Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Central Coast Bears - Stand Aside

31st of March is when the NRL asked for all bids to be put in for submission. That was stated half way through this year (2010) so people would stop asking over and over and over.

I haven't seen Gallop say that and the fact it is only 3 months away yet no official call for bids with a deadline has been given would suggest that it is unlikely. What he has somewhat consitently said is that expansion would be decided once the Tv deal was decided. Given we still don't have an IC negotiating TV deals it is unlikely that will be concluded before mid 2011. It therefore follows that a decision of if to expand or not also won;t be made until then.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...league-expansion/story-e6frep5x-1225960419688

BDGS

Quoting Gallop now when it suits your argument? What a hypocrite!

Reds & QLD 2013!

Can you stay on one f**king topic for more then one post? Obviously you can't because instead of counter-arguing my arguments with another argument with a different set of perspectives to challenge what my argument stands for.

You only come up with insults that have nothing to do with anything.

In case you haven't noticed i have always quotes and respected the NRL CEO Mr. Gallop, you and the numb-nuts five were the ones to say that Gallop is a puppet but then quoted him when he mentioned Ipswich.

Now, either come up with another argument that challenges what i say or shut the hell up.

dgsfan

Haha. great comeback there.

Agreed re submission time. It will be much longer than 3 months away, which will only benefit the QLD bid.

Reds & QLD!

BDGS

I haven't seen Gallop say that and the fact it is only 3 months away yet no official call for bids with a deadline has been given would suggest that it is unlikely. What he has somewhat consitently said is that expansion would be decided once the Tv deal was decided. Given we still don't have an IC negotiating TV deals it is unlikely that will be concluded before mid 2011. It therefore follows that a decision of if to expand or not also won;t be made until then.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...league-expansion/story-e6frep5x-1225960419688

"The Central Coast Bears will maintain regular contact with the NRL regarding the progress of the bid leading up to June next year when a decision on expansion is expected to be handed down."

http://www.centralcoastbears.com.au/items/CCB_Bid_Newsletter_August_2010.pdf

June is the month that David Gallop told the Central Coast Bears, in one of the regular meetings they have had with him, will be the month of the decision. Since then those around the league circuit in Sydney have heard it might be pushed out until July. The decision is expected by June/July 2011.

Both the Bears and Reds (after consultations with the NRL) will be entering their bids by the end of March.

I heard from word of mouth from a NRL source that the Bids will be called in March. I can not find a link to any media source though. But even assuming that March will be the month off the evidence provided in this post is more than reasonable.

so you think they will announce that the NRL will def be expanding before the TV deal is signed? Bit of a risk isn't it? What if the TV deal isn't worth alot more, where will they find the money to fund it?

I wouldn't be surprised if they called for bids April-May, closed June-July announced October/November after season finishes or leading up to playoffs to create a major buzz.

BunniesMan

so you think they will announce that the NRL will def be expanding before the TV deal is signed? Bit of a risk isn't it? What if the TV deal isn't worth alot more, where will they find the money to fund it?

I wouldn't be surprised if they called for bids April-May, closed June-July announced October/November after season finishes or leading up to playoffs to create a major buzz.
Regardless of how much money the tv deal gets us, the extra game will get us more, the sooner the two new teams are announced the better for our negotiating position.

Exactly. If the NRL can use the extra game as leverage for more money then they should use it. Ideally the negotiations will be better if they're assured of the extra game and a Perth based franchise.

bobmar28

The Bears are a Central Coast team. They will play, train and be based on the CC. Due to their past, they might just happen to have support on the North Shore as well. Can someone please explain how MORE supporters is a bad thing?
Because it probably means less supporters for the Sea Eagles, putting them in a dicey situation. The North Shore/Northern Beaches isn't league heartland and I don't think there is enough support there for both teams.

bobmar28

I disagree, Rugby League heartland is in the west of Sydney. There is a lot of juniors out here and plenty go on to make a name for themselves however when we talking about the terms of gaining more money or a great financial investment for the competition as a whole the west of Sydney or another low-economical area is definitely not the best way to go.

If you need proof just look at the poor crowds the Penrith Panthers and Parramatta Eels have been achieving. If you need further proof, the Penrith Panthers are struggling financially, this coming from a team that is suppose to be a team in Rugby League's biggest heartland.

