central Coast Bears bid really adds much to the NRL. It just puts another squeeze on the Sydney teams for player talent and they don't add to T.V revenue like another QLD team would.

Whats more the Central Coast bid has become quite arrogant with their approach. It's almost like they are demanding entry in the NRL competition. I'm afraid you just pull a ticket and wait in the queue like everyone else until your number is called out. There are other much more worthier bids out there. They should acknowledge that their bid isn't as superior to others as they make out.

Wow, I can make random rubbish up to and post it. But instead let's stick to facts mate.

TV Growth... the Bears were the 2nd most watched team in the 90's. That includes the time during the SL war. When we had 22 teams, the Bears were only behind the Broncos in TV viewers.

Talent. We have the 3rd most juniors behind Brisbane & WA. I believe if anything there is too much talent and not enough outlets for these kids to reach their top.

Arrogance with the bid? Well after almost 4000 financial members and a groundswell of support from the communities of the CC and North Shore thats 1.1 million people. After all the sponsors both major and locally, all the events and programs we have attended and initiated and lastly the equity we have built. It's not arrogance at all, it's simply put we have the resources available. We have the business model made up and we have people paying their hard earned. These people could be members of the Dragons or Sharks or Panthers etc.. teams who actually play in the NRL week in week out. But instead they are throwing their hard earned cash at the CCBEARS. Who have no team.

Finally this isn't North Sydney Bears. This is a new entity and anyone who thinks otherwise STILL is obviously just hating. Because if you read though this thread and the official website you'll realize that this is a CC team. Through and through. If you still think otherwise then you're obviously hating and too lazy to read facts.

For you, as a Sharks fan, here's some maths.

Your club has been broke for decades.
You have been rescued from bankruptcy by the league at least 3 times.
You joined superleague as a alternative to bankruptcy.
You have been spruiking about some bullsh*t property development saviour that will probably give you $1 million per annum - when you patently need $15-20 million to be successful.

Now, you come here to talk about "maths" and expansion. If rugby league wasn't run purely on agendas and fiefdoms, your club would have been booted out 30 years ago.

Let me give you a tip.

The Cronulla Sharks will still be playing in the NRL when your ass is growing daisies.

Talons

Following David Gallop’s whistle-stop tour of Central Queensland this week, it was amusing to read comments forecasting that Rockhampton could be the base of the next NRL franchise.

Like any good lawyer, his comments have been full of platitudes, but little of substance. Yes, we all knew Central Queensland is entering a boom phase and yes, we all knew it has a keen League population base and yes, the NRL would be mad not to check it out for future expansion……but in 2013?

His only new comment has been today on radio, stating that the Gold Coast model has grown TV audiences and thus heartland bids can expand the game.
When talking heartland bids, David Gallop consistently has said ‘fish where the fish are’.

So where are the fish?

Rocky’s population is 80,000 and the nearest decent sized town, Gladstone (107km away) has 30,000. So to claim they have more than 110,000 as a reachable catchment area is fanciful. How many will travel to away games? 50? 100?

Forget the Ipswich bid this time around. This is being cobbled together at the last second by a Club which draws a few hundred to its games and whose Leagues Club sells $2 steaks (provided you buy a beer). Its only being created following more David Gallop remarks six months ago that the western Brisbane corridor must have an NRL team eventually. Again, we all agree with him… eventually. Make it a true independent west Brisbane bid with a new name and colours, dump the Jets name and I’m all for a team come next TV deal.

Ipswich has a population of 170,000 and combined with Logan City (280,000), a 450,000 population which will grow to 600,000 in 15 years can probably sustain a team once they put together a strong, community bid… if News Ltd allow competition for the Broncos in an already crowding landscape.

As Bear proponents say, and I’m now converted to their thinking, Central Coast Bears have a population of almost 1.1 million, comprising 320,000 on the Central Coast and 750,000 in northern Sydney. The Central Coast is growing rapidly so in 20 years time that will swell to well over 1.2 million.

As heartland bids are not affected by strategic points on a map, its irrelevant whether they are in QLD or NSW, it just matters how many fish there are and if they are biting. The only bid that can prove they are biting is Central Coast, as they have I see over 3,700 financial members, more than some current NRL teams! I also see their Facebook site has over 21,800 fans, more than Newcastle, Cronulla, Penrith, Canberra and the Cowboys.