Reading this you would think a investment into a GWS AFL Side would work but here is the thing that outsiders don't know about this area. The area out here is large and there is a lot of business but they are small businesses. The people that live out here are not rich, sure there are a few like myself who can afford all the luxuries like a good car, Foxtel, the internet at a high price, air conditioning and a 3D tv. But for every person like this there is 5 or 6 that live without all this, their pay checks go towards food and living and not watching rugby league games. This is the dirty truth. It is the reason why the Panthers are struggling, the reason why GWS won't work and the reason why Red&blackbears comments are so important.

You defeat your own argument with that sentence. I'm one of those people you are talking about. We usually can't afford to go to the game - a family ticket can be as much as a couple of hundred bucks plus food, parking etc - but we turn on the plasma (almost like being there), as do most of the westies. Walk down my street when the Dogs/Roosters/Tigers are playing and you will see.
That is where the money is going to come from, TV rights. And I'm sure the networks would love to see another QLD team.

What would they be watching over on the North Shore? Probably the opera.

There just isn't room for 2 teams on the north side of the harbour.

Luckily they won't be based in Sydney then.

Because it probably means less supporters for the Sea Eagles, putting them in a dicey situation.

Doubt it. The North Shore never embraced Manly - Norths and Manly always hated each other and always will. I strongly doubt Manly gained any significant amount of fans from the Bears demise, and they won't lose any because of their return in a different city. Bears return is only a good thing for Manly, bringing back on of the great rivalries in RL history.

bobmar28

What does the recent WA Reds news mean for the bears? See below:

Great news for both the WA Reds and the Central Coast Bears. Already low intelligent posters have jumped the gun and started saying stupid things like "WA Reds have the backing of NRL Clubs and the Bears dont, it's all over it'll be WA Reds and another Qld team."

Now before anybody read these lines and take it as fact, let those of us with real intelligence think about what has happened over the past few weeks.

Today the WA Reds have been endorse to enter the competition in 2013, this news coming after we already heard that the NRL would not expand until 2015. For those who always cry about sources here it is: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...t-bears-in-their-backyard-20101130-18fga.html

"But while the consensus was that expansion was a positive for the game at the appropriate time, that may not be 2013, as has been widely expected - and there may not be any additions to the 16-team premiership before 2015."

Now this inaccurate information from this article throws out any chance of this article being credible. Because we can't trust this article, all other information within this article can now be contested and therefore is not accurate.

Now those of us that do not use our intelligence and jump the gun would have already missed this vital piece of information.

Now David Gallop has said many time that the NRL will look to expand into a new area as well as an NRL heartland areas: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...th-in-finchs-men/story-e6frexnr-1225911268947

""It will be an interesting decision if the game was to decide to expand, whether to put a new team into a new area such as Perth or look to the heartland area like the Central Coast."

Taking all this information into account, now lets turn the point of this discussion to what anti-bears supporters/posters have been saying.

"The Central Coast Bears are ready now, but there is a long way to go until the bids are entered and when that happens Ipswich will be in front of the NRL"

Now lets critically analysis this quote. The Central Coast Bears are ready now, they could possibly field a team next season if they had the players. This along with the recent news that the WA Reds are backed to be into the competition in 2013 by the NRL clubs now becomes a positive for the Central Coast Bears.

Why you ask?

well the NRL does not have as much money as the AFL and therefore can not afford to help out two new teams to enter the comp in the same year. This is stated in todays article: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...-expanded-league/story-e6frfgbo-1225973226420

"The NRL is likely to expand the competition to 18 teams in 2013 with Perth a leading contender".

Now lets overlook the massive backflip of time frame in the past week of saying expansion to be pushed back until 2015 but now 2 new teams in by 2013.

Back on topic and the NRL can't afford to help out two new teams to enter the NRL in 2013, meaning that when they add the two new teams into the competition they will need one of the two new teams to be able to stand up on their own two feet.

The contenders:
1 Central Coast Bears - could possibly start now, this puts them straight to the top
2 Ipswich Jets - Supporters of this bid have been using stalling tatics, trying to get extra time before they have to submit their bid, comparing it to the half-baked Gold Coast Titans before the NRL stepped in to make that bid the best bid. This means the NRL will have to invest into this bid considerably. Not a bid to be able to stand alone in the foundation years of a new club
3 Central Queensland - Wide area, saturated fans/members/supporter that is led by a rich man. If they were currently up to the stage of the Bears they could possibly stand on their own with no risk unfortunately they are a little behind and the lack of financial members will hurt them in doing this task.
4 WA Reds - have the full support of all the NRL clubs but is in a state that is refereed to by some as a "AFL state", wether that is true or not it doesn't matter. WA is definitely not a Rugby League heartland state and this means they will need help in advertising, promotion and set up cost for their team. This means they are definitely not able to stand up alone in the foundation years while the NRL focuses on helping another area.

This result in the WA Reds and the Central Coast Bears being the logical picks.

Still not convinced?

If the NRL use the logical pick, they will also do right, the wrongs that were down in the past and there will no longer be the ghost of previous clubs haunting our great game. This will bring back more fans that we lost during the super league war and no i am not just talking about WA fans or Bears fans, i am talking about those who turned their back in disgrace at how the game was run.

Are we past all that has happened? I hope so, therefore we can move forward with everybody happy at the process of the toughest competition of the greatest game of all.

I bow to your superior intelligence.

But there is a problem with your argument. The Ipswich Jets will not need assistance. Their team is already set up and playing in the Q Cup, they just need players, coach etc to move up to NRL level. They will be able to fund their team with their share of the TV rights which will be massive due to their inclusion. Publicity? They won't need that as they will be headline news in QLD/NSW.

Because it probably means less supporters for the Sea Eagles, putting them in a dicey situation. The North Shore/Northern Beaches isn't league heartland and I don't think there is enough support there for both teams.

Yet the biggest sporting crowd pullers in those areas in the last 20 years have been RL teams (Norths *when they were in the ARL-NRL* & Manly)

bobmar28

Not stupid logic. Ipswich and Central QLD aren't ready, their bids are still amateurish. QLD got a team just 3 years ago. Their is more to Australia than just QLD. Bears and Reds this time and in 2018 or whenever it is you can add TWO qld teams if you want.

There is more to Australia than just NSW. 10 teams for one state is too many. Lets not add an 11th. 9 teams for Sydney is too many. Lets not add a 10th.

bobmar28

Really? who said that? The NRL have already asked for more then just that.

Can Ipswich get a community feel about the club in three months? ahh no they can't they are already struggling to find a identity and have no ground to play at. They can't play at Suncorp for obvious reasons.

How many financial members can the ipswich jets get in 3 months when the people of Ipswich are questioning this bid themselves?

How many people will pay $5,000 for a membership for ipswich in three months?

Can ipswich make a great feel among people in more then one community? Can ipswich gain support in areas they want to represent like Toowoomba and Logan in 3 months?

Can ipswich get 23 junior clubs working towards one goal in 3 months?

Can ipswich get out in the community and attain community efforts and community day for three years over three months?

Can ipswich sponsor events like an aboriginal footy day in three months?

Can ipswich create a feel amongst their entire community that they will be getting a team in 2013 in three months?

Can ipswich get around 40 sponsors in three months?

Can ipswich get any sponsors to pay them actual (money that is handed over from the sponsors bank account to the bids account) money in three months?

Can ipswich reach 5,000 members (that was set by the NRL) in three months?

We are still waiting on ipswich aims? where are they?

Can ispwich get anybody to underwrite financially in three months? If so can they get unwritten for $10 million dollars.

You can not say the Bears have a bad management just because you are not familiar with the bid numbnuts.

Why can't they play at Suncorp?

bobmar28

Really? who said that? The NRL have already asked for more then just that.

Can Ipswich get a community feel about the club in three months? ahh no they can't they are already struggling to find a identity and have no ground to play at. They can't play at Suncorp for obvious reasons.

How many financial members can the ipswich jets get in 3 months when the people of Ipswich are questioning this bid themselves?

How many people will pay $5,000 for a membership for ipswich in three months?

Can ipswich make a great feel among people in more then one community? Can ipswich gain support in areas they want to represent like Toowoomba and Logan in 3 months?

Can ipswich get 23 junior clubs working towards one goal in 3 months?

Can ipswich get out in the community and attain community efforts and community day for three years over three months?

Can ipswich sponsor events like an aboriginal footy day in three months?