So the Central Coast are financially secure and have the pond with the most fish, who are biting hard. Brisbane has a pond still under construction and we don’t know if there are many fish, or if they will bite. The fish are biting for sure in Rockhampton, but there aren’t many in the pond at all.

So if the League bring in just one heartland team, where would you fish?
Just think – two could be accommodated, one from NSW, one from QLD if the Sharks were culled or moved to Perth…. no doubt the IC will examine all options.

http://www.theroar.com.au/2010/11/26/fishing-for-heartland-expansion/
You always seem like a reasonable person Red&BlackBear so please do not take this as a personal attack but how do you include 750,000 supporters from North Sydney in your reasons for inclusion when you state that this club is an entirely new entity and belongs to the Central Coast.

Again I genuinely wish you and your team the best of luck with their bid but it's a little unfair to juggle the figures to hedge your bet..Not saying that if I were in your shoes I wouldn't try the same thing... but fairs fair !

Red&BlackBear

You always seem like a reasonable person Red&BlackBear so please do not take this as a personal attack but how do you include 750,000 supporters from North Sydney in your reasons for inclusion when you state that this club is an entirely new entity and belongs to the Central Coast.

Again I genuinely wish you and your team the best of luck with their bid but it's a little unfair to juggle the figures to hedge your bet..Not saying that if I were in your shoes I wouldn't try the same thing... but fairs fair !

Because that is where the pre existing Bears brand comes in. If we had the Central Coast "whatevers" it wouldn't have those North Shore communities. However by having the red & black Bears brand, it utilizes that pre existing fan base and brings in the new Central Coast fan base. Therefore instead of covering just one territory where we'd have half the sponsors, support. We can essentially cover 2 territories, a'la St. George/Illawarra and combine them.

In conclusion that means more sponsors, more supporters, more juniors and more potential.

The corporate sectors of the North Shore see the viability and potential of this bid, hence why they are behind it already. The local business sector of the Central Coast also see the potential and viability of this bid, hence they are also behind it already. The NSDRL and CCDRL are behind it.

This is no different to Western QLD (bringing in the communities of Ipswich, Toowoomba, Beaudesert, Logan) or Central QLD (Rocky, Gladstone etc). The only difference is population which we better those 2 and corporate support which is already not only behind us but already signing cheques. The proactive community involvement which we have been doing for a few years now and the important memberships. Which we have 3700+ already and they have 0.

Other reasons are established through out this thread and on the Central Coast Bears website,.

Who cares? The paying supporter. $160 for something that looks like sh*t and won't be current within a couple of years.
Baby bibs, t-shirts and polos are $160? :lol:

READ what people are talking about before commenting on it.
Sydney has 9 teams which is way too many. QLD has 3 teams which is way too few. There is no need for another team in the Sydney region, ( Central Coast ).
Central Coast is not part of the Sydney region.

dgsfan

The Bears bid is apart of Sydney. Figures just posted above your post indicate that 2/3 of the population that the Bears brand will represent come from Nth Sydney. If it is not partly a Nth Sydney team, then these figures shouldn't be used to enhance the bid.

The comment that if the support it there then we should give them a team... sure. May as well have the whole comp in NSW then if that's the case. No need to expand beyond our state. There will always be support in NSW wherever you go. As it stands 10 out of the 16 teams are located in NSW. That's 63%. By bringing in the Reds and a SEQLD team that percent could be reduced to 56%.

dgsfan

The Bears bid is apart of Sydney. Figures just posted above your post indicate that 2/3 of the population that the Bears brand will represent come from Nth Sydney. If it is not partly a Nth Sydney team, then these figures shouldn't be used to enhance the bid.

The comment that if the support it there then we should give them a team... sure. May as well have the whole comp in NSW then if that's the case. No need to expand beyond our state. There will always be support in NSW wherever you go. As it stands 10 out of the 16 teams are located in NSW. That's 63%. By bringing in the Reds and a SEQLD team that percent could be reduced to 56%.

beave

Tim, what would you do if the CC Bears come in???????? Dogs still be your your number 1 team or would you change over to the Bears?

Well said.

Another dopey statement from Timmah.

That's the thing with this bid they will try and use one angle to appease one argument and then they use another angle to appease another argument.

Why don't they just come out with the truth that it is just North Sydney trying to get back into the comp?

mightybears

Well said.

That's the thing with this bid they will try and use one angle to appease one argument and then they use another angle to appease another argument.