Can ipswich create a feel amongst their entire community that they will be getting a team in 2013 in three months?

Can ipswich get around 40 sponsors in three months?

Can ipswich get any sponsors to pay them actual (money that is handed over from the sponsors bank account to the bids account) money in three months?

Can ipswich reach 5,000 members (that was set by the NRL) in three months?

We are still waiting on ipswich aims? where are they?

Can ispwich get anybody to underwrite financially in three months? If so can they get unwritten for $10 million dollars.

You can not say the Bears have a bad management just because you are not familiar with the bid numbnuts.

Have you asked everyone in Ipswich for their opinion?

that's not such a good idea..

you'll hear things such as:

• winnie blues are overpriced
  • the new rubber they use for thongs in kmart make their feet itchy
  • it's not fair that centrelink only pay the baby bonus once per child, the money runs out after 3 months!
  • holden should bring back the torana. not a new model, just the old one.
  • mcdonalds new family dinner box makes a great meal for one
  • vb just isn't the same since they took that 0.1% alcohol out of it, the theiving bastards
  • darren lockyer is the messiah
  • the radio needs to play more nickelback
  • pubs need longer opening hours. we can't wait till 10am for them to open!
  • oprah winfrey missed out on the best part of queensland by not coming here
  • it should not be a crime to kiss your sister if she is hot
  • public nudity should be allowed if it gets over 35 degrees

bobmar28

• it's not fair that centrelink only pay the baby bonus once per child, the money runs out after 3 months!
  • vb just isn't the same since they took that 0.1% alcohol out of it, the theiving bastards

LOL

How is that any different from the rest of QLD?

BDGS

I just go by what i have been told from the boys in the organisation.

There just isn't room for 2 teams on the north side of the harbour.

Better get rid of the Newcastle, Gold Coast, Brisbane and North Queensland teams then.

Manly have no support in the North Shore, They held a store up in Hornsby for two weeks during the school holiday and had to support and signed up 0 members. Bears spent one day there and got over 100 members. The North Shore up to the Cenrtal Coast has shown time and time again that they simply just won't accept the Sea Eagles and that is the reason behind them looking into the Sunshine Coast to expand. This is a good idea for their club and good luck to them.

You defeat your own argument with that sentence. I'm one of those people you are talking about. We usually can't afford to go to the game - a family ticket can be as much as a couple of hundred bucks plus food, parking etc - but we turn on the plasma (almost like being there), as do most of the westies. Walk down my street when the Dogs/Roosters/Tigers are playing and you will see.
That is where the money is going to come from, TV rights. And I'm sure the networks would love to see another QLD team.

What would they be watching over on the North Shore? Probably the opera.

You missed the point. Ipswich is like that area, people will be watching the TV and not going to the games. People who live on the North Shore and the Central Coast generally have a lot more money to spend on merchandise and going to the games. Sad fact but a true fact.

I bow to your superior intelligence.

Thanks mate.

But there is a problem with your argument. The Ipswich Jets will not need assistance. Their team is already set up and playing in the Q Cup, they just need players, coach etc to move up to NRL level. They will be able to fund their team with their share of the TV rights which will be massive due to their inclusion. Publicity? They won't need that as they will be headline news in QLD/NSW.

I was talking to a mate from the Northern Beaches yesterday and we spoke about Expansion, when i brought up Ipswich he had no clue and didn't even know they were bidding. This is a problem that the WA Reds, Central Queensland and the Central Coast Bears do not face. Unfortunately Ipswich does and this proves that they will in fact need help promoting Ipswich to the rest of Australia. As there is more to Australia then just QLD.

The other day i was also asked where is Ipswich as well. There is a real problem here.

Why can't they play at Suncorp?

You have the Broncos playing 12 games there, Plus the bulldogs and the Sea Eagles playing one game each there. Then at most 2 origin games. You have the Queensland Reds who plays 9 games there and Roar about 13. That is 38 games there before you start with whatever International Rugby league, International Rugby Union or International Soccer that gets played there. How much matches can this stadium hold? I thought it was built for about 30 matches a year, we'll we are already using it for over 40 games a year and now they want to play another 12 games there? I don't think so.

Only poor management from the Stadium itself will see them allow this and that will result in many problems with the ground turf.