Why don't they just come out with the truth that it is just North Sydney trying to get back into the comp?

yeah, of course you are correct forget that its called the CC Bears and all bar two matches are at Gosford.

beave - Dogs will always be number one team - 26 weeks of the year. 24-25 weeks of the year I'll also proudly support the Bears. This region deserves a team.

Well said.

:lol: Nice personal attack there before getting on with more shallow digs at something you don't understand.

You try to make it sound like my assertion is somehow directly connected with the Bears bid. For the record my statement was simply refuting an incorrect statement by bobmar28 which claimed the Central Coast was part of Sydney. Nothing to do with the bid, which absolutely claims a population catchment with all of the North Sydney/North Shore and Central Coast districts, which currently have no team representing them in the NRL.

As for the "truth about it's just North Sydney trying to get back into the comp", how do you figure that? It's the North Sydney club relocating to the Central Coast to enhance the prospect of their claims for reinstatement. Making it sound evil with a turn of phrase because you're threatened that your pathetic club (which has spent much of the last few years as the joke of the League) will be left dead in the water by a much stronger entity with a much larger junior catchment and better support.
yeah, of course you are correct forget that its called the CC Bears and all bar two matches are at Gosford.
All bar two?

You mean one...

Red&BlackBear

Coasties ensure the Bear essentials

• By Nick Walshaw

662601-central-coast-bears.jpg

North Sydney tragic...businessman Ken Sayers, whose company Mortgage House will be one of the main financial backers of the Central Coast Bears' bid.

FOR the past year, the question has started almost every conversation Dave Fairleigh encounters.

At the shops. In the surf off Avoca beach. Even the contractor painting his house yesterday wanted to know why the bloody hell a Central Coast footy team has to be called the Bears?

"And having grown up on the Coast myself, I get it," says Fairleigh, the retired Kangaroo now headlining the NRL expansion bid.

"It's a fair question and, when it comes to our proposal, easily the one I've been asked to answer most."

OK, Dave, so why the Bad News Bears? Why should Coasties align themselves with an image representing bankruptcy, mediocrity and - let's be brutally honest here - the absolute tragedy that is celebrating your most recent premiership some 20 years before World War II?

It's an important one to get right because the clock is ticking. The competition fierce. NRL boss David Gallop even spending part of this week with the Central Queensland bid team in Rockhampton.

So why the Bears?

"Because when David Gallop considers our bid, the most important criteria will be sustainability," Fairleigh continues. "Proving we can pay the bills.

"We need to come up with $18 million a year and, put simply, we can't do that on the Central Coast alone. We need to tap into a larger market. So should we have a bid called the Central Coast Trojans that won't get approved, or do we use a Bear in our logo - opening ourselves up to an area that runs from Kirribilli to Lake Munmorah?"

Indeed, it's the Bears logo that has already seen Fairleigh's team snare North Sydney tragic Ken Sayer - the Mortgage House managing director who is offering to underwrite the Central Coast club for an astonishing $10 million.

"And if it's not the Bears, we don't have Ken," Fairleigh says simply.

"There are a lot of people in Sydney's north who lost interest in rugby league when North Sydney disappeared. We want to bring them back.

"But that's only one part.

"The other is the people of the Central Coast who will finally get to have a team that lives, plays, trains on the Central Coast. A team that will be sustainable and playing rugby league for the next 100 years.

"It doesn't matter what colour your jersey is, a footy club is judged on its actions.

"You have to remember too that a lot of the school kids I meet, particularly the younger ones, have no idea about the North Sydney Bears anyway.

"We welcome the old Bears fans. But there are also thousands of people on the Central Coast who have been waiting a long time for their own footy team. We're extremely confident we can give them one."

662589-central-coast-bears.jpg

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/the-bear-essentials/story-e6frfgbo-1225961667871

Red&BlackBear

New Central Coast Bears foundation sponsor announcements

PRIME

PRIME Television Limited is an Australian public listed company and operates as a "free-to-air" television and radio broadcaster in Australia. The licensed viewing area covers the regional locations of Northern and Southern New South Wales, the ACT, Victoria, the Gold Coast area of eastern Queensland and all of regional Western Australia (which is known as Golden West Network – GWN). PRIME is an affiliate of the market leading Seven Network and sources approximately 90% of its programming from this association. PRIME’s programming continues to build momentum, buoyed by a stable of Australian favourites – including Home & Away, Packed to the Rafters, City Homicide, The X Factor and Dancing With the Stars to list a few. PRIME’s news and public affairs programming also dominates with Sunrise, 7 News and Today Tonight plus Sunday Night. Two new digital channels have been launched in 2010 – 7TWO on PRIME and 7mate.

Visit PRIME'S website by clicking here

---

Foster Raffan

"Working for your Success"
In July 1995 Foster & Company (Est. 1978) and Raffan & Company (Est. 1992) merged to establish Foster Raffan, a four partner practice with five core specialist areas of service;
- Auditing - statutory and other
- Business Management - strategic planning, budgeting and financial management
- Financial planning
- Taxation planning, advice and compliance
- Valuations, mergers, acquisitions and disposals
Visit Foster Raffan's website by clicking http://www.fosterraffan.com.au/
----

ACS

"Integrated Service Provider"

ACS Integrated Service Provider is committed to delivering the highest levels of service to our clients including security, retail and commercial cleaning, traffic management and housekeeping to ensure complete satisfaction. We currently service over 4,000,000 square meters of retail, commercial and public precinct space with some of Australia’s most successful blue chip companies.

Visit ACS's website by clicking http://www.acsisp.com.au/

----
http://www.centralcoastbears.com.au/foundation_sponsors_and_members.html

We'd like to welcome all new foundation sponsors on board the Central Coast Bears bid.

** on a side note, we have both the NBN & PRIME sponsoring us now. Two different TV stations! Not too shabby at all.

Go the Bears!

bobmar28

The NRL need to expand not contract. Perth to be the expansion and one heartland team. QLD is the heartland of rugby league yet they are stuck on 3 teams while AFL is on the march in that state with 2 teams now.

The next 2 teams into the NRL should be WA reds and Ipswich Jets. When a Sydney team fails or merges that will open up a franchise for the Central Coast.

taipan

OK I am going to go out on a limb,and offer 4 teams for expansion in 2013.WTF? You say.
Well the CC has all the boxes ticked,thus getting the North Shore back on board and bringing in the Central Coast base.
The Perth entry is a no brainer,it brings the national feel,as a result sponsorship to the game and the option of another time slot for the 2 hour differential.
The CQ bid,with a new stadium promised by the Qld Govt,the corp support and the juniors,meaning another Qld side in the equation.
Then another Brisbane side,whether it be Ipswich inspired,but played out of Suncorp.
The effect nullifying the GC sunburns of the AFL.Offering more Qld games for FTA or Fox.Not only matching but having more slots availble to TV than the AFL would.Meaning more money.The Bears after years in isolation,will bring back that feel good factor and take away some of the GWS hype thrust upon us.
Meaning Qlders are happy,the Bears long suffering supporters are happy,the sandgropers are happy after being dudded.to say there are not enough players around.Try the ESL where many Oz players are involved,the NZRL/ru ,the P/islands /PNG.
Why do things in friggin half measures,the AFL don't ,lets snooker them and show some balls.

Red&BlackBear

The NRL need to expand not contract. Perth to be the expansion and one heartland team. QLD is the heartland of rugby league yet they are stuck on 3 teams while AFL is on the march in that state with 2 teams now.

The next 2 teams into the NRL should be WA reds and Ipswich Jets. When a Sydney team fails or merges that will open up a franchise for the central Coast.

You're a funny one. I post new sponsors, new membership drives and new pledges from major sponsors today and you will always find something to put it down. Even if we have the resources, the population, the commitment, the equity and the community backing you'll still find something to say "no no no, not the CCBEARS".

Look around you mate. The people have spoken. The sponsors have spoken. The communities and local leagues have spoken. This CCBEARS bid is going full steam ahead whether you or anyone else likes it or not. Too much work and dedication has gone into it. We've explained we're not a Sydney team. We've explained how we will sustain our selves and our neighbours, we've got the numbers on our side both financially and memberships.

This is something that you either hop on board and come for the ride or you get away from and don't bother about it. Because for people to step back and still complain is getting old.

Ipswich do need a team yes.. but where is their business plan? Where are their bid plans? Who is founding this bid? Who are the sponsors? Where are the members? Does the community even want them? Because the local CC and North Shore communities are pledging and throwing their money at this CCBEARS bid. It means they want us. Moving ahead too fast and you'll do more damage then good to the game in SEQLD